We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding day fab”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

had a wonderful day celebrating my best friends daughters wedding and a very nice stopover too. The ambience of the venue and the service although some what slow was absolutely first class and rooms executive suites were fabulous and could not have wanted more also the breakfasts were catered for brilliantly and nothing was to much trouble so all in all a beautiful day and night so thank you very much !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirlthegirlCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read you found the service to be friendly and helpful and that all aspects of your stay were impressive.

I will ensure your kind words are communicated to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rookery Hall in the near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,242 - 1,248 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

My niece had her wedding there on saturday, the rooms were amazing. The grounds were idyllic. We sat down for our meal..some what late. When the food arrived .. plated up. Chicken tiniest piece and white, a round bob of potatoes, which half was uncooked and 3 slices of carrot. It was by far the worst meal I've had..be ware wedding planners. The dessert was inedible too. For the evening they served burgers and chips. That was another story, the burgers, size of a 50pence had been plonked inside a dry bap. There was no relish, onions etc only a bowl of tomato ketchup and brown sauce. The french fries were like cardboard . Obviously this Hall has no pride in serving good food. What a pity such a lovely place. Drinks very expensive..should have made enough profit to serve a decent plate of food.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room away from the main hall if there is a party going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay.

We do take great pride in our product and service and in particular in our high levels of food quality. From your comments and feedback it is clear to me that, on this occasion, we failed to meet all of your expectations and I fully understand your disappointment for which I am truly sorry.

I am disappointed you found our bar tariff to be overpriced as one of the features of staying at Rookery Hall is the wide selection of wines we offer by the glass. I am sorry you felt that this experience didn’t offer exceptional value for money for a 4* hotel. As with the wines, we also have a good choice of beers, ales and spirits which vary in price according to the brand chosen.

As mentioned in other reviews, your feedback is extremely important to us and is shared directly with the team to enable us to evolve and improve. Please do contact me directly if there is anything I can assist with further.

Regards,


Gwyn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice rural location away from the grind. Food was lovely. Had a relaxing time in the spa. Not the cheapest but good value. Had issue with my payment and staff were very helpful with this
would love to return

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokerrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Rookery Hall.

I was delighted to read your comments with regards to your stay and will ensure that they are passed to the team here at the hotel. It is always very pleasing to read such positive feedback and I thank you for taking the time to write.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa very soon.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went to the rookery to celebrate my husbands birthday.we couldn't fault the staff who were all pleasant and helpful.we had an executive room.
Which was excellent with all facilities.
The pool area was really relaxing.
We had such a good time we have booked again to celebrate our wedding anniversary

Room Tip: The executive room was,we were at the front overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashirenadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read your comments about the facilities, amenities and food, however I was even more delighted to read your comments about the team. We are fortunate to have some very natural, attentive and genuinely charming staff who love what they do and who are very proud to work at the Hotel.

Many thanks once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa for your wedding anniversary.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just got home from a two night stay at Rookery Hall - have had a really relaxing time and would recommend the hotel. Our room was in the new block, over looking the grounds and was definitely sumptuous with everything we needed, from fresh milk in the fridge to champagne chilling in its bucket! The bed was super comfy and we slept very well. Couldn't fault our room or bathroom whatsoever.

We had booked directly via the Hand Picked Hotels web site and booked two separate, but consecutive nights of the "Champagne Exclusive" offer which was dinner, bed and breakfast and overnight stay in an executive room with a bottle of champagne! This enabled us to have two bottles of champagne which meant a very relaxing evening before dinner. If you book via the reservation centre you only get one bottle so this is a good tip (if you like champagne that is). When we booked in the receptionist ensured our two bookings were linked so that there was no need to change rooms or check out/in again. This offer was great value for money.

Special thanks to two exemplary members of staff namely Dan and Agniska (Aggie) from the restaurant. They are both a real credit to the hotel. My husband's steak wasn't cooked to his requirement and both members of staff dealt with it professionally and without fuss. We had the pleasure of their service on both of our nights and they were attentive without being intrusive whilst maintains the friendly service that all of the staff provide.

The pace of life at Rookery Hall is not fast - absolutely fine for us as we wanted relaxing and laid back but we could overhear a few guests mumbling about the wait (particularly at breakfast). Perhaps when you are shown to your table you should be asked if you need to leave the dining room at a specific time? This would ensure that those in a bit more of a hurry could receive their orders a little faster?

More than happy to recommend the hotel and currently thinking about visiting one of the other hotels in the group, but slightly worried that they may not be as good!

Room Tip: Ours was an executive room that overlooked the grounds, there are some that overlook the car park bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldblend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay. I was delighted to read your comments with regard to your stay and the service received from the team and in particular Dan and Aggie

We are very proud of our hotel here, and this is portrayed in the attitude of the staff that work here. We are blessed with a wonderful team of people who do their very best to make our guests stay as memorable as possible.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gwyn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed one night at Rookery Hall on the way up north and booked a superior room. Our room was in the new block to the rear of the hotel and although comfortable it suffered from a lack of attention to detail: the loo wouldn't flush properly, the hand basin wouldn't drain, the shower needed a PHD in mechanical engineering to operate, and the TV was set on wide screen which meant that everyone looked distorted. The rooms overlooked the car park, not the grounds.

As far as the spa is concerned, be aware that they accept outside members and on the evening we were there the pool was full of families with children. The spa itself closes at 5.00pm.

We had a drink on the patio outside the bar, which overlooks the gardens. Our white wine was served at room temperature, not chilled, and the sun umbrellas are all past their sell by date, making the patio look rather tatty.

We wanted a light dinner in the restaurant, however were put off by the prices and menu choices so opted for room service. Once again our white wine arrived un-chilled, and the chicken Caesar salad was missing the cheese, bacon and croutons as advertised.

The large double bed was very comfortable, however, the pillows are all rather hard foam as opposed to soft feathers.

Our comments on check out were all dealt with very efficiently and pleasantly by the reception duty manager. There is no shortage of very charming and helpful staff, you just have to wonder whether they are getting the right training as it is the lack of attention to detail that is letting this hotel down.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank jane_eyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to report your experience at Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa. We value our guests opinions and this enables us to address any issues which you raise from your visit to the hotel.

I am delighted that you were pleased with a number of aspects during your stay however naturally disappointed with your comments about bedroom maintenance and the lounge and bar. We take all our guest comments very seriously and I have addressed these with our kitchen food and beverage team. I am sorry you did not take the opportunity to try our pillow menu as I am confident there would have been a suitable alternative.

From your comments and feedback it is clear to me that, on this occasion, we failed to meet all of your expectations and I fully understand your disappointment for which I am truly sorry. We endeavor to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean comfortable environment with friendly, bubbly and well trained staff and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this for you. I would be interested to hear more from you to help us to ensure we address any shortfalls in our standards.

Please call me at your earliest convenience on 0845 0727533. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope that I will be able to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Thank you again for your valued comments.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed with family to celebrate a golden wedding anniversary. The hotel is sited in a lovely location with great walks through the summer meadows right from the door. Food delicious and all waiters/waitresses very attentive but sometimes a little slow for food to appear (eg vegetables accompanying main courses arrived several minutes after the dishes themselves). Bit of a problem on arrival having been promised that a Junior Suite was wheelchair accessible by central reservations, only to find that it is not and had to be downgraded to standard room on arrival. Reception staff were very slow to apologise for this, but the manager was helpful and arranged for complementary champagne for the party at dinner to soften the blow. The replacement room turned out to be light and airy but not quite what we had in mind when booking.
The other deluxe rooms for the rest of the party were fine with large comfortable beds, although be aware that some rooms in the new building are down in the basement. You do get the benefit of a small patio area outside but this is at the bottom of a grass slope and poor consolation for the non-existent view.
Spa is lovely with light and airy pool and spacious hydrotherapy pool. Unfortunately the steam room was out of action on our first day. Beware that access to the pool for children is restricted to certain times of day - we have not come across this at other Hand Picked Hotels and was a big disappointment when we arrived with kids desperate to cool off the pool. Hopefully the management will reconsider what is a very restrictive practice for a family-freindly hotel - particularly at weekends...
Also found that the only disabled toilet in the spa is used as a family changing room - not great when one of our disabled guests needed the loo in a hurry. The spa manager was unhelpful and unapologetic - saying that it is the spa's policy for families to change in the disabled toilet and he was responsible for designing the place...
All in all a great time was had by all but the niggle with room booking was a disappointment and the hesitancy of some staff to offer apologies when things are not quite right is surprising for what is usually a very customer-orientated hotel group.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms in the new block unless you are happy with no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

I would like to take the opportunity of thanking you for your much valued feedback in relation to your recent experience with us here at Rookery Hall.

It would appear that we were inconsistent with the very high standards of service and care of which we have set ourselves t. I was extremely disappointed and sorry to read your comments about mistakes being made with your reservation and how we rectified this as we spend a great deal of time training our teams both here at the hotel and at our central reservations office.

I was however delighted to read that the problems you encountered did not overly effect the enjoyment of your stay. Customer service is something we are passionate about here at the hotel so thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Gwyn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,317 reviews
12.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,434 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,638 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 45 in Chester
1,106 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range: $150 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing