We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ostentatious business visitor venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ostentatious business visitor venue”
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The setting had our hopes up.

Our visit was instantly brought crashing down to earth by the rather tedious site of cheap middle management woman alighting in grand manners from her aged Company car Range Rover and feeling the need to mistakenly comment on our Phaeton as a Passat.

Oh dear.

Such ignorance was reflective of the the rather brash and perfunctory way the hotel handed out it's service. A roaring trade in providing room service as well as catering for the conference crowd.

Little sophistication for the private guest.

Our room was in an extended part of the hotel - room ok and clean. It was next to a conference room and this rather let it down.

Serivce was ok and the lounge bar offered a good selection of Malt whisky. Dinner was a little slow and then ironically mismanaged halfway through with an insistence on clearing plates before the course had been eaten!

The wine list was considerably over-priced for the content.

All in all an inability to raise their service away from standard conference provision to romantic couples considerably lets this hotel down.

This is a shame as it was obvious that this was a romantice break for a number of couples and they should have been treated with the sophisticiation and manners that their break so obviously deserved. To tar them with the same brush as the conveyor belt 'conference' level of service is simply astonishing and foolhardy.

Definitely a candidate for the hotel inspector I am afraid and it is perhaps not too late to put this right.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    411
    172
    60
    28
See reviews for
288
1,051
26
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I was taken to Rookery Hall as a birthday surprise and the hotel lived up to our expectations. You get a choice of the old or new part of the hotel (we chose the new as you get a tv at the end of the bath!!). We dined in the restaurant which was top notch, food was great and they do a fantastic pinot grigio!

We used the spa on the second day which was relaxing and seemed well priced at around £60 for an hours treatment. Overall really enjoyed the weekend!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoking
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

As usual with country house hotels your heart sinks when you see the new built annex on the back of a once lovely building. This feeling was exacerbated on realising that there was no covered link between the rooms and the main building, there were not even any umbellas. The room was new, clean, tidy and well appointed although the bed creaked alarmingly under normal usage! We had to ask for towels each night and there was a fake nail on the floor and obvious signs of champagne (presumbably) on the wall and ceiling.
Dinner on the frist evening was incredibly slow and nobody seemed to understand what 'half-board' meant! Presiding over this was an incredibly supercilious head waiter who contributed nothing. The lamb was inedible, chicory and goat's cheese tart was a success.
Breakfast is clearly a problem it was incredibly slow every day and why does nobody ever clear any of the tables? We stacked dirty plates on the next table and still no one got the hint despite walking past on several occssions empty handed. Every day they had run out of something whether food, cutlery or crockery. Eggs Benedict with parma ham? Seating one guest on a table for four and then trying to shoe horn us onto a tiny table?
Each night they had not got a table booked for us for dinner and the whole experience was that we were not really guests or that anyone was bothered. One brave young man was trying very hard and deserved credit but unfortunately he was swimming against the tide.

I wonder if my initials are still in the dirt on a piece of furniture in the public areas, that's a challenge for the management!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

My husband and I spent an overnight at this hotel on our way back from London by car. The hotel is about 15 minutes drive from the M6 set in lovely countryside so it was a good choice for a stop over.
We checked in around 3 in the afternoon and the recption staff were quick, friendly and effecient. We were in an Executive Room in the new annexe. This was an upgrade for us as we were booked into a Classic Room on a special dinner, bed and breakfast rate.
I was concerned as we were shown to our room to see room service breakfast trays (at least 2 or 3 of them) still lying in the hallway. It was slovenly and gave me cause for concern about the state we'd find our room. My concerns were ill founded as the room was spotless and well appointed. There is also a stuffed cat which you place outside your door instead of a "do not disturb" sign - a lovely touch.
The rooms are modern and well kitted out (hairdryer, mini fridge with free mineral water, tea and coffee making, flat screen TVs in both the room and bathroom). The bathroom was spacious and had an excellent shower with rainfall head and side sprays.
We visited the spa which had a lovely large pool, hydro pool and steam room. It was clean and well maintained.
The hotel has a bistro in the spa offering light bites, sandwiches and the like. A sandwich is an easy thing to produce but it is great when it is done really well. My sandwich of thick cut granary bread, cheese and chutney was excellent. The bread was soft and fresh, the cheese good quality and the chutney tangy. My husband's steak pie was a good size and full of tender beef. All in all very well done.
The breakfast also was excellent. The cooked items on offer were clearly freshly prepared with good quality ingredients and the buffet had a good selection too.
The only criticism I would make is of the dinner. The hotel restaurant advertises "fine dining" and on the special rate it is no doubt good value. The trouble is that the food is overly fancy. Rather than producing decent, fairly simple dishes and doing them really well, the restaurant food is fussy and the added frills and French names cannot disguise the fact that the food is just not of the very highest standard. Don't get me wrong, it is not awful or inedible, it is just disappointing especially when the more casual fare on offer at the bistro was so good.
All in all though, I would return here and I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woo4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Yes, the hotel at first glimpse looks lovely, set in beautiful woodland gardens, but the customer service is atrocious. Arriving for a spa day to celebrate my 50th birthday, we were told to take a seat in reception and someone would be with us soon. Sat at dirty table with left over pots which no one collected. No one came to see us. We ordered a coffee. It didn't come. A hostess arrived after 20 minutes - said she would make coffee - it didn't arrive. Asked waiter for a coffee again, he couldn't remember whether he had served us or not. We were shown to the spa area, which was very nice, but all the beds round the pool had been 'bagged' by invisible people who had left their towels lying around territorially. Lunch was expensive and disappointing. Ordered 2 salads and fries. Only one salad arrived. Waiter got order wrong and had to quickly make another. The feta salad was salty and unbalanced - consisting of 90% olives, 5% cheese, and 5% tomato and lettuce. The best was yet to come though. Eagerly awaiting our Rasul pampering mud treatment, we were shown into an empty bathroom with towels on the floor and given a pot of mud and some paper knickers. We were told to strip off, put the mud on our bodies, then go into the steam cubicle/shower to wash it off! (The hair mask we were promised - after asking twice - finally arrived in the form of an empty pot - but that was about par for the course. ) We sat on the floor like cavemen and attempted to rub green gunge into our bodies, which simply rolled up into pellets and dropped on the floor. We were laughingly expecting to be laid on soft beds, and have the mud administered by a trained therapist - not a do it yourself job. Although the place was overrun with 'therapists' in ponytails and tabards, there was no one there to assist, advise or administer. Laughter soon turned to anger and disappointment as we realised we had travelled 100 miles, taken a day's holiday from work, and spent hard-earned cash for something we could have done in our own bathroom for a couple of quid. We left, broke, bitter and exhausted. Really really poor!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank minniemoo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I attended a conference here recently whereas the accomodation and staff should be applauded the catering for lunch and an evening meal were an appauling disgrace for an establishment of this calibre. The breakfast service was slow, the replenishment of the buffet element left alot to be desired, the buffet lunch was from Iceland Frozen foods and the "barbeque" pathetic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fussytraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2009

My husband treated our daughter(age 12) and myself to a wonderful weekend away at this hotel. The hotel was stunning as were the grounds which I had a wonderful walk around. The best part for me though was the evening meal, which is why I wanted to write this. We were treated to a little extra taster at the beginning of the meal - with compliments from the chef( which I'll let you discover as it was a lovely surprise!) With this tasting gorgeous we all looked at each other, knowing we were in for a fantastic meal. We both had the beef and my daughter had the lamb and we just had to look at it and it fell apart. We have never had meat so tender - it really was something special. The desert was even better with the lemon tart - they must have one brilliant pastry chef there as it was absolute heaven, in fact I would travel the three hundred miles just to taste the pastry again. Also I must mention the dining room as it was beautiful sitting there looking out onto the wonderful grounds. We all had a really luxurious stay (especially with the TV in the bathroom) and it was my first stay with the hand picked chain. I'm just looking forward to being treated again!! Just one last point - I never go swimming to hotel pools as I think they are all too cold, but I wish I had bought my costume to this one as the pool area was not only beautiful but was really hot and the water was lovely and warm. Next time....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remmingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,176 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,562 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,240 reviews
23.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing