We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014 stocktake overnighter”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very interesting hotel,of the period where nothing was flat or straight,service and rooms are good,but do not have a great deal to drink if you are staying at the top of the hotel,as they are very steep and small.

Excellent meal,and handily placed for our business trip,would receomend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear martyboy,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on us. It's great to see that you appreciate the period that our wonderful building comes from. We work very hard to look after it and the customers that visit us. It is not always easy with a 16th Century coaching inn that is a listed building. Also glad you enjoyed your meal. Do visit us again soon!
Kind regards,
Abbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 339 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were down in Nantwich visits Peter Wilson Auctions.
Needed somewhere local to stay . We had room 10 ,which was on the top floor overlooking the pedestrian street. Room was quirky and rather nice.
Very clean and full of history . Def would stay again. We had an evening meal in the brassiere ,which was excellent , good range of beers and very good Guinness . Staff very friendly and helpful .
Down dude was breakfast , although freshly cooked , limited choice and not good value

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Starman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Starman53,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review; it's great to see you rated us so highly as a result of a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We hope you come and visit us again if you are in town or passing through in the future.
Kind regards,
Abbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My first visit to Nantwich for 12 years. My wife and I ate at the Crown. A decent menu choice with selection of 4 tasty ales and 3 rose wines. we had fish finger sandwiches and tuna mayo sandwiches with side salads and both were extremely tasty. a very pleasant lunch and we particularly enjoyed the pianist. Both gents and ladies toilets were spotless - not always a priority in pubs. Only negative was the bar was a bit draughty and chilly but it was much warmer than outside! Would definitely return for lunch if pianist was on again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prentonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear 'Prentonian'
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and we are glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed you lunch with us. Excellent choice with the fish finger butty... it's a favourite of ours! We always try our best to offer a wide choice, so it's good to hear you felt there was a good choice of wines and ale's. Mr Wootton is excellent and is such a great asset to us, his piano playing is renowned in the town and it will be great to see you back again soon to enjoy his music. He plays on Monday evenings, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday lunchtimes.
We are sorry you felt the bar was a little drafty, we do our best to maintain the heat but sometimes with a 16th century timber building it can be difficult. Next time, give us a call and we can reserve you a table near our lovely open fire!
Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Abbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Both myself and my wife feel compelled to express our gratitude to all the staff at the crown hotel for making our wedding day the most magical day of our lives.

When we sat down with susan the manger we did not have a clue how to plan our day what food we wanted etc despite our very vague plan sue came up with all the ideas to make our day perfect and did it with ease she took all the stress off us .

On the actual day itself both sue and all her staff made our day run without a hitch despite only having a small wedding we got made to feel as if we were VIP's we had last minute changes on the day which were hadled fast and without question .

The room was also fantastic with all the character you would expect from a building dating back to the 1500's we had a very comfortable nights sleep.

Our DJ barry mills was fantastic and a really nice bloke . Also our pianist mr wooton was brilliant and broke the day up really well I would strongly recommend booking this duo for your wedding .

I cant compliment enough the Individual treament we received at the crown and strongly recommend any one booking a wedding in the near future to go and check this amazing historic building with exceptional staff out.

Please feel free to email if you have any questions .

Simon & Jessica

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank siunjessicles2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your lovely response Jessica and Simon and for taking the time to do this, we are so thrilled to hear your day was exactly what you had hoped it would be, it was a delight to produce it for you. Once again we would like to wish you congratulations and a wonderful future together. Do keep in touch and pop in and see us as we always love to see familiar faces. Fondest wishes, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Our party consisted of 30 people, we joined with other companies in the lovely decorated ballroom for the evening. The service from the staff was excellent as was the food. A great job was done by all the staff in looking after us all. The food was of the highest quality. The evenings entertainment was excellent too and we danced the night away until 1am. We would have no hesitation in going back there next year, five stars to you and your team and thanks to you all at the crown for making our Christmas party a lovely event.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hi Linda L,
Thank you for your kind comments, we are so glad to hear you and your colleagues had a wonderful evening with us at one of our Christmas Cracker Cabaret Nights. We always endeavour to provide good entertainment, food and service. I am pleased to hear we didn't fail to deliver with your party. Hope to see you back same time next year.
Kind regards,
Abbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here for years fish n chips for £10 should be something special but the last few times we have had our money back what was a large piece of haddock now is less than half the size but still £10 save your money and go the chippy .and as I said we gave them 3 chances try the thatch same price large cod and value for money we are .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigrick_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 18, 2013

Dear "Bigrick_2" thank you for posting a review. As a regular diner we are sorry that you feel you needed to do this. As you have correctly said, we have accommodated your feedback with refunds as appropriate. Our portion sizes have not reduced over recent times. If on occasion the portion size of the fish served has been slightly smaller or indifferent to previous visits, this is simply because our fish is fresh from the market and not processed to a standard size. Fish come in different sizes!
Fish and chips is the most popular dish on our daytime menu, chosen by regular's and new visitors alike. Given that we are not a fish and chip shop, that your meal is served in a warm welcoming bar area with live entertainment on certain days and friendly staff, we believe that £9.95 for fresh fish, hand cut homemade chips and mussy peas is a fair and honest price.
We do hope to see you back sometime soon, when I am sure we will be able to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This hotel doesn't disappoint with its enchanting, and in places, gravity defying timbered exterior, only to delight the senses further when you step inside and back in time to a character packed hotel with a curiously higgledy piggledy interior, inviting you to wonder and imagine what tales this building could tell. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is cooked to order and was of excellent quality. I cant wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosp-Ex, Business advisor at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear "Bugrab" thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is unique in character offering something very different from today's modern hotels. We look forward to being able to welcome back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.1 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
224 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.0 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crewe
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 24 High Street, Nantwich CW5 5AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range: $78 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel is a grade II listed building in the beautiful historic market town of Nantwich. The hotel has been a central feature of Nantwich for more than 400 years.The 3 storied building was burnt down in the fire of Nantwich in 1583, The hotel was quickly rebuilt by Queen Elizabeth 1st, with timbers from the nearby Delamere forest. The Crown Hotel now boast all the features the modern day traveller expects yet, retains many original features including an abundance of Oak beams, wattle & daub plaster walls and roaring open fires.All our 18 guest rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and Individual designed features. Diners in our Bar & Grill, which has been recently renovated, can expect cuisine of the highest quality using fresh local products and wines from around the world in a relaxed and unique setting. The Bar offers an excellent choice of ever changing real ales. We are a CAMRA real ale venue. FREE car parking and Internet connection are offered to all guests.The hotel is central for the Nantwich Jazz festival, Food & drink festival and many other local and Cheshire events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel And Casa Brasserie
Nantwich Best Western
Best Western Nantwich
The Crown Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing