We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked a room here for anniversary . We arrived and it looked lovely . My husband went in to book in I came in and we was shown to our room it was called September room . It was lovely a big bathroom shower on its own and a lovely bath . It had everything down to tea tray and coffee and hot chocolate biscuits and two bottles of water . We got ready for dinner and oh my god how great was it after dinner we sat in the lounge had a drink and went back to room we had a turn down service which was nice ... Breakfast was a surprise it had everything you could think of ... The staff could not do enough for you to make your stay extra special for you .. They had weddings all weekend so we could only stay Friday night .. The weddings did not bother us at all ... We stayed 1 march ... All I can say what a great hotel the staff are wonderfull . It's everything and more 5 star and more hope this help you pick it

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wood84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello,

A jaw dropping review, thank you so much for your kind words.

Great hotels have great people and Rookery is no exception. The buildings are amazing and the team inside them better.

We work hard on attention to detail and anticipating guest needs in a natural charming environment so we are really happy you experienced the best of Rookery,

Please come back soon

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,310 - 1,316 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was by far the best hotel I have ever stayed. First up we arrived to an awe inspiring drive. Walking into reception we where greeted by the best reception staff I have ever met, Liz & Brian where so informed and bright that it immediately put me at ease. Brian showed us to are excutive suit & along the way gave us excellent amenity info followed by a fun and fantastic room tour.

Next up we had a champagne cream tea as part of are package and we were a little taken aback by the eligance of this 18th century building but then true to form immediately put at ease by the bar staff. As we walked into the bar man was having a conversation with the a couple of his co workers and far from feel out of place the two other co workers faded straight out of view and the bar man came straight to are attention with a smile. Top level customer service! Very impressed.

In all honesty I could go on for hours but this was the best hotel experience I have ever had.

Details:

Secret excapes package : £170 all in.

Excutive room
3 course meal for 2
Spa access 24hrs
Parking
Breakfast

Oh yea and I ate pigeon, wood pigeon but it was delicious! Thank you to all the team you are amazing!

Regards
Mr B.Burns

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mrbenburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello,

What a wonderful review of Rookery Hall.

We are so proud to have been bestowed the honour of Best Hotel ever! Your words are kind beyond belief.

This feedback is amongst the best we have ever received so from us all

THANK YOU

We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Thank you to hand picked hotels; a wonderful experience. A warm reception from the very pleasant staff, a lovely double room in the original hall with a balcony. The bed was large, very comfortable and with an excellent choice of pillows. Our bathroom was a good size but will need a bit of a makeover before too long.
We loved the wood panels and olde worlde ambience of the hotel, with modern day facilities and all needs catered for. We couldn't have asked for anything more.
The grounds are very well kept, fountains, woodland and fields, a truly relaxing and peaceful setting'
The breakfasts were more than adequate with a variety of food to order which came piping hot and freshly cooked; the cold food was well displayed with plenty of choice. The service was excellent, from the greeting as you entered the restaurant to the attentive, friendly waiters and waitresses.
We also had evening meals during our stay, the food again was freshly prepared, presented beautifully and with plenty of choices.
The bar is well stocked, service impeccable,comfortable leather seating adds to the whole experience. The lounge had a log fire burning, always a bonus on a cold winters evening.
This is an Hotel and an Hotel Group that we will definitely visit again. They really care about their guests.

Room Tip: We were in April room, in the old part of the hall, a lovely room but it didn't overlook the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidandkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for such a comprehensive review of our wonderful hotel, your title says it all actually.

Great feedback is so important to us and both positive and occasionally negative comments really are acted upon so thank you again.

Your comment that the hotel really care is so true, all our energy goes into guest satisfaction.

We will see you again , we hope,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

An efficient check in service was pleasant staff. The was on wedding going at the time so the bar was out of bounds for a short while. The staff were aware of this and looked after our needs! The room was well appointed and very pleasant. The bathroom however was looking a little tired with mildew at the tap end of the tiles. Later use found the drain out of the bath was partially blocked as it took an age to empty. The food was beautifully presented and was lovely. The service from all the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for a very positive review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your first experience and also that you appreciated the food and service.

We pride ourselves on attention to detail something with reference to the bathroom that we did not achieve, sorry. The team have been informed and also send their genuine apologies.

See You again soon we hope

Best Wishes

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Me and my husband staid two nights at the hotel on the special dinner, bed and breakfast package. We had a comfortable room in the executive wing and we enjoyed the added bonus of the TV at the end of the bath. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The only down side was that there was only one dressing gown and the curtain in the room was beyond dirty! However this was not enough to spoil the trip. Once again the spa was a fabulous treat and we spent hours just sat in the huge hydro pool. However, the biggest asset of this hotel is the quality of the food and service. We ate in the hotel restaurant both evenings and each time a new plate was put in front of us we were thoroughly delighted. Each mouthful was exquisite and just thinking about it has my mouth watering. The package is real value for money and I could not recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel, it really was refreshing to read such positivity,

We were so sorry to read about the bathrobe and curtain issue and rest assured the team have been briefed with reference to attention to detail.

we are delighted you appreciated the excellent food and service, something we really do work hard on.

Very best Wishes

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I thought it only right to share our experience as well as gratitude for the really exceptional service that Rookery Hall offered during our stay.

This was our first visit/stay at Rookery Hall and our whole experience was delightful and without question will not be the last time we visit.

We were overwhelmed with the service offered and also the kind gesture following a rather confusing booking experience, which was effortlessly dealt with and made us feel very special indeed.

The surroundings were beautiful, the room of a very high standard and the food excellent.

The high standard of service and attention clearly runs throughout the front of house and the hotel in general, which has made a real impression on us, hence entering details on trip advisor (first time).

We look forward to visiting Rookery Hall in the near future and wish to thank them for making our short stay a very enjoyable experience.

Within the high service standards that we experienced throughout, Earle Fletcher stood out and is clearly leading the way, exceptional - in fact we sent a direct note to the hotel the following day out of courtesy.

We will be returning to Rookery Hall and would recommend very highly indeed.

Room Tip: We upgraded our room which was delightful, I am not sure of the layout of the standard rooms, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for your review and for all the fantastic comments with regards to the food and the staff. Your review means even more to us due to the fact that you would highly recommend the hotel.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I chose this hotel for a night's excursion with my girlfriend. We booked via the handmade hotels website. I booked a junior suite and was then invited to choose add ons and we booked spa treatments for both of us.
Upon arrival the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was very comfortable and well presented. However, I was disappointed to discover that booking spa treatments via the handmade hotels website does not automatically reserve a treatment slot at the spa. I contacted the spa reception from our room upon arrival and discovered that they could not accomadate us that day. The spa receptionist offered us an appointment the following morning at 9am which I accepted, however, I consider this is an issue the hotel need to address.
We were able to make use of the pool and sauna facilites that afternoon which were satisfactory.
Later in the evening I rang room service, however, I was unable to obtain a response for 25 minutes. This is wholly unacceptable for a hotel of this standard.
We dined in the hotel that evening. We had confirmed with reception upon arrival that we wished to dine in the restaurant, however, upon attending the restaurant they stated the first member of staff said he could not find our reservation. The restaurant manager then came over and resolved the matter.
Dinner itself was excellent and the courteous and friendly service within the dining room cannot be faulted. The menu was excellent and it was encouraging to see that the hotel supported local producers.
I would also compliment the spa staff for their friendly and polite attitude.
My overall score has been difficult to judge between 3 and 4. The hotel need to address the issue of booking treatments via their website and make it clear that the treatments are not booked automatically. The lack of response from room service was also extremely irritating. However, the faultless service in the dining room is the factor which lifts my score to 4.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ioloiwrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to report your experience at Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa. We value our guests opinions and this enables us to address any issues which you raise from your visit to the hotel.

I am delighted that you were pleased with a number of aspects during your stay including the food quality and the service delivered by the team. I was however naturally disappointed that we let you down on few occasions. We have since your stay reviewed the Spa package booking process and have amended this accordingly and do apologise for the frustration this caused you. I would also like to apologise for the time it took you to get a response from our room service team, something I am reviewing with our Restaurant Manager.

Finally, I would like to thank you for your honest and constructive feedback.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further help now or in the future.

Yours Sincerely,


Gwyn Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,271 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,547 reviews
7.4 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
16.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range: $142 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing