We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not available tonight Sir!”

Restaurant at Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #37 of 107 Restaurants in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $95
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Built in 1816 and set in 38 acres of Cheshire countryside, Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Cheshire offers 70 luxury bedrooms and a 2 AA Rosette restaurant.Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa offers some of the finest dining experiences available in the country. From intimate dinners to mark a special occassion to larger parties we pride ourselves on the quality of our offering and the attention to detail in our service.Fine dining is at the heart of the Rookery Hall experience. In our Dining Room Restaurant we aim to offer guests the very best standard of dining and fine wines which is why we are consitently awarded 2 AA rosettes.Rookery Hall was the host and a major winner of the Nantwich Dining Out Awards 2011. The Restaurant, which holds an AA two-Rosette accreditation for excellence, came out top in the award scheme launched this year by organisers of the Nantwich Food and Drink Festival
Sheffield UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“not available tonight Sir!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

two dishes that separate members of our party ordered were not available; this happened both at dinner and breakfast!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank btheset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    24
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tackiness of the Beckhams on show ............”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My partner and I visited the Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa on the 15/09/2012 around 19:45.
The first part of the building from outside looked really attractive being of Georgian origin, but the added extension is not at all in keeping with the style of building and is poorly done, which does look awful from outside, and we saw this by the evening light, would have dreaded to see the added extension in the daylight!

We decided to go in to dine as this is what we were hoping to do having driven especially to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa. We were greeted by the lady on reception and made our way to the bar/lounge area after asking a member of staff where it was who also asked if we would be dining with them, which we stated possibly yes.
My partner ordered a small glass of Rosé with a minute dash of lemonade for me and a large glass of Rioja for himself; I had an idea the bill would be large but not the price the barman asked for the 2 drinks which was .............. £21.65 ................. Well we have both been to some really nice fine dining places but never paid so much for 2 drinks .............. No idea why they were so expensive as the Rosé was very dry as they didn't do a sweet one and the Rioja was of a medium quality, so neither extremely extravagant and certainly didn't deserve the price tag!

Having paid for our drinks we decided to sit down and then moved to another table due to the table we were sat not being very private. We looked at the menu that had been left on the table by the previous people who had gone into the dining room, nor were we offered to look at a menu by any of the staff. Having looked at the menu for over 30 minutes and no member of staff checking to see if we would like to order, we had more or less given up on ordering any food and felt like the staff couldn't be bothered as the service just wasn't there.
Finishing our drinks we decided to leave as still no member of staff had served us, nor did we want serving by then as we had waited far too long.
The lady on reception said goodbye to us as we left, the only person with any manners at all.
We went to a lovely Chinese Restaurant instead where we were served straight away as the service was second to none and the prices were much fairer, rather than having to pay through the nose at the Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa probably because they felt it correct to advertise the fact that the Beckhams' et al have visited years ago, which bears no relevance to the place and if anything lowers the tone with prices that don't equal the whole demeanour.

Perhaps if the tacky reminders of the Beckhams' et al were removed, the prices brought to a much more reasonable level, service bringing up to speed so people don't feel ignored, then the Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa may well be worth a second visit, albeit once bitten etc ................ As I do reside in Cheshire I did expect so much more, if we had wanted TOWIE we need have looked no further, alas we didn't!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AClassyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“WOW food was fab”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We ate lunch, dinner & breakfast between the hotel & the spa & can honestly say i didnt eat anything that i didnt like. For lunch we had the salmon which was cooked just right. Dinner i had beef & my aunt had the chicken both were booked just perfect with new spuds & veg & breakfast we ordered the full breakfast cooked to order along with fruit & juice.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently had sunday lunch at Rookery Hall and were quite amazed with the set menu. A good range of foods which includes vegetarian. Very nice puddings and personal service

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank baan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stayed over and used most of the facilities”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have used the Rookery Hall on a few occasions. The Spa is great and so is the fine dining. Rooms are good as well. We have also enjoyed a few New Years eve balls here.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mala N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa also viewed

Nantwich, Cheshire
Nantwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing