We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to visit”

Hack Green Secret Nuclear Bunker
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the secret world of nuclear government. For over 50 years this vast underground complex, remained secret, hidden on the outskirts of a sleepy Cheshire town. Declassified in 1993, the 35,000 sq ft underground bunker would have been the centre of Regional Government had nuclear war broken out. The bunker today offers a warm welcome to anyone looking for a totally different day out.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited the bunker as a family day out but in actual fact aftere a couple of hours (if that) you have been through it all. It's set in lovely countryside and is a nice drive in. We arrived quite early and there was only a few other people there so it was easy to see all the displays and we could go into all the rooms easily without pushing past people.

It was interesting to read all what went on there during the war and what was actually in place should a nuclear attack had been launched on our country - its quite strange to think that all this was planned and prepared for without us even realising it!

There is a little cafe there which has a counter with souvenirs so if you enjoy looking round the shops at attractions, don't build your hopes up at this one. They have got some interesting stuff for sale and the the usual pens, pencils etc.

If you are looking for a full day out, I would suggest you plan a second attraction as although this place is interesting, it won't take a full day to see.

Thank JaneM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cold war"
in 133 reviews
"spy mice"
in 27 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 62 reviews
"mouse trail"
in 16 reviews
"recent history"
in 14 reviews
"on display"
in 27 reviews
"interesting place"
in 20 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 11 reviews
"sat nav"
in 9 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 8 reviews
"world war"
in 7 reviews
"subject matter"
in 6 reviews
"goulash"
in 6 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 6 reviews
"morse code"
in 6 reviews
"bbc studio"
in 6 reviews
"rainy day"
in 14 reviews
Filter

412 - 416 of 541 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited the bunker with my girlfriend as we regularly visit and enjoy attractions of a historical nature.
When we arrived we were a bit sceptical due to the overgrown grass and unloved guard houses but thought it can only get better.
The entrance was bleak with cafe staff smoking by the door. I understand it wont be colourful, but was expecting at least smart and well maintained!Entrance arrangements were not good with cafe staff taking entrance fees and pointing you in the general direction of the door to enter with no map/guide of any discription, your experience consists of many rooms of a similar nature, with comical ancient maniquins with blue eye shadow in dirty old display cabinets. There were 1 or 2 impressive rooms and artefacts such as the growing room, but what was with the stuffed fox and mice??? We were hoping for a good example of a working military bunker in good condition with facts/info and interesting exhibits with the wow factor. But we got a shabby, dirty, uninspiring miss match of undescripted artefacts. Overall extremely disappointing an massively overpriced!!! At £16.50 for me and my partner, the whole experience took 1 hour for us to be back in the car! In my opinion you would b better to visit any of the numerous national trust or English heritage attractions in the area as they are significantly better value and a good day out. It is such a shame that an important piece of our country's military history isn't being well maintained...with this in mind I can't really see how they can justify the entrance fee especially since there was only cafe staff in the whole place! And to the general manager who sees it fit to comment back on bad reviews with unconstructive comments I suggest you focus your energy on improving this place dramatically to compete with other tourist attractions!

7  Thank Peter27fielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good for all ages, moving and informative. £7 admission to get in. Basic facilities, so no fancy cafe, but perfectly adequate refreshment area. Not easy to find without satnav.
Worth every penny.

Thank MG R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Quite pricey at £8.50pp considering it is a self guided tour through the museum. Informative and interesting. The interior could do with a bit of updating and something to get rid of the musty smell

Thank LKPAA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I drove down from shropshire with my friend, hoping for a wonderful day out and a cup of tea. After getting lost (twice) we finally arrived, we where driving down the lane and upon arrival their is a large fence and a large satrelite type tower, that looked worse for wear and was not spinning, as we drove through the large gate, their was a large "gypsy" type caravan stuck on the car park that looked a wreck! And also a large aeroplane that needed work. there were tyres and caravan bits just lying up against the wall.... As we were walking up to what was the main door... Their is what seems to be a guard room, i peered in the window and seen what looked like cement bags off a building site ? Expecting too see a little more than that ? Disappointed we entered the main door, where their was some memorabilia, we got to the main desk where we was served by 2 lovley ladies who kindly explained the astronomical prices to us around £8 ! Each... We paid, we had a look round the bunker which is far more impressive on the inside than on the out... Although abit shabby was OK too look at... As we where looking around their was a cat! Next thing we know, their was a cat poo in the ladies dorm on a bed .. Which was very awful, after a walk around the dull boring lifeless bunker, we decided to have a cup of tea and a scone, we was served by a helpful lady who was actually very kind, we found some seats in the bunker naaffi cafe (naf) more like, we sat in some comfy seats next to a disused war head, and cat bowls and litter ? The tea was awful, and the scone was over priced.

We left swiftly after that

So if you want to go to drab, boring lifeless bunker... Hack green is the place to go

The best thing about the bunker was the 2 staff, who where very polite and helpful, Other than that The bunker was a shamble.



2  Thank Michaelterrance1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HackGreenBunker, Museum Director at Hack Green Secret Nuclear Bunker, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Michaelterrance1974,

Thank you for your review. However, it is very unfortunate that you did not enjoy your visit. The large satellite type tower which you spotted is in fact our massive radar array that we salvaged and restored from another base elsewhere in the country. At Hack Green all or our displays are real artefacts, this means that the majority are not new items and have been fully used before. Perhaps this is why it looked a little worse for wear, as it has been protecting our skies for many years. It does spin, although only on special occasions as it is both costly to run and also needs to be monitored for safety constantly when in use. It moves pretty fast!

It seems that you also spotted our 'temporary office', i.e. the 'gyspy' type caravan. Unfortunately, as we are a self sufficient museum, we could not afford a more desirable looking temporary base for our renovations last year. However, the Super Secret Spy Caravan is on its way to a new home soon and is just waiting on the car park in the meantime. Along with it's various bits and bobs.

I can see that there is obviously a Soviet Spy in our midst as you also discovered the other remains from the ongoing renovations - the cement bags in the guard room. I am sorry to have disappointed you with the contents of the guard room, we try to keep our secrets better hidden than that.

Indeed, we have had to had to raise our prices, however we are still one of the cheapest bunkers in the country with the most value. You get 4,500 sqft per pound! We receive no government grants or other outside financial support, the entire museum runs from the income made in admissions, shop and cafe. We strive to give value for money, but as I am sure you can understand, it is costly to run a large bunker complex and tourist attraction. When the government decommissioned the bunker in 1992 it was costing them £4.2million a year to run! I bet they wish they had had a gift shop!

As I have highlighted in other review responses the works are still ongoing and we are committed to being less 'shabby' in the future. Unfortunately at Christmas we suffered a large flood downstairs and we have been fighting the after effects ever since. This is a battle we are now winning.

It seems that you have been lucky and spotted one of our secret operatives from initiative P.A.W.S. (Pussies Armed With Secrets). These felines are specially trained to protect our Queen and country and protect the secret to Cheshire Cheese by fighting the plague of Soviet Spy Mice. You may have spotted them around the bunker. They may be cute, but they will stop at nothing to take down the Nation! In reality the 'cat poo' belonged to a stray from a nearby farm and it was a singular issue that has been dealt with safely. It seems that the bunker cats Goulash and Pickle, are good at keeping out spy mice but not spy cats! They mostly keep to themselves and provide endless joy for many visitors, young and old. They don't even bother the member of staff who is scared of cats. They do have a water bowl under the torpedo, so they can quench the thirst from a busy day spying but no litter, they are very clean, we would not allow than under any circumstances.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the NAAFI tea, it is stern stuff. However, we make a true civil servants cuppa and the staff would have happily resolved the problem if you had advised them. Also, the scones are baked by hand from a local baker. We try to support our local community and as a result cannot offer cheap scones, only good quality and fairly priced ones.

However, I am very glad that our staff were helpful and polite. Our staff are wonderful and committed. I will happily pass on your comments to them.

I hope that you come back in the future and have a much more enjoyable time. Although, hopefully, next time our secrets will stay hidden!

Kind Regards,

Lucy Siebert
Museum Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hack Green Secret Nuclear Bunker also viewed

Nantwich, Cheshire
Nantwich, Cheshire
 
Nantwich, Cheshire
Nantwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Hack Green Secret Nuclear Bunker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing