We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place spoiled by extortionate bar prices..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lovely place spoiled by extortionate bar prices..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My friends and I recently spent a girlie weekend here on a spa package which was great value and included treatments, use of the spa facility, overnight accommodation, evening meal and breakfast.

The location and setting here is lovely and the staff are all very pleasant. Service is good also. The Spa facility is immaculate and the bedrooms are very nice and tastefully decorated. The beds are extremely comfy and towels very fluffy (I am getting old, I don’t usually comment on stuff like this!!) We stayed in the executive room and had a TV in the bathroom and had a turndown service etc.. so it was all very lovely.

Food is beautiful and very well presented but there’s not a great deal of it! We had to fill up on cheese & biscuits after our 3 course dinner. Breakfast was extensive with a great choice, shame we couldn’t really enjoy it as we were a little ‘green at the gills’ from a heavy night!

A point deducted in my review for the hideous bar prices at this hotel (hence scoring 4 and not 5 out of 5), and if it was not for the ridiculous bar prices, I really would consider this lovely place for forthcoming events, however, I would not be comfortable having my guests pay these extremely over exaggerated bar prices which are bordering on ridiculous. Now I am not tight by any stretch of the imagination and I like nice things, BUT I do hate being ripped off and I did feel aggrieved at paying £22 for 3 single measure drinks! I’ve paid less for drinks in Central London and major cities across the world than I paid here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EllieAndBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We're delighted to read how much you enjoyed our facilities and that our staff were friendly and efficient. As with many hotels we serve a larger 35ml measure in all of our bars and restaurants and charge accordingly. When compared to a normal 25ml measure I do believe it offers good value.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    393
    162
    59
    25
See reviews for
268
1,018
25
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed for one night for a friends wedding last weekend. The room was lovely and the air conditioning was a welcome relief. The wedding breakfast food was OK, but I certainly would not recommend having the bacon rolls for an evening reception - what a complete rip off. A huge roll with one rasher of bacon for just under £20/head!! And the bar drinks were over priced, and also the bill you were charged for the same round of drinks seemed to change depending on who served you. Lovely venue but a bit of a rip off!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Butterfly80_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

I was really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and found the room to be lovely. With regard to the evening reception at the wedding I am slightly confused as we have no evening reception packages including bacon rolls with a price of £20.00 I am however sorry you only had one rasher of bacon in your bacon roll, I would like to reassure you that we do not only put one rasher of bacon in each bread roll and I have discussed this with the chef to ensure more consistent production. I am also sorry that the bar service was inconsistent and have asked Jane our conference and banqueting manager to retain the team.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very small, hot room with no aircon and a small fan to circulate the 30c air. Bar and dinner service were slow but friendly. I would echo other reviewers' comments about the inexperience of some of the staff. Breakfast is great (beats the local Crewe Hall), however I found it slow at times and my order was delivered incorrectly on 3 occasions. I have stayed here a number of times and many more at Crewe Hall. I may now reserve my stays here for the cooler months only...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyglobetrotterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay.

Whilst I was delighted to read your remarks about the quality of the food you received, I was disappointed that you felt the service could have been quicker; we do try and ensure that guests are not rushed during Breakfast but we are also aware that many guests do want to start their day promptly and we try and ensure that the balance is right. I am sorry that on this occasion, it was not.

With regard to the air conditioning all 39 of our executive rooms do have air conditioning. Please do contact me personally next time you are staying and I will arrange an upgrade. We hope to see you again soon and look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next visit to Cheshire.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very pretty and the rooms are well appointed. The air conditioning was a bonus as it was very warm without it. Bar service was slow in the early evening but ok later on. Breakfast was good. No time to try the gym or spa.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to lodge your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read your comments about the bedroom, the quality and presentation of breakfast and the team who I know will be thrilled.

On behalf the team here at Rookery Hall I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel is set in lovely grounds. Room was nice. However the staff and management could be better and the communication between website booking and the hotel needs improving. We booked in for 2 nights with dinner and paid for all a carte upgrade and 2 bottles of wine. The hotel didn't have us down for al a carte upgrade and didnt even have us down for dinner the second night. They had no idea we had already paid for wine either. They canelled our room key after the first night and although it was 30 degrees outside hadn't bothered to move outdoor seating from the conference building to cater for the large number of people wjo wanted to sit outside. We had to sit on a wall whist several tables etc where empty at the back of the hotel. We spent 10 minutes waiting for a drink from the bar until I had to ask someone to find someone to serve. Overall as country house hotels go not fantastic. Merely average at best

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your guest experience. I was certainly disappointed to learn of your frustrations that you encountered during your stay with us as this is by no means the level of service we wish to deliver here at Rookery Hall.

Rookery Hall is a popular venue for weddings and we aim to ensure that wedding receptions do not impact negatively on the enjoyment of leisure guests and hence this is why we have additional seating outside our banqueting suite.

Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with my colleagues so that they are fully aware of how you felt. Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly via email gbjones@handpicked.co.uk

Regards,

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had a mid-week stay with dinner and breskfast. This was our second visit to this very nice hotel/location complimented by a very nice pool/spa.

The service and food quality was excellent.

Very peacefull location and very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidpmercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
What a wonderful review. It is always great to receive feedback about the team delivering excellent customer service, as we spend a lot of time training our team about exceeding guest expectations.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent 24hours of seriously needed down time. The hotel is in beautiful countryside not far from the market town of Nantwich. We chose the quiet of the hotel spa and surroundings.
the hotel and Spa staff were well trained, friendly and seemed happy in their posts. Service was first class, Food fresh, local and beautifully prepared.
I will happily spend another 24 hours at this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have their advantages I'm sure requests will be meet with .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny4319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear jenny4319,

What a wonderful title to head your review, and thank you for your lovely feedback following your recent visit.

The surroundings and facilities of the hotel, do make for the perfect location to relax and unwind. I'm so glad that you managed to get the down time you needed.

I agree that we are very lucky to have such, friendly and happy team members here at the hotel. Who all ensure that each guest visit is a truly memorable one for all the right reasons.
They are also one of the main reasons guests return to the hotel. All will be delighted with your kind words.

Thank you again for your review. Don't leave it too long before booking in your next 24 hour break.

Best Wishes,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
17.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing