We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantabulous!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
merseyside
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“fantabulous!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Only had one night here it was my Birthday, but thoroughly enjoyed it, we stayed in an exec' room in the new part it was superb, the staff were great and the afternoon tea fabbbbb. would be stunning in the spring or if the weather is favourable, as the grounds are immense, can't wait to return : )))

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and your afternoon tea. On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at Rookery Hall, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    393
    162
    59
    25
See reviews for
268
1,018
25
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel at the end of December and we were a family of 3 and I would definitely not stay here again.

Given so much wrong information when booking / checking in and our room was not even ready until after 4pm when we had requested an early check in and told this was fine.

Supposed to be a deluxe room but bathroom was not clean at all, TV didn’t work, 2 beds pushed together and a pull out sofa bed for our child. Apparently deluxe only means extra space but there was only just enough room to walk round in this one so I would hate to stay in a standard family room.

Staff have no idea what they are telling you and yes there were a few fabulous members of staff they were in the minority.

Not a great hotel experience and one definitely not to be repeated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Rookery Hall benefits from a high level of returning guests due to the high standards that we usually achieve. I am very sorry that your experience fell short of these standards on this particular occasion. Rarely can an early check in be guaranteed without booking the room the night prior and due to the pick up of bedrooms in this period we could not have guaranteed that this was possible until the night prior.

I was disappointed you felt that you had two single beds pushed together as the bed is a zip and link bed and is commonly used in hotels across the world. As the name suggests the single beds link together and when linked make a true double bed. There can never be any reasonable explanation why the cleaning of the room is not meticulous and we will be monitoring the effectiveness of the room attendant and the floor housekeeper to ensure that standards are maintained at all times. Please be assured that this is not a comment we receive habitually and I am sincerely sorry that you had cause to highlight concerns in this area.

Finally, I would like to thank you for your honest and constructive feedback.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further help now or in the future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a romantic weekend away on secret escapes and had the best weekend. The hotel is situated near Chester, lovely grounds, the room was a decent size and clean, service from staff was brilliant and the restaurant is highly recommended, best part of the visit! The spa is also well worth a visit, one of the best places I have stayed, and would return in a second.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay. I was delighted to read your comments with regard to your stay and the service received from the team

We do take great pride in our product and service and in particular in our high levels of food quality. I notice you are definitely looking to return, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Regards,


Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked our stay at Rookery Hall through Secret Escapes as a birthday treat for me. We arrived early to make use of the spa facilities which were great. Swimming pool & large hydrotherapy pool along with sauna & steam room. I had booked a treatment for later in the afternoon & the spa staff were polite, welcoming & professional. I was totally relaxed after my hot stone massage & facial.
We then officially checked in & were shown to our rooms in the old part of the hotel - the rooms were fantastic. Spacious & clean with all the amenities you would expect from a good hotel. We did experience an issue with the pipework in the bathroom gurgling every 2 minutes but when we called reception about it staff came to free up the airlock & clean the sinks once this had been done. Considering the age of the building this was not a big issue for us.
We had reserved a table in the restaurant for dinner that evening - the service & quality of food was excellent. We all had different dishes for both starter & main course & could not fault them - they were all delicious. Prices are a touch high but you get what you pay for & we would certainly eat here again. We completed the evening with coffee by the open fire in the lounge on big comfy sofas - perfect end to the day!
Breakfast the next morning was good but slow service meant my friend & I were a little late getting to the spa for our manicures. The hotel did ring ahead for us to inform the spa that we were delayed. The food choice at breakfast was great & my Eggs Benedict were delicious even though I rushed to eat them to get to my appointment.
Would we stay again ?? Most definately (despite the delay at breakfast). All the staff are very professional, rooms are well appointed & the restaurant in the evening was excellent. If the hotel improves its service at breakfast then I'd give 5 stars as I couldn't fault any other part of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on our hotel for our future guests. Our breakfast is cooked freshly to order hence there may often be a short delay whilst we prepare your chosen dish and I am sorry this delayed your arrival at the spa.

I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience at dinner and you found the room to be fantastic. I have already passed on to the team your very kind comments about being attentive and providing great, friendly service because this is what we aim to provide for all of our guests.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Rookery on several occasions and we have never been disappointed. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful but also professional. The ambience in the hotel is wonderful the surroundings are tasteful and elegant but also comfortable and homely. Nothing is too much trouble for the dedicated staff and if there are any issues however small they are dealt with promptly and pleasantly. The restaurant is also fantastic and any dietary requirements are catered for fully. What more can I say, we keep coming back !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our high standards in the future.

I am thrilled that you enjoy the hotel so much, and thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Reception was friendly and helpful on arrival. Bedroom was of a very high standard, beautifully decorated with excellent facilities. Our evening meal in the restaurant was amazing, both food and service, and the guitarist playing acoustic guitar while we ate was the icing on the cake. The only disappointment was breakfast - the service was chaotic and extremely slow, especially on the second morning of our stay when it took around 30 minutes just for our pot of tea to be brought, and that was only after speaking to at least three members of staff. Luckily we didn't want a cooked breakfast that morning as we were only asked whether we wanted one just before our tea arrived! I should say that service in every other aspect of our stay was excellent, and if it had not been for our experience at breakfast I would have said our stay had been perfect, what a shame that the service at breakfast was so poor.

Room Tip: The Executive/deluxe room was worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HereBeDragons62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with Tripadvisor.

It was disappointing to read your experience was not 100% satisfactory. Please allow me to offer my apologies. I sincerely hope this does not deter you from staying again.

As mentioned in other reviews, your feedback is extremely important to us and is shared directly with the team to enable us to evolve and improve.

Please do contact me directly if there is anything I can assist with further.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

reception, bar and restaurant all fantastic service, bedroom facilities exceptional and highest standard of cleanliness, quality of food excellent- all set in beautiful surroundings and with additional facilities of pool/health spa.

Room Tip: stayed 3 times all rooms have been excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiev246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is genuinely a pleasure to read and share with the team such fantastic feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rookery Hall again, very soon.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
17.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing