We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place is a dive in a charming town”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
nashville, tn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“this place is a dive in a charming town”
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The charm of the 16th cen building was hard to appreciate with no hot water and sweltering tiny, dirty room in desperate need of refurbishment. Italian restaurant was passable if you like a side of mayonnaise served with your breadsticks but otherwise expensive for poor fare. The breakfast room was infested with wasps (3 in sugar bowl) and housekeeping left supplies and dirty linens in hallway for the better part of the day. Receptionist/owner excitable and argumentative when I asked about the fee for papers ordered which never arrived on any day of my 3 there. Better to stay in Chester and day trip to this darling town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nashreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    83
    70
    40
    32
See reviews for
68
123
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Love old buildings and the character they possess, and will say the same about the Crown Hotel, it being our favourite pub in Nantwich ( and there are several! ). Full of character and olde worlde charm, have no complaints about the bar and the adjoining Italian restaurant, which is fantastic. We have enjoyed several lovely meals there.
The hotel......well, we would just say that this disappointed us, as the rooms just didn't seem to be in keeping with the ambiance of the period building. It's a shame as more attention paid to the decor would make all the difference to some of the rooms.
The room we stayed in needed a complete overhall of the bathroom which actually smelt like they had just removed a spraying tom cat, and this smell permeated the whole room. Two other rooms that our party were staying in were twin rooms, with absolutely no character, one with no room to walk around the beds, the other with not even a window, just a skylight..really quite oppressing. No attempt to brighten or characterise these rooms with nice furnishings befitting an ' olde worlde ' hotel ( plastic venetian blinds and no curtains?! )
The televisions are old with terrible reception. The bedrooms facing the front of the hotel are very noisy at weekends late at night due to loud music from the neighbouring pub.
The breakfast is nice, but they should leave the coffee pot on the table as they do with the tea! Certain ' senior ' members of staff need to actually smile at their guests.....?
We have stayed at other character hotels for the same price and slightly cheaper in some cases, which do have more attention spent on the bedrooms and the comfort of the guests, and constructive criticism is never a bad thing we think!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaDiShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nantwich hotels

devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

This was simply one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The room was up some very hard to use stairs & when the assisitant left our case outside the closed door saying it is in there I should have realised what was inside. Simply a grim room, dark, strong musty smell, no stool by dressing table as no room - had to sit on bed end & husband had to climb over bed to get to bathroom. The water in the shower was cold- then hot for 2 mins - on reporting this was told let me know next time & I will come and bleed pipes!!! Looked out at air conditioing unit whicxh came on loudly @ 07.30. Could not wait to leave - in fact nearly left to stay that night anywahere but there!!! Local relatives had been tempted to wrn us off - wished they had.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Best western, nantwich is one to avoid. Positives first....It is central to the town if thats what you need. It also offers free parking; although we had to ask about it, as helpful tips about the hotel were not forthcoming. The rooms are very basic; duvets have yet to reach this hotel. The bed spread had lovely stains on the inside-nice. On check out day, the maid had stripped our room an hour before the check out time and we returned to the room (after a walk around the town) to find the door open with all our stuff on show to the world!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ep98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

The Crown is a fantastic Tudor listed building, the hotel facilities are a bit creaky as is the building but the room was fine and very clean. Nantwich is a bit of a one trick pony town and not exactly a destination, but absolutely fine for an overnight stay The owners are pouring money into the building which is a financial black hole, the bar regulars do seem to treat it as their's and looked on visitors with slight hostility. Breakfast was excellent and in all it was very good value for money, I would have no hesitation in returning if I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Roaming_Pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We only stayed here as we were looking for somewhere on the way home between Scotland and South Wales. Having passed through Nantwich before we remembered how lovely the town seemed.

My partner rang up and booked two rooms, 1 X twin (No 18) and 1 X triple (No 14). The triple room was a million times better than the twin, which had been decorated straight out of a Hammer Horror movie - very dark red walls. The bathroom was extremely poor, the shower barely trickled and everything, and I mean everything, even the soap dish and toothbrush holder had been bizarrely painted over!

The triple room was much more roomy and had lots of charm. Although both rooms had a bit of noise from passing drinkers it wasn't too disruptive. The rooms were very, very hot and there is no air con or fans.

The hotel is really central, easy to find and pretty to look at. It has loads of olde world charm, uneven floors, steep staircases, low beams, etc. I wouldn't recommend for someone who was less than able bodied as it was a bit challenging!

We didn't eat in the Italian, but went to a little pub just off the main square which was excellent value - around £5-£6 for main courses. Drinks were reasonable in the hotel and we had a couple sat outside in the sunshine.

The main problem with the hotel is the surly staff, especially at breakfast. There were two waitress, one of whom also checked us out, who really struggled to understand our requests - obviously some might be difficult...."Could I have a coffee please?" and "No mushrooms thanks", were about as difficult as it got!

We had a pleasant enough stay, only really spoilt by the morning staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romiley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2008

dispite reading previous revues we booked this hotel as we wished to be in the centre, and not have to drive. the position is perfect for that and we were prepared for noise from passing revellers! yes it was noisy, but slept perfectly. We were made very welcome by the staff, the bathroom had been newly refurbished and the breakfast was good. so our experience of this hotel was enjoyable,you have to take it for what it is..a town centre old hotel.

  • Liked — town center position
  • Disliked — I believe some of the rooms can be quite small
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.1 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 24 High Street, Nantwich CW5 5AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel is a grade II listed building in the beautiful historic market town of Nantwich. The hotel has been a central feature of Nantwich for more than 400 years.The 3 storied building was burnt down in the fire of Nantwich in 1583, The hotel was quickly rebuilt by Queen Elizabeth 1st, with timbers from the nearby Delamere forest. The Crown Hotel now boast all the features the modern day traveller expects yet, retains many original features including an abundance of Oak beams, wattle & daub plaster walls and roaring open fires.All our 18 guest rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and Individual designed features. Diners in our Bar & Grill, which has been recently renovated, can expect cuisine of the highest quality using fresh local products and wines from around the world in a relaxed and unique setting. The Bar offers an excellent choice of ever changing real ales. We are a CAMRA real ale venue. FREE car parking and Internet connection are offered to all guests.The hotel is central for the Nantwich Jazz festival, Food & drink festival and many other local and Cheshire events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel And Casa Brasserie
Nantwich Best Western
Best Western Nantwich
The Crown Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing