We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spa, but the rest is AWFUL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Tromso, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Spa, but the rest is AWFUL!”
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We checked in on Sunday and went straight to the spa, which was fantastic. Really modern gym equipment, and a lovely pool - staff at the Spa were great too. The problem came after the Spa!

We stayed on a DBB rate, which had an allowance of £34 per person...ok, but the main courses started from £25, and the starters from £9.50! You're over your limit already! There is a table d'hote menu, but it is a 3-3-3 menu, and more like a conference menu (chicken or fish!) We had a very average dinner (the starters were complimentary, as we complained - 2 from 5 starters from the a la carte were unavailable!), main courses were nice, but expensive. Service was terrible. Young kids who tried really hard, but clearly hadn't been trained. I don’t mind paying for good food, but those prices wouldn’t be out of place in Michelin star restaurants, and believe me, the food wasn’t a patch on those places.

The nights sleep was awful. Despite requesting a quiet room, we were put in a room overlooking the function suite, where we were woken with wedding guests departing, and then the staff at 0645hrs chatting before starting their breakfast shift! Not best pleased! Don't stay in room 19!

Overall, despite the spa being great, the overall experience was not what we expected. If you have the chance, stay at a Shire Hotel, not a Hand Picked Hotel…stayed at both, and there is a world of difference in class.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHJH2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    407
    166
    60
    28
See reviews for
280
1,046
26
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
staffs, uk
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We have been to this hotel a few times and always been impressed, but this last time was poor in comparison. Slow check in, room run down with noisey plumbing. Food not as good and staff sloppy and disinterested in you. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfeetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Just stayed here as a wedding anniversary treat for myself and wife. We chose it on the basis of a very impressive web-site and a previus good experience with this chain of hotels.
On arrival we were shown to our room 'October', which proved to be surrounded by air con./extractor equipment for the kitchens and conference centre. We were moved to a quieter but smaller room, 'July', that had distinctly tired decor and no bath in the bathroom.
We were on a package that included dinner, but on looking at the menu found out this was restricted to £34 per head when a typical 3 course meal on the full menu probalby costs about £50. Service was slow and mainly carried out by youngsters who were friendly and cheerful enough but who really didn't have a clue about serving in a top quality dining room. ( they forgot to offer us bread)
When our meals arrived they had to be the smallest portions we have ever had. The canapes we were served before the meal were more substantial than our starters. The wine list was comprehensive enough but very, very expensive.
The breakfast menus was fine and generally well served and generous.
The gounds of the hotel are well kept and impressive, but the interior, public rooms and corridors etc. all look as if they are overdue a refurb.
All in all a disappointing experience. We won't be going back!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mafcaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The setting had our hopes up.

Our visit was instantly brought crashing down to earth by the rather tedious site of cheap middle management woman alighting in grand manners from her aged Company car Range Rover and feeling the need to mistakenly comment on our Phaeton as a Passat.

Oh dear.

Such ignorance was reflective of the the rather brash and perfunctory way the hotel handed out it's service. A roaring trade in providing room service as well as catering for the conference crowd.

Little sophistication for the private guest.

Our room was in an extended part of the hotel - room ok and clean. It was next to a conference room and this rather let it down.

Serivce was ok and the lounge bar offered a good selection of Malt whisky. Dinner was a little slow and then ironically mismanaged halfway through with an insistence on clearing plates before the course had been eaten!

The wine list was considerably over-priced for the content.

All in all an inability to raise their service away from standard conference provision to romantic couples considerably lets this hotel down.

This is a shame as it was obvious that this was a romantice break for a number of couples and they should have been treated with the sophisticiation and manners that their break so obviously deserved. To tar them with the same brush as the conveyor belt 'conference' level of service is simply astonishing and foolhardy.

Definitely a candidate for the hotel inspector I am afraid and it is perhaps not too late to put this right.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I was taken to Rookery Hall as a birthday surprise and the hotel lived up to our expectations. You get a choice of the old or new part of the hotel (we chose the new as you get a tv at the end of the bath!!). We dined in the restaurant which was top notch, food was great and they do a fantastic pinot grigio!

We used the spa on the second day which was relaxing and seemed well priced at around £60 for an hours treatment. Overall really enjoyed the weekend!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoking
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

As usual with country house hotels your heart sinks when you see the new built annex on the back of a once lovely building. This feeling was exacerbated on realising that there was no covered link between the rooms and the main building, there were not even any umbellas. The room was new, clean, tidy and well appointed although the bed creaked alarmingly under normal usage! We had to ask for towels each night and there was a fake nail on the floor and obvious signs of champagne (presumbably) on the wall and ceiling.
Dinner on the frist evening was incredibly slow and nobody seemed to understand what 'half-board' meant! Presiding over this was an incredibly supercilious head waiter who contributed nothing. The lamb was inedible, chicory and goat's cheese tart was a success.
Breakfast is clearly a problem it was incredibly slow every day and why does nobody ever clear any of the tables? We stacked dirty plates on the next table and still no one got the hint despite walking past on several occssions empty handed. Every day they had run out of something whether food, cutlery or crockery. Eggs Benedict with parma ham? Seating one guest on a table for four and then trying to shoe horn us onto a tiny table?
Each night they had not got a table booked for us for dinner and the whole experience was that we were not really guests or that anyone was bothered. One brave young man was trying very hard and deserved credit but unfortunately he was swimming against the tide.

I wonder if my initials are still in the dirt on a piece of furniture in the public areas, that's a challenge for the management!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

My husband and I spent an overnight at this hotel on our way back from London by car. The hotel is about 15 minutes drive from the M6 set in lovely countryside so it was a good choice for a stop over.
We checked in around 3 in the afternoon and the recption staff were quick, friendly and effecient. We were in an Executive Room in the new annexe. This was an upgrade for us as we were booked into a Classic Room on a special dinner, bed and breakfast rate.
I was concerned as we were shown to our room to see room service breakfast trays (at least 2 or 3 of them) still lying in the hallway. It was slovenly and gave me cause for concern about the state we'd find our room. My concerns were ill founded as the room was spotless and well appointed. There is also a stuffed cat which you place outside your door instead of a "do not disturb" sign - a lovely touch.
The rooms are modern and well kitted out (hairdryer, mini fridge with free mineral water, tea and coffee making, flat screen TVs in both the room and bathroom). The bathroom was spacious and had an excellent shower with rainfall head and side sprays.
We visited the spa which had a lovely large pool, hydro pool and steam room. It was clean and well maintained.
The hotel has a bistro in the spa offering light bites, sandwiches and the like. A sandwich is an easy thing to produce but it is great when it is done really well. My sandwich of thick cut granary bread, cheese and chutney was excellent. The bread was soft and fresh, the cheese good quality and the chutney tangy. My husband's steak pie was a good size and full of tender beef. All in all very well done.
The breakfast also was excellent. The cooked items on offer were clearly freshly prepared with good quality ingredients and the buffet had a good selection too.
The only criticism I would make is of the dinner. The hotel restaurant advertises "fine dining" and on the special rate it is no doubt good value. The trouble is that the food is overly fancy. Rather than producing decent, fairly simple dishes and doing them really well, the restaurant food is fussy and the added frills and French names cannot disguise the fact that the food is just not of the very highest standard. Don't get me wrong, it is not awful or inedible, it is just disappointing especially when the more casual fare on offer at the bistro was so good.
All in all though, I would return here and I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woo4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,155 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,600 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,150 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing