We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel/ amazing food and fantastic staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel/ amazing food and fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

my wife and i took advantage of the travelzoo offer of dinner bed and breakfast,
the offer included afternoon cream tea and a glass of bubbly which was served to us by a lovely yong lady called Aggy, we booked a table for dinner at 8 so we had plenty of time to make use of the fabulous room, spacious modern and spotless, the evening meal was fantastic as was the service, the breakfast was of the same high standard, everything about our stay was first class but above all what really impressed us was the staff, from Gemma and Brian who greeted us, Aggy john and young Emily who served us, also every other member of the wonderful team, cleaners, kitchen staff etc, all contributed to making us feel very special..we will be recommending Rookery Hall to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishcake69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

At Rookery Hall we ensure all team members are kept up to date with regards to reviews so we can where necessary learn and improve on constructive feedback. I know they will be delighted with your review highlighting the positive attitude they displayed during your break and I know Mark our head chef will be pleased to read about the excellent quality dishes you experienced.

On behalf of the team I look forward to welcoming you all back to Rookery Hall in the near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    393
    162
    59
    25
See reviews for
268
1,018
25
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We celebrated our daughters wedding at Rookery Hall last Sunday and whilst the actual hotel and the rooms were beautiful and we could not fault the stunning grounds we felt that the food, especially the main course, left a little to be desired, very small piece of chicken and not enough vegatables (i personally do not like carrots).The staff, however, could not have been more helpful and the whole day was brilliant and the executive rooms are very luxurious and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities but do ask for extra milk as there is never enough in those little cartons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to report your experience at Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa. We value our guests opinions and this enables us to address any issues which you raise from your visit to the hotel.

I am delighted that you were pleased with a number of aspects during your stay however naturally disappointed with your comments about the main course portion size, served at your daughter’s wedding breakfast. From your comments and feedback it is clear to me that, on this occasion, we failed to meet all of your expectations and I fully understand your disappointment for which I am truly sorry.

Thank you again for your valued comments.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

During May, my wife and i tied the knot at Rookery. You will see from previous posts of mine that i have visited and reviewed before. This review is really an affirmation of previous comments that underpin how amazing this place is.

In terms of our wedding, we couldn’t have asked for more from Rookery Hall. The staff were amazing and catered to our every need. Special mentions on the day to Steve and Jane who made sure everything went smoothly. Also to Abi in reservations who has been more like a friend over the last few month helping us plan our special day. To the general manager - you have an amazing hotel, the staff being its best asset!

Our wedding was on a Sunday but my wife and i had arrived on the Saturday evening to make our stay a little longer. The usual meal and bubbles on the Saturday evening were the usual great standard we have come to expect from Hand Picked.

We married at 4pm on the Sunday and i had expected the day to be a lot of running around making sure the hotel had got everything just right for the ceremony and wedding breakfast. Well i may as well have gone and played golf or something - the staff had everything well in hand (i was probably just getting in the way). Needless to say, the facilities at Rookery are perfect for a weeding and being a Sunday, we as good as had the run of the place. The place is amazing for a wedding. The wedding rooms are spacious with great views out over the Cheshire countryside. The grounds are perfect for wedding pics etc etc

We had previously tried our wedding menu (see prev review) and i had wondered how Rookery would re-create this for 50 people. f course, i needn’t have feared, the food was outstanding and the quality of service exceptional from all of the serving staff. Wine glasses were kept topped up and the timing of the staff was impeccable e.g. they wouldn’t bother you if you were in mid conversation with another guest.

All in all - i can’t say enough good things about this place.

I know i am a fan of Hand Picked, but we really did look around to find our wedding venue. What we found is that Rookery offer two things that i didn’t see in other places

1. Value for money - weigh up what you get on a like for like basis with other hotels and i don’t think you can match it

2. The personal touch - we really felt as if we were in our own home with the staff making us feel that nothing was too much.

To finish - special mention again to Jane, Steve and Abi - outstanding!

Expect me to be back again and again to this place.

Room Tip: New block - lower ground floor for terrace access to grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danweigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on our hotel for our future guests.

I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience and you found the room to be fantastic. I have already passed on to the team your very kind comments about being attentive and providing great, friendly service because this is what we aim to provide for all of our guests.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

A fantastic hotel. Best hotel room stayed in. Went to a wedding there and would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Staff were extremely efficient and polite.
Rooms were amazing- most rooms taken over by wedding guests and all were gorgeous. A little expensive for the room but well worth it- bath had a tv!
Wedding ceremony room was lovely. Setting was beautiful- very rural.
Food was a little small in terms of portions and I would have liked more vegetables with the chicken main other than just potato and carrots, but all tasted delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Rookery Hall. I am pleased you had a wonderful experience at our hotel where we aim and work hard to deliver a personal level of service and positive comments, such as yours, are a great motivator for the team.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

had a wonderful day celebrating my best friends daughters wedding and a very nice stopover too. The ambience of the venue and the service although some what slow was absolutely first class and rooms executive suites were fabulous and could not have wanted more also the breakfasts were catered for brilliantly and nothing was to much trouble so all in all a beautiful day and night so thank you very much !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlthegirlCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read you found the service to be friendly and helpful and that all aspects of your stay were impressive.

I will ensure your kind words are communicated to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rookery Hall in the near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My niece had her wedding there on saturday, the rooms were amazing. The grounds were idyllic. We sat down for our meal..some what late. When the food arrived .. plated up. Chicken tiniest piece and white, a round bob of potatoes, which half was uncooked and 3 slices of carrot. It was by far the worst meal I've had..be ware wedding planners. The dessert was inedible too. For the evening they served burgers and chips. That was another story, the burgers, size of a 50pence had been plonked inside a dry bap. There was no relish, onions etc only a bowl of tomato ketchup and brown sauce. The french fries were like cardboard . Obviously this Hall has no pride in serving good food. What a pity such a lovely place. Drinks very expensive..should have made enough profit to serve a decent plate of food.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room away from the main hall if there is a party going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay.

We do take great pride in our product and service and in particular in our high levels of food quality. From your comments and feedback it is clear to me that, on this occasion, we failed to meet all of your expectations and I fully understand your disappointment for which I am truly sorry.

I am disappointed you found our bar tariff to be overpriced as one of the features of staying at Rookery Hall is the wide selection of wines we offer by the glass. I am sorry you felt that this experience didn’t offer exceptional value for money for a 4* hotel. As with the wines, we also have a good choice of beers, ales and spirits which vary in price according to the brand chosen.

As mentioned in other reviews, your feedback is extremely important to us and is shared directly with the team to enable us to evolve and improve. Please do contact me directly if there is anything I can assist with further.

Regards,


Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice rural location away from the grind. Food was lovely. Had a relaxing time in the spa. Not the cheapest but good value. Had issue with my payment and staff were very helpful with this
would love to return

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokerrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Rookery Hall.

I was delighted to read your comments with regards to your stay and will ensure that they are passed to the team here at the hotel. It is always very pleasing to read such positive feedback and I thank you for taking the time to write.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa very soon.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
17.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing