We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just had our third weekend stay at Rookery Hall and it was superb as ever. Had an even better room this time, overlooking the gardens and fountain - comfortable, luxurious and spotlessly clean. The staff never fail to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. They are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast at Rookery Hall cannot be beaten. I would highly recommend this hotel. There is always a lovely, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Come and see for yourself!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SukiWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for yet again posting a wonderful review of our hotel, we really are very proud indeed to receive it.

The hard work that the team put in really pays off when we get feedback such as this.

We value your patronage greatly and are delighted that your room was even better that the last three stays.

We also thank you for your recommendation and really do look forward to seeing you again very soon,

Very Best wishes

Stephen

PS Breakfast is a very important meal at Rookery, we work really hard to constantly reinvent it and deliver above expectations, so we are all really pleased that effort is paying off!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,527 - 1,533 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently. The hotel is certainly not worth the £150 per night we paid. The room was tired, the carpet dirty (throughout the hotel), bathroom grimy and there was no atmosphere. The hotel was stuffed with faux leather chairs, armchairs and headboards. The hotel staff seemed to think the food was good; it was barely edible at times. A steak with béarnaise sauce at over £30 should have been fantastic. It was nothing special and served with soggy chips. Most of the crockery and cutlery was marked or dirty. The dining room was soulless. The staff tried to be helpful, but the quality and service is more in line with a two star rather than four star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonTraveller500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for you feedback on your recent stay and let me say how sorry we were to receive it.

We are very dissapointed that your stay was well below the norm for Rookery and I can assure you we do not have any delusions but more an aspiration to deliver a wonderful experience every time. I am really sorry that you did not bring any of your issues up whilst on site as I am confident we would have resolved them all to your complete satisfaction.

Please contact me on sfearnley@handpicked.co.uk if you would like to discuss further ,

Kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stopped over for one night to catch up with a friend who works locally and picked Rookery Hall for how it looked, the grounds and the reviews.
Check in was welcoming and helpful, top marks for managing a very genuine unscripted welcome.
The room (35) was a little disappointing compact, very warm and quite dark. However the bathroom was very nice as as too were the extra touches made on the toiletries, tea and coffee and water which was good. The bed was really comfortable.
It found it very difficult to get the room to a good temperature for sleeping

Had a meal in the bar which began with a long wait to get our drinks some 15 mins after ordering them which took the initial shine off the experience, more of a concern was the lack of acknowledgement of the long wait. A £16 charge for two house wines should include good service.
The food was very nice.
The Bar and restaurant areas were really nice places to sit and relax.

Breakfast started well, very warm welcome from a helpful hostess who quickly gets you seated and an order taken. Then came another long wait for drinks, my hot breakfast had arrived before my coffee. To be fair apologies were offered this time.
Great breakfast selection and quality of food, very enjoyable breakfast.

Check out just as friendly and efficient.
Had a look in at the spa and it looked very nice, might have to try this some time!

So overall
Friendly staff,Great food, Nice hotel and grounds, Good spa.
Variable restaurant and bar service and would ask for a different room on a return trip

Room Tip: Over looking the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Hello,

Thanks for your feedback which has been well received.

We are glad you thought the check in was of a high standard, but sorry you thought 35 was a little small, the new executive rooms are much bigger with a modern feel.

We were also delighted you enjoyed the food quality especially breakfast and that you thought the service in general was above expectations.

Overall it sounds like you had a nice break with us.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future,

Best Wishes

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I recently stayed overnight with my partner - we are 25 and 23.

Upon reception we were welcomed by Laura Tomlinson who was absolutely fantastic, she made our entire stay extremely enjoyable and was very friendly.

We stayed in an executive room and it was gorgeous! Very clean and tidy, the decor was beautiful and the tv over the bath was great!

We ate lunch, dinner and breakfast and they were all lovely meals.

The spa area was very clean and the hydrotherapy pool was great as they don't allow children in so we could relax in there.

Overall we had a fantastic stay ad would definately recommend to stay!

We'll be going back for sure!

Room Tip: The executive room was great for a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your super review of Rookery Hall.

We were delighted to read that you short stay with us was such a wonderful experience but most importantly that you will be coming back again soon.

Thank you also for your nice feedback on Laura (who is a star I agree!!!).

Great food and service is what Rookery aspires to so we are especially thrilled to have achieved our ambition.

I agree also that the executive rooms with A/C, TVs in the bath! and a really modern feel as so special.

See you soon

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend break and after a recommendation from my brother . A lovely hotel with nice big rooms and comfy bed. The food is lovely. Breakfast is buffet as well as menu and was all fresh . Dinner was very nice And the standard high. If I was being critical my only complaint after 4 nights was the menu didn't change and it got a bit boring. Also on Sunday the service went downhill . The spa was a bit dissapointing and the receptionist a little unhelpful. Nether less we still relaxed and enjoyed it. The area is beautiful and chester is well worth a visit nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambeth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for visiting and reviewing our hotel.

We were delighted to read that you came on a recommendation, please thank you brother for this!!

It was great to read that you enjoyed the experience and that the food and service was of a very high standard indeed, thanks for the feedback on the menu compilation we will look at this in detail.

Sorry you thought our jewel of a spa was underwhelming and that a team member was less than extremely attentive which is our aspiration.

We hope to see you again in the future,

Kindest regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

stayed for 2 nights from the 6th to the 8th july for my wifes 40th birthday.the food was superb as was the room ,staff were very helpful and friendly .lovely massive room and the spa was fantastic.this is a fantastic hotel well worth a visit.

Room Tip: i recommend the aynsley suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback.

We were all delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay with us and that you enjoyed everything that Rookery has to offer especially its people who are a real credit to the hotel.

40th Anniversaries are special indeed and we feel very honoured to have been chosen for the celebration of this occasion.

Great food, helpful team, lovely rooms and a fantastic spa are what we are trying to achieve so we are all thrilled we achieved it for your break.

Please come and see us again very soon

Kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

stayed overnight friday 6th july after attending a wedding reception.room was amazing, very big,clean,kings size bed, and a tv in bathroom. the breakfast the next day was very good, a large selection of hot and cold food so something for everyone and the staff were very polite and helpful
my only complaint was the price of drinks, nearly £7 for a pint of beer and small bottle of tonic water and nearly £7 for a whisky and coke. a lot of guests took there own spirits in. apart from this i would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for this review after your short stay with us.

Wedding receptions are very important to us all at Rookery so we are delighted you enjoyed the event and all the hospitality that came with it. Breakfast is also a very important meal at the hotel and something we take a great pride in delivering to a very high standard indeed.

The pricing of the drinks is very competitive in our market place and we hope the total experience , ambience and service made it exceptional value for money.

We hope to see you again, maybe on a leisure break?

Kind regards and thank you again for your recommendations,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,316 reviews
12.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,431 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,638 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 45 in Chester
1,106 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range: $150 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing