We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunting to think how close "we" came !”

Hack Green Secret Nuclear Bunker
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the secret world of nuclear government. For over 50 years this vast underground complex, remained secret, hidden on the outskirts of a sleepy Cheshire town. Declassified in 1993, the 35,000 sq ft underground bunker would have been the centre of Regional Government had nuclear war broken out. The bunker today offers a warm welcome to anyone looking for a totally different day out.
North East
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Haunting to think how close "we" came !”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Interesting drive to get to the secret, can't help think that it wasn't really a secret as someone must have notice people going to the secret bunker? It's eerie that this was once for real! The messages that are constantly played over the intercoms adds to the feeling of impending doom. Some of the public service propaganda is amusing, find a ditch, cover your head and you'll be fine? Unfortunately the "nuclear bunker" experience wasn't working at the time so we sat in the dark for 5 mins waiting for it to happen and it didn't? A very good/scary insight into how it could have gone oh so wrong! Especially if you we're a 60's/70's child and remember some of the documentaries or advice on how to survive a nuclear attack?

Helpful?
1 Thank Tallinthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    193
    59
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A fascinating insight into the cold war”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This "secret bunker" provides a fascinating couple of hours distraction from life in the twenty first century & takes us back to a time which seems so long ago but was actually just 50 years ago. The collection of equipment and artefacts is an obvious labour of love for the owner of the bunker & I feel that it is important that we do not forget this period of our history. Parts of the bunker reminded me of the underground Cabinet War Rooms in central London as both conjured up images of the people who worked there. All the staff were very pleasant to us and the cafe provided good value for money. There are some interesting souvenirs available & I think that this bunker is well worth a visit if you are in the Nantwich area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SBarnesDarlington_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food for Thought”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Extremely well presented, a clear route to follow, plenty to see and read. It gave a frightening insight to the work that goes on behind the scenes. Well worth a visit, but wear warm clothes!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidandkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Shh! It's a secret.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Good fun - and a nice cuppa tea too. Takes you straight back to the 60's when we were living under the shadow of the nuclear bomb! A bit scary, but I suppose that's part of the attraction.
Despite being a secret it's easy to find!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John-boyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audlem, Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The least secret bunker I know!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

If the days of thermonuclear war hold some strange fascination for you, and you want to have a look at how serious those days were taken, make your way here. It's smack dab in the middle of nearly nowhere, but signed to help you find it, just a few minutes outside of Nantwich. Want to know what an atomic bomb looks like? Theres some examples, plus all the underground accoutrements to maintain mutually assured destruction! Many interesting displays and models as well...adults and older kids are probably the best choices for visitors, unless your little kid secretly wants to start a war, and wants to see what he'll need.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henry1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hack Green Secret Nuclear Bunker also viewed

 
Nantwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Hack Green Secret Nuclear Bunker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing