We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from Rookery Hall Hotel where my Husband and myself stayed for two nights. We wanted to go somewhere to relax for a couple of nights and Rookery ticked the boxes. The setting for the hotel is in very picturesque countryside and although the weather was a little unkind during our stay you can see it is in an ideal location. We booked an Executive Deluxe room and it was very spacious and clean, the housekeeping staff do a tremendous job. The bed was comfortable and you even have a pillow menu to select pillows of your choice! All the staff were friendly, professional and welcoming. The food in the dining room was very good, served efficiently and with a smile.

All in all we had a wonderful 2 days - thank you Rookery Hall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Florarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. I was delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. I do hope that you will take the opportunity to stay with again in the very near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    402
    163
    60
    26
See reviews for
274
1,038
26
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very impressive hotel but not clear where to park and how to get to reception. The reception staff where very friendly and helpful once we found it. The grounds are excellent, we were here for a wedding and it was a lovely day, so having the photographs taken outside was a bonus. The directions to the ceremony room were not clear and therefore some off us ended up wondering around aimlessly. The room was decorated beautifully for the reception, food good. However, some of the waiting on staff are very young and don't really know how to serve people properly - especially when pouring champagne. The bedrooms were excellent and spotless, had everything in you needed and more, ie a TV in the bathroom! The breakfast the next day was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay at Rookery Hall but the only thing that let it down was the bar prices. You expect to pay a little extra in a hotel, but these prices were extortionate - £10.50 for a glass of wine, £30 for a bottle of house wine and nothing special at that! I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BessAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We value our guest comments and they assist us in improving our standards and quality of service which we provide. I was delighted to read your feedback about the team and the quality of the food and accommodation.

We continually review our standards in order ensure that high standards are maintained at all times.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very disappointed with my recent stay at Rookery Hall.

First impressions are good as you drive up to the hotel (all lit up at night) but then things go rapidly downhill. The general decor is tired and needs updating (dirt on skirting boards, carpets that are threadbare, lifts out of fawlty Towers etc), the staff are trying their best but are all young and lack (in my opinion) experienced leadership, rooms are ok but nothing special (my room had a plethora of light switches which did nothing and a bath where it was impossible to get anything other than hot water out of the tap, not to mention a number of curly hairs in the bathroom which weren't mine!!!!), food was average but expensive and all in all I wouldn't part with my own money to stay here.

Extremely disappointing!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodders546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for registering your recent review on Trip Advisor.

It is disappointing to read a report such as this. We did not at the time or have not since received any complaint from a guest of a similar nature or in a similar vein and I remain perplexed that a guest who was 'unhappy' with so many things did not bring it to our attention either at that time or at a later date. We are always receptive to feedback about our product and service and we work tirelessly to make continuous improvements. To do this we always listen to honest and constructive comments from our guests and visitors even when it is uncomfortable to do so and I remain disappointed that you did not make these comments to us directly.

Once again thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies that on this occasion your experience had a negative impact on the overall enjoyment of your stay with us.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight following our nieces wedding which was also held at this venue. What can I say, stunning venue but we were blessed with the weather so could go outside, it would have been very cramped if we'd had to stay indoors. Rooms were just great, warm spacious and comfortable, best pillows I've ever slept on!!! Lovely fluffy towels, plenty of them and warm from the cosy bathroom radiator. Food was gorgeous, both at the wedding breakfast and Sunday morning breakfast, plentiful, varied and hot. Tea and coffee in abundance. Much has been mentioned about bar prices. We found the cost of beer and spirits very reasonable, but wine by the glass was pricey.

Spa was lovely, my grandson loved the pool.

Overall a fantastic weekend, thank you

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It was great to learn that you really enjoyed the whole experience, and you felt you received value for money. I shall be sure to pass all of your glowing comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

excellent food and superb service, even more amazing as it was part of a DB and B package


As an added bonus the room upgrade was very much appreciated as was the choice at breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you found the hotel to be very good. We continue to strive towards improving our standards and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Me and my friend went to a family Wedding reception here, the is beautiful and well maintained building and gardens. On arrival we weren't sure where to actually park and which block to go in, there didn't seem to be any information signs or directions for reception etc. We parked by the spa and walked following a line of people/guests. So we entered a door and found the function room and asked a member of staff where the Reception was, he just pointed to go to another block. So we asked another lady staff member and she took us to the Hotel Reception-6 of us all dressed in wedding attire not looking like hotel guests at 2pm! then we were abruptly and rudely told the wedding party was in another block again pointing in a direction. When we eventually found the wedding party drinks were laid out and staff were just stood around not being informative or offering drinks etc. I found the whole lay out of the wedding quite disorganized and staff very unhelpful and not customer focused, no smiles or eye contact. Drinks were expensive. The function room was set up really nice, food fine, food service was good but again no interaction with staff!
The evening disco/party was not as good as a lot of guests had to stand up all night as there wasn't enough chairs, food was served slow and gaps in between.
We had a peek at some of the guests rooms and found them very nice.
Over hall the venue is nice and picturesque its the direction boards that need to be more informative, the staff need training up on customer care.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Rookery Hall.

All feedback is really important to us and whilst we will bask in the glow of positive reviews, we add just as much importance to comments letting us know we did not do well. I am sorry that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been listened to and will be acted upon. I am confident that if you choose to stay with us again you will have a much more enjoyable stay.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have been to the spa at Rookery Hall a few times so knew that the spa facilities were of a good standard. Saw an offer on their website for a £150 Dinner, B&B & room upgrade (exec room) so decided to go for an overnight getaway.

On arrival we were greeted by Brian, who took our bags and showed us to reception. The reception area is lovely and really relaxed, free apples and newspapers for you to take. Check in nice and straightforward, and Brian booked us in for our dinner at the restaurant.

We were then shown to our room, which was an executive room and was absolutely lovely, possibly the best room we've ever stayed in. So many nice little touches that made it special. The room was done out beautifully, didn't feel like a standard identikit hotel room furnishings. Really comfy bed, flat screen TV with loads of channels, DVD player and massive selection of DVDs you can borrow.

There is a TV IN THE BATHROOM. Which was so cool it now makes me hate my bathroom at home because there is no TV in it. Also a funky 'experience' shower with different settings and jets. Very cool. Robes with the room which you can take to the spa. Good quality toiletries and complements tray, and the exec room had a mini-fridge with a bottle each of sparkling and still water.

Spa is lovely, there's a really nice hydrotherapy pool set away from the main pool which has reclining jacuzzi and massage jets. Sauna, steam room and decent sized pool, and lots of comfy loungers round the side of the pool area. They do have classes (e.g. aqua aerobics) there of a day though, so try to avoid those if you like your spa quiet! Also, if you fancy having a treatment while you're there (highly recommended) check the spa section of the website befor you go, as they usually have a discount on late availability treatments. The rasul is great for your skin (and a good giggle as you look like a sea monster with the mud on).

The brasserie in the spa is nice, and having had treatments here before I can highly recommend these!

We had our dinner in the hotel restaurant, which is really lovely (and quite fancy - wished I'd brought something other than trainers!!) and the food and service was wonderful. The food included on the offer was really good quality - I had wood pigeon for my starter (a first for me!), ribeye steak for main (supplement) and 'plate of chocolate' for pud, which was TO DIE FOR.

The room was nice and quiet and I slept like a baby in the big comfy bed. We ordered our breakfast to be brought to the room (you fill in the request on the door hanger) and it arrived dead on 8.30 when we asked for. I don't think that we were charged for this, but if they do charge I guess it would be the usual £3 tray charge, and it's worth it to chill out in the morning I think. They offer specialist foods on request such as gluten free bread, soya milk and diabetic jam - this was much appreciated as I could actually have toast! Breakfast was lovely as well, and there was a really good choice of items on there.

They also specifically invite you to continue to enjoy the spa facilities after you check out, which was really nice because we could have a nice chilled out morning and check out at 11 before having a last go in the spa before heading off.

Really couldn't fault the hotel on a single thing, can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Lovely, lovely place.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are great if you can get one. I haven't stayed in a standard room, but I'm a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for providing some great feedback following your stay.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed our spa and you found the dining experience to be “wonderful”. I was also delighted to read that the team looked after you well during your stay. I do hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,


Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
16.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing