We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Anniversary Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The spa was excellent, relaxing, I even fell asleep during my spa treatments. The rooms themselves were good and clean, however the nights were a bit too hot and we generally keep a warm house. Keeping the window open attracted bees and wasps so was not an option. Bees and wasps were also a nuisance during breakfast on the first day, after the head waiter opened the French doors facing the garden.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anandctv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Anandctv,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us, and congratulations on your 1st anniversary.

I am delighted that you found the Health Club & Spa to be excellent, and that you managed to thoroughly relax during your treatments. The Spa, has been awarded the prestigious five bubble award by the good spa guide, and has also won ‘Residential Spa of the Year’ at the 2013 Professional Beauty Awards. We are all extremely proud of these achievements.

Apologies that our uninvited guests, caused some nuisance, during your breakfast on the first day, and during the night.
I am also sorry that your bedroom was too hot, and that we didn’t get the opportunity to resolve this for you during your visit.

If you do decide to return to the hotel in the future, please contact me direct where I will ensure you receive the very best of our attention.

Kind Regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,897)
There are newer reviews for Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay as the start of our Honeymoon. It couldn't have been more perfect. Had a fantactic room looking out over the gardens, fountain and Cheshire countryside. The room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was fabulous with a huge bath, separate shower and double sinks. From the moment we arrived every member of staff made us feel welcome and couldn't do enough for us. The food in the restaurant was second to none and the service was the same particulary from Emma who was absolutely delightful. We felt it was great value for money and will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Our room was called ' November'.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Alison L,

Congratulations to you both on your recent wedding, and I am thrilled that you chose Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa for the start of your honeymoon.

I do agree that the November room that you stayed in, which is situated in our main house is a fantastic room, and waking up to the views of the Cheshire countryside make it even more splendid.

I’m pleased that all the team members, especially Emma ensured that you received impeccable service during your two night stay. We do like our guests to feel at home in order to create a truly memorable experience, so it was lovely to read your kind comments.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Maybe, for your first wedding anniversary?

All the very best to you both,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel looks lovely from the outside but inside is a little tired. Hotel staff are friendly but spa staff need to focus on their customer service.

The shower in our room did not work and some of the taps were rather loose.

Nice place to stay for a short trip but a little over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Sarah G,

Thank you for your review following you recent visit to the hotel.

I am genuinely disappointed to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, and I am sorry that we didn’t get the opportunity to discuss these issues with you prior to your departure.

We take all issues raised by our guests very seriously and we always listen to honest and constructive comments, even though it can occasionally be uncomfortable to do.

I would be interested to know which room you stayed in, and also further details relating to the customer service you received in the Spa.
Please can you contact our Duty Manager Jess Fletcher, jfletcher@handpicked.co.uk so that she can discuss your comments in more detail.

Kind Regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

On arrival at reception the staff were friendly and we were shown to our executive room, which was as described..the hotel was busy with a conference and small wedding..Mandy from the restaurant was pleased to help select a table for dinner, the meal was expensive but value for money..
The spa was used and to standard with the usual treatments available.
Excellent choice for breakfast.
All the staff were professional and trained to a high standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COLIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hello COLIN B,

Thank you for completing a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

First impressions count for a great deal so I was delighted to read that the Reception team set the scene for your midweek break.

I’m glad you found the time to use the Health Club & Spa facilities. It is a perfect place to relax and unwind.
I have shared your kind words with the team, and personally thanked Mandy for offering that personal touch to help you find the perfect table to dine.
Each and everyone of the team play an important role in ensuring that every stay is memorable for all the right reasons.

On behalf of the team and I, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Wishes,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed one night and the room was beautiful but the bathroom was absolutely gorgeous with a fantastic power shower and a HUGE bath. Had dinner in the bar. Will agree with other reviews that the drinks were expensive but the food was a good price and unbelievable quality - best steak I'd had in a while. Breakfast was also fantastic. Contrary to some reviews the service from all the staff was great. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank shelley038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hello shelley038 ,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your bedroom and bathroom, and most importantly enjoyed your steak. The Chef was pleased to read this feedback also.

We have an extensive beverage menu available at the hotel, all of which are representational of four star hotels pricing, and is reguarly checked to ensure great value for money in a wonderful setting.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I am hard to please, Rookery Hall is everything I enjoy, excellent service from staff, food extremely good value and delicious, trust me I am so fussy, nothing was too much trouble, it was spot on every time, breakfast I defy anyone, to find fault, quality exceptional. The spa and pool great for some relaxing time before evening meal. Rookery Hall 1hour 15mins from Liverpool, great for escaping from the city without having to drive a great distance, personal preference I know, I feel some background music while eating may just add to the atmosphere, this was our 2nd visit and will be returning again.

Room Tip: I have stayed in an executive room and a junior suite, had good nights sleep in both, both no proble...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hello Deborah K ,

Thank you for sharing your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa experience on Trip Advisor.

It does make a difference knowing you can have a relaxing night away from city life without having a long journey ahead of you, and with the hotel being in the Cheshire countryside it is the perfect setting to enjoy a well deserved break away.

Thank you for your kind words regarding your room and the food, and most importantly the recognition you have given to the team.

I have passed on your comments to the Restaurant Manager regarding the background music, so thank you for this feedback.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back for your third visit.

Best Wishes and thank you again for your lovely review,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Got a deal for dinner bed and breakfast with champagne, and thought that this provided good value for money. The room was lovely - very modern, and nice touches such as the dvd player with a selection of dvd's available from reception (didn't use - but if was staying for longer might have done), tv to watch whilst having a bath, and fantastic shower.

Went for a swim and sauna - spa looked lovely - very clean and seemed like there was a good choice of treatments available.

Dinner was delicious - good choice on menu. My husband had a couple of dishes on the a la carte for a small supplement, but if you really didn't want to pay any extra, there was plenty of choice on the standard inclusive menu - service was good, they were a young team - but I didn't think that this was a problem, as they were all very professional and friendly. Drinks were expensive - but I didn't think more expensive than other hotels I have been to for weddings or functions.

Breakfast was lovely - fantastic choice. It was very busy, so service was perhaps slower than you would expect, but we were in no hurry, so didn't bother us in the slightest.

We would definitely look to return if we got another similar deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherylP78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hello SherylP78,

What a wonderful title to head your review, and thank you for sharing your lovely feedback of the hotel following your recent night away..

The surroundings and facilities of the hotel do make for the perfect location to relax and unwind. I’m glad that you had the opportunity to use the health club facilities.

Fine dining is at the heart of the Rookery Hall experience and we are proud to consistently be awarded 2 AA Rosettes. Our Head Chef would like to personally thank you for your feedback.
Breakfast is also a wonderful experience with our cold breakfast buffet selection and cooked to order traditional breakfast options.
I am sorry that you experienced some delay with service at breakfast but pleased that this didn’t bother you.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best Wishes and thank you again for your review,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,204 reviews
12.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,892 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,582 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,319 reviews
23.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range: $153 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing