We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Nantwich, Cheshire!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
1 review
“The best place to stay in Nantwich, Cheshire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

I got married at the crown on Saturday in the fabulous ballroom and had the best day ever! Along with many of my guests including my in laws I stayed at the hotel for several days and I have to say our experience was first class! If you are looking for somewhere to stay with real character and charm this is your place. The staff also went above and beyond to make our weekend feel relaxed, fun and very special! The hotel is in a great central location for Nantwich ( 10 seconds from the main square), and is also perfect if you are planning to visit Chester, Shrewsbury, Manchester or Liverpool. And to top it off many of our wedding guests were blown away by the delicious food and very reasonable bar prices! A top top place to stay if you want to sample real Cheshire and to get married!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quieter room check with reception as they will be able to help you make the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    78
    64
    40
    30
See reviews for
64
117
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Would like to say a massive thank you to all the staff at the crown for making our wedding day a very special and relaxed day! A bigger thank you to Abbi for the organisation and for being there on the day :)

The minstrels ballroom is a beautiful room and a little "hidden gem" the speed at which these guys ( with Rob at the helm) can transform a room from ceremony to wedding breakfast to evening function with an amazing band is fantastic! !

All food was spot on from the beef dinner to the sausage and bacon baps and breakfast the next morning! 10/10

Bedrooms are lovely and clean and full of character.

We shall definitely continue to visit the crown. ..get the Shropshire gold ready! :))

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellex75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Nantwich, my favourite town. I lived in Nantwich many years ago and am now a frequent visitor. I decided to stay overnight a couple of weeks ago and as I've walked past the Crown many times but never ventured inside, I thought it was time to rectify that. Well, my curiosity has been satisfied and there's not much else I can say really. To be fair, I didn't have breakfast or dinner at the hotel, so I can't give a full review of the hotel's facilities. I stayed in room one. Clean, basic, good shower but very noisy extractor fan. The bed was warm and comfortable but there was no view out of the window. Not really a problem when only staying one night and luckily the weather was good so I spent a lot of time away from the hotel visiting friends and enjoying the town and surrounding countryside. I paid £63 for this single room for one night. Was it worth it? Not really. Would I stay again? Probably not.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hedgemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Nice,clean hotel dating back to the 17 th century.The reason for the title is that I tend to go dizzy in places with uneven floors or subsidence.Although it's worth a visit and is nicely situated in the centre of town,the cooked breakfast was a real let down and definitely not worth the extra cost as breakfast is not included in the price.Just one thing ,I slipped on the carpet in the bedroom which had a slight slope ,thus making us late for breakfast .The waitress made us feel a nuisance even though I told her what had happened .When we came to leave I told the receptionist too who also fell on deaf ears.Four weeks later I'm still suffering with my back as I twisted it when I fell.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing but might be noisier if there are things going on in the hotel,but easier I bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloubennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Lovely old Black & White timbered building in the heart of the town. Modern in decor inside and good seating at tables. Piano music played while we ate, which was enjoyable.
We all chose different meals from the menu and it was all good. My food was dropped on the kitchen floor and I had to wait while another portion was cooked again. Service rather hit and miss, but the food was delicious when it arrived.
Had a lovely time with friends not seen in 3 years.
I expected there would have been more people dining there. A sign of the times perhaps that people don´t have so much money for dining out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZandaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Shopping in Nantwich and we needed lunch, after alittle walk round, we picked the first pub, which was the crown.It was a few mins to twelve, but we managed to persuade the young lady behind the bar to take our order and we would wait for lunch. Actually, the service was very prompt; my pie was huge, in fact, it was like a bowl of braised beef and mushrooms with a little puff pastry pie crust looking lost on top of it......the chips were the biggest I have seen in a long time and beautifully cooked. I really enjoyed my meal, but sadly I couldn't finish it ( my partner did that for me). There was quite a strange happening though when we were trying to enjoy our food.....a lady was wandering round changing all the furniture round, muttering about the fact that someone had mixed the chairs up....maybe this should have been done when the pub was empty ?????

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotlandwell
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Living near to Nantwich for a number of years we had to find a hotel so that we were able to get to Nantwich Church for our granddaughters christening and we were happy to find out that the same family who I knew some years before were still the owners so my wife had already booked with them even though this was by pure coincidence. This 16th century hotel is a gem and has so many features that it keeps you guessing what happens next. Needless to say there is the obligatory ghost and the most warped stairs and floors that will make you giddy with all these unusual but admirable factors that make you never want to stay in another hotel. The staffs are so accommodating and friendly which makes it almost unique these days. There is a wonderful ballroom on the first floor that also has a minstrel’s balcony. Used for all sorts of functions it can accommodate a large number of people. The menus for breakfast are named to ensure that you want the correct menu. Even though it was very hot the days we visited the staff again stepped upo to the plate and in a couple of minutes a fan was brought to the room and was put on immediately so we had a cool room to get some sleep. Finding the way out of the hotel proved a little bit special as you had to go through what looked like a cupboard but was in fact the stairs down to the reception. I can’t tell you how pleasant the staffs are. Also in the hotel is an Italian restaurant that is fabulous with great service and very tasty food. Well worth a visit. There is a small arcade leading from the hotel that has a small number of shops that you can spend some money with. Parking is also available for residents at no extra cost though place are limited. A busy locals bar is also a great attraction with real ales and a good range of Lagers and bottled beers.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different though in summer it can be hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JockstarScotlandwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear 'Brian Mair',
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review, we appreciate your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you appreciated all the charm and character that our beautiful building has to offer and you recognise that our staff offered excellent customer service, this is something we pride ourselves on and as a family business we always try to excel.
We hope you have an occasion to come and stay with us again so that you can enjoy more of our hospitality.
Kind regards,
Abbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.1 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 24 High Street, Nantwich CW5 5AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel is a grade II listed building in the beautiful historic market town of Nantwich. The hotel has been a central feature of Nantwich for more than 400 years.The 3 storied building was burnt down in the fire of Nantwich in 1583, The hotel was quickly rebuilt by Queen Elizabeth 1st, with timbers from the nearby Delamere forest. The Crown Hotel now boast all the features the modern day traveller expects yet, retains many original features including an abundance of Oak beams, wattle & daub plaster walls and roaring open fires.All our 18 guest rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and Individual designed features. Diners in our Bar & Grill, which has been recently renovated, can expect cuisine of the highest quality using fresh local products and wines from around the world in a relaxed and unique setting. The Bar offers an excellent choice of ever changing real ales. We are a CAMRA real ale venue. FREE car parking and Internet connection are offered to all guests.The hotel is central for the Nantwich Jazz festival, Food & drink festival and many other local and Cheshire events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel And Casa Brasserie
Nantwich Best Western
Best Western Nantwich
The Crown Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing