We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Rookery Hall at the end of January. We have stayed at several Handpicked Hotels now and got married at Wood Hall in Wetherby. We very much enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend to anyone considering a relaxing and/or romantic getaway. The hotel appears to combine traditional and modern with a very tasteful add on to the original building. We opted for the traditional end and very much enjoyed the high ceilings, grand stair cases and dramatic windows.

We began our retreat with Afternoon Tea which proved to be a lovely traditional tea, set in in a grand room in the old part of the hotel, looking out onto the grounds. We then checked into the January suite which was luxurious and more than enough space for both of us to fully relax. The beautiful bay window seat provided the perfect opportunity to watch the world and wildlife go by.

We dined in the hotel restaurant that night and again found it warm, friendly and achieves the right balance of formal but relaxed. We ate three courses and found the menu imaginative. The following morning we enjoyed a very tasty breakfast and we were particularly impressed with the choice available for those not wanting the traditional 'fry up'.

Across the hotel the level of service was excellent. All staff were friendly and receptive and we were particularly impressed with the way everyone seemed to know our names and took the time to wish us a happy anniversary. Another thing that impressed us was the fact that a large wedding was taking place in the hotel and they were full almost to capacity and yet the venue remained tranquil and relaxing without even the slightest whisper from the evening reception. In fact we only knew there was a wedding taking place because at one point the bride, groom and guests posed for photos outside in the grounds. We didn't have time to use the Spa but would definitely consider returning to give it a try.

All in all a perfect venue for a romantic retreat.

Room Tip: We very much enjoyed the January suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your comprehensive wonderful review of our hotel, it really is refreshing to read.

Afternoon tea is a highlight at Rookery so it was pleasing to read you enjoyed this so much and we also loved your feedback on the super January suite that overlooks the entrance, we agree it really is lovely.

Dining whether it be at dinner or breakfast is so important to our guests so reading that we exceeded your expectation was a delight to read.

Great seamless service is what we aspire to so hearing your feedback makes us very proud indeed.

See you soon , we hope

Best Wishes

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,940 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Rookery Hall is a beautiful hotel with gorgeous rooms. Concierge was very helpful and the receptionist talkative and polite. we stayed in an executive room, the bathroom with the TV was a nice touch. The problems started when we wanted to enjoy a meal there it appeared there were quite a few waiters and waitresses there rushing around but not knowing what they were doing so we went off site instead. Breakfast was pretty much the same my friend had breakfast and had eaten it before we received the coffee, toast or my food and we had to ask three times for cutlery to eat it at all. All we could hear were people complaining about the breakfast service.

Organised chaos which is a shame for me because it was my birthday and it took the edge of what should have been a special day. There are newspaper cuttings dotted here and there about the fact the Beckhams had their engagement party in the hotel.

On the whole it is worth a stay and I am sure the staff were just having an off day as we all do.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickieMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for feeding back after your recent stay at Rookery. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do apologise that the breakfast service was not up to our normal impeccable standards, the morning in question was a very busy one but no excuses , it simply wasn’t good enough>> Sorry.

We hope to see you again soon,

Best Wishes

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked a 3 night break. The bedroom was very nice and spacious with good views,the spa had a beautiful large swimming pool and was relaxing just a pity it is not linked to the hotel. The breakfast was superb everything you could wish for.
The food was very good for dinner but slightly small portions and not a very good selection of vegetables for my taste. I was asked by the Duty Manager if everything was OK and I told him. He then assured me that the meal I had been dissatisfied with would not be charged and further more the next evening everything, including extra vegetables, was superb.
What a pleasure to have a manager that listened and acted.

Room Tip: I would imagine they are all pretty good but we particularly like the old part of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Hello

Thank you so much for a lovely review of our hotel.

We were delighted to read that the three night stay with us was to your satisfaction albeit that a little hickup with portion size on one dinner service should have been avoided.

The team are empowered to take control on the rare occasions when things do not go as smooth as we had planned and again thank you for the kind feedback about how the situation was resolved.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife I and recently had an overnight spa break at Rookery Hall. It is located in very beautiful and peaceful grounds. The room we had in the newer wing was tastefully decorated and in great condition. There were robes, a safe, powerful hairdryer (my wife's comments), a trouser press, iron and ironing board, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, TV and DVD player, and a TV in the bathroom. Full climate control was nice, and there were good blackout curtains. The remote in the bathroom didn't seem to be able to navigate the menu and the TV, and thus we could not really use it. I am sure the hotel would have sorted it out if we had mentioned it but we were not too bothered and thus did not raise the issue. Drinks and dinner were lovely, with attentive and efficient waiter service. The banana tart tartin was particularly delicious.

The breakfast spread was impressive and the full English and vegetarian platters satisfying. Spa treatments were well organised and the pool area with sauna / steam room / jacuzzi was understandably popular with hotel guests and spa members.

All in all, a very relaxing break. We will bring our son the next time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisWKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hello,

What a super review you have posted on this site, we are delighted you had such a lovely time.

We agree with you that the new wing rooms are special indeed and worth the upgrade to Executive especially the TVs in the bath!! Sorry about the remote control.

A long time has been spent developing the breakfast offering so it is refreshing to read that you were so impressed with its presentation.

We look forward to meeting your son on your next visit.

Kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is my second visit to Rookery Hall, my first vist was good but this time it was clear that hotel as completely raised its game.

The staff are always friendly, polite yet professional nothing was too much trouble.

The spa was relating and spotless as usual. Plenty of free loungers and magazines to read.

We booked an executive room with a view over the fields. It was so calm and quiet ! Due to my daughters illness I did request a quiet room and that is what we got which was very much appreciated.

The main improvement as to be the restaurant , on our last visit it was a bit chaotic but there was no sign of this when we went for dinner. I noticed the manager fom last time and he seemed much more in control and there were plenty of staff which enabled the dining experience from champagne and canapés to desert to run smoothly. The food was lovely and to be honest when you consider the package you can get with hand picked hotels I personally don't think that it can be beaten as nothing is compromised.

I would definitely recommend this hotel because the whole package, spa, dinner, breakfast and service is amazing value but also worthy of its 4 stars.

Will be returning soon !

My daughter as already booked a stay at nutfield priory and spa based on this experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the executive building. Ask for a room with a countryside view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIDDLY-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your super Mothers Day review.

We planned this special day many months ago so we are so delighted your enjoyed the occasion at Rookery hall.

Constant improvement is what we are all about and every member of the team believe in this also, even the little things make all the difference.

We are really thrilled you will be recommending us to family and friends,

Kind regards and see you soon

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are spacious and fully equipped. The food is exceptional as is the service. It was lovely to be able to linger over an excellent meal. Drinks expensive but the accommodation and meals package excellent value. Pool and spa a big bonus. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello,

We were delighted indeed to read such a nice review this morning when it was posted, feedback like yours is precious indeed for future potential travellers.

You certainly seem to have tested all we have to offer and your wonderful words make us all very proud to work in such a guest cared focus environment.

Great buildings need great people in them, we are very proud of the team here who strive only for service excellence.

We do hope to see you again very soon

kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently stayed here for my birthday and I absolutely loved the stay. I couldn't fault the room, the staff were friendly and very attentive and the food was delicious!
It was an expensive weekend away, but as a one off treat it was definitely worth it!
We got full use of the spa both days, for as long as we wanted and I was treated for a massage which was great! Would definitely reccommend having a treatment!
I thought that the staff were great and couldn't do enough for you and catered to all requests.
The grounds are gorgeous and definitely worth a walk around.
It is definitely owrth a visit for a special occasion or just to treat yourself! I hope to visit Rookery Hall again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for choosing Rookery as the destination for your birthday treat and for leaving this amazing feedback on this forum,

The team here really do spend a great deal of time on the most important part of a guests stay and that is the service.

There are many great hotels in the UK to choose from and for the team here the one thing that we try set ourselves apart from is the team interactions ensuring that every guest everytime gets the very best of care.

By the sounds of your feedback we have achieved this for you,

Thank you again

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,267 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,534 reviews
7.4 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
16.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range: $141 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing