We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Christmas break"- As always hotel and staff absolutely brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have stayed at this Hotel many times over the years after being married here. The attention to detail is above and beyond anything you would expect or experience In any other Hotel.
The rooms are great value, but for a little more you can have one of the several suites available, all are to a high spec and spacious, with great facilities.
All the staff are incredibly helpful, nothing Is too much trouble. A special mention has to go to Sam, one of the Managers who always goes out of his way to make the experience as pleasant as possible. Also Josey from House keeping who ensures you have everything you need In your room at all times, again nothing Is too much trouble.
The restaurant food Is always amazing and great value, along with breakfast the whole dining experience Is second to none.
Whilst there you have to try the Spa facilities as these are up there with the best we have come across. My tip would be to stay in the original part of the Hotel as these rooms offer more character than the new building, however It Is individual preference, I am sure no matter you will have a great stay.
In short a great place to stay, great staff and great value!!!

Room Tip: I would always go for one of the suites as these are not much more than the executive rooms and offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

Hello,

Many thanks for a super review of our Christmas break.

What an honour to have looked after your wedding and now another special occasion.

I will pass on your kind comments to Josey and Sam, I know they will be delighted to receive them; both have been part of my great team for many ye4ars and are our greatest asset.

We do pay particular attention to the little details that set us apart from the rest and so we are glad you spotted these.

The food is of a very good quality and we continue to strive to improve both it and the service even further.

We hope to see you again very soon

Happy New Year

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,629 - 1,635 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed there in October for a 3 day conference. Beautiful location, excellent service with the most friendliest attentive staff I have experienced in a very long time. Rooms are lush. Food was also brilliant. Great little hideaway.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Hello and Merry Christmas,

Thank you so much for your very kind words indeed.

We are delighted that you found the hotel above expectations for a conference and short stay.

Your recommendations are greatly appreciated

Happy New Year

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Having got married in Handpicked Hotel last year (Ettington Park), we wanted to sample a different hotel for our anniversary. We weren't disapointed. The hotel is beautiful; the rooms are luxourious and the hotel has such wonderful character but you don't feel intimidated being there. Everyone we spoke to was friendly and the service was perfect. We stayed on the dinner, bed and breakfast package and thoroughly enjoyed the food and found it value for money. Chester is about 20 mins drive away and so we had one day in the city and spent the second day in the spa, which was lovely. We will definitely be back here as well as the other hotels in the chain.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Hello and Merry Christmas,

We are delighted you chose Rookery for such an important occasion and really are very pleased indeed that you clearly had a super time.

I was especially happy to read you found our lovely hotel beautiful and full of character and that the team were friendly delivering perfect service

We are proud of the team that work for us.

Happy New Year and hope to see you again very soon

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We booked a 3 days Christmas break here. From the outset the staff were incredibly helpful and over the next few days it was apparent that the care and attention paid to everyone was impecable. The food was exemplary, it was just a shame there was so much that we couldn't eat it all in such a short period of time. Value for money wise all in it was about £550 per head, which when you consider the food and volume of fine wine and spirits we consumed was superb value. We dipped into the spa on the final day and went home fully relaxed. I have to recommend both the concept of getting away of 'home' for Christmas and this hotel for a superb fun stay. If I there was one part which could have been improved, it was the wine tasting. A really nice touch would be to have a wine expert and to make it into a paid for event in the main old section of the hotel. Book this hotel for a Christmas treat :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Hello and Merry Christmas again!

Thank you so much for your festive review and the first of many we hope.

The team worked extremely hard over the week and so I am especially delighted you noticed and enjoyed our company.

Exemplary food, care and attention to detail, superb value for money, fully relaxed are all words we are very proud to have received , so thank you again.

Hope to see you at the 2012 Christmas break or before

Kind Regards and a HNY

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I have stayed here several times whilst on business in Cheshire. The grounds and main hotel building exterior are beautiful. The spa and health club are up there with the best you'll find in a hotel. The restaurant is pricey and the food a little underwhelming considering the cost. Breakfast however is superb. I prefer the rooms in the new part of the hotel - although the building is no attractive, the rooms are cosy, nicely decorated and have a TV in the bath (my favourite touch!) The rooms in the old part of the hotel are a little dated and drafty.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London_traveller_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2011

Hello,

Thank you for completing a review of our hotel.

We have received some very favourable feedback since we changed the menu in the last few days so we hope the next time you stay you find it more appealing.

We have just updated 10 of the old house bedrooms.

Hope to see you again when you are on business in Cheshire

Kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed at Rookery Hall for one night in December 2011. The room was lovely, really spacious with a separate lounge area, and even had two televisions, one in the bathhroom!!
We had the dinner, bed and breakfast package which cost £184, which on the face of it sounds quite expensive but was really well worth it.
The Spa is excellent and the pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room which is free to use for guests was lovely.
Staff are very very good and will always go out of their way to help.
Food was amazing too, we both had the lamb which we would highly recommend!
All in all, the whole place is excellent and we cant wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Paying a bit extra for an executive room or something is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeJNiniH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2011

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this super review.

We are all delighted that your short stay with use was such a great success.

We are also very proud of the team here and the level of service they deliver , thank you again for sharing these facts with the wider audience.

You cant wait to come back and we cant wait to receive you too

Very Best wishes

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

In August 2011 we attended a close family wedding here. The wedding itself was perfect and the service great, we stayed in the hotel and found it perfectly fine.

However at the end of a very long but enjoyable day/evening my daughter realised she had left her camera in the function room. She immediately left the bedroom with her brother to go back and get it. It was not there, the few remaining family guests with stamina had just gone to bed and there were staff clearing up. She asked C&B staff, who advised to check in the morning in lost property as there are allsorts of stuff left the following day from weddings! At this stage she wasn't too worried.

Sadly,as things turned out the largish SLR £500+ cannon camera was nowhere to be found, hadn't been handed in etc. We had therefore to report it as a theft to the police who like the hotel management were sympathectic but couldn't do anything. I spoke to the manager at length and he told me all his staff are vetted and I cannot argue about it. I am also 100% confident in my wedding guests. It gives me no pleasure to write this & I have left it some while since the event. There are no CCTV cameras to help us either with the incident but what we both agree, it iwas stolen.

I have decided to post this review only after some deliberation.It is factual & without any malice and I do it only to inform.If something similar unfortunately happens to someone else you will know you are not the first.

Maybe the hotel can beef up its security/install cctv ?.We had no reason to be worried about our belongings at the time at such a upmarket hotel ,indeed our guard was absolutely down as we were all enjoying ourselves. A somewhat messy ending to a great day!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2011

Hello Helen,

Thanks for the belated feedback.

Back in mid August this year you did bring the sad news about a missing camera from a wedding to my attention.

After a comprehensive investigation at the hotel with regular communications to you unfortunately the camera was not found. You told me at the time you had scoured Trip advisor for similar incidents and found none mainly due to the hotels exemplary record in lost and found incidents.

We will not be adding additional CCTV mainly due to the above record. Interesting that the police never called the hotel?

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,271 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,545 reviews
7.4 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
16.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range: $142 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing