We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Sandhurst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sandhurst
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Middlewich
Desborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from another brilliant weekend at this hotel we just cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. From the homely feeling you receive when you enter until you leave you have the feeling that you are the only person there, nothing is to much trouble for the staff.
The food is exceptional and worthy of five stars, better than we have eaten in any London hotel.
We said goodbye to Rowena but not for long as we will be going back again as soon as we can.We do suggest that if you are in the area do go and enjoy the feeling of going back in time, and being treated like royalty, and of course sample the delights of the menu.Well done Rowena

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    33
    21
    20
    18
See reviews for
35
96
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Food excellent - credit to the chef!
Wonderful service and very relaxing atmosphere. Hostess really friendly and welcolming.
'Billy' a frequent guest at the hotel was an added bonus serving behind the bar.
One of the best meals out we have had in a while - very good value and quality.

Room Tip: Didn't stay but met a regular guest who was very complimentary.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlnantwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My mother stayed at the Sandhurst back in March for one of the Murder mystery evenings and after her visit, she highly recommended that I do the same. Me and my husband went to the murder mystery on friday just gone and what a wonderful night we had! We were greeted by some very polite young ladies, dressed in Edwardian costume and the lady of the house who was very welcoming. Our room was lovely, warm and very clean. The light bulb had gone in the bathroom but was quickly changed for our convenience, nothing was too much trouble.
The murder mystery was lots of fun and the food was "to die for"! I have not eaten so much in a long time. We enjoyed the evening so much we decided to make a long weekend of it and stay another night. The restaurant was fully booked on saturday night but the owner went out of her way reorganising tables so we could dine there and I'm so glad she did, once again the food was amazing and the service was top notch. What a weekend!!! My mother has booked for the new years party and I am just about to do the same. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked for one night but on arrival couldn't get a response to the doorbell and on phoning the number at the door got a rather unhelpful recorded message. The room was a twin at the top of the house approached by a rather steep last flight of stairs, not easy if you have a heavy case. The Edwardian theme of the house didn't penetrate to this room, which had a modern varnished wood ceiling and the same across one wall. The room looked out to the front of the house overlooking the car park and a busy main road. It was OK if you are used to the noise of traffic but intrusive if not. The TV was an old and tiny (approx 13") screen perched on a wall bracket with a set top box and a trail of wires behind. The scart lead made poor contact and the picture frequently broke up or disappeared. The good points were that the room was clean and warm. After a long drive we had hoped to eat in the restaurant but guests were advised to eat in town as a function was using the dining room that evening. As a result the car park was full when we returned and with no space reserved for guests, we had a job to park. We sampled the dining room for breakfast - a very pleasant room with stunning drape curtains in Victorian style. The full English was a good standard if you don't mind a generous dollop of baked beans. All in all we were disappointed by the Sandhurst and felt the room did not deserve a tariff of £70. It was probably more in the £50- £55 bracket.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place makes Fawlty towers look like a 5* high class operation! Bad food, improperly cooked food, rooms not cleaned unless you request it! Ordering breakfast at dinner time, and if you complain, the owners won't even entertain you, they simply book you into another hotel and throw you out. Unprofessional, unhygienic, poorly trained unhelpful staff.
A disgrace to the hotel trade, which we were in for many years.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon you thought hotel.com, and what a lovely surprise. Great place, warm, clean and comfortable. We had a fantastic meal in the evening, the costumed waitresses were great, they made you feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. breakfast was lovely, i am not a cooked breakfast nut, but it was nicely cooked and there were alternatives if thats what you wanted. Rowena was the perfect host. I hope we get the chance to stay again someday

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A huge thanks to Rowena and her efficient Edwardian dressed team at the Sandhurst Hotel for helping us pull off a fantastic party to celebrate mine and my wifes 40th birthday. A great time was had by all.

The party was of huge significance to us as a family, as our son is currently enjoying a reprive from severe and life threatening compliations from his underlying Myotonic Dystrophy. Having recently spent the best part of 6 months between Alder Hey and Great Ormond Street Hospitals, it provided us, our wider family and valued friends some very special time where we could all be together, and create some great memories!

It was very important for us to give our amazing friends and family a great party to remember too, by way of expressing our thanks and appreciation of their commitment in doing life with us, and being so supportive during difficult times.

I can only say that Rowena completely understood our requirements from the off, and gave us great advice at every stage. From the initial planning, to helping us to source and book quality entertainment which included a 3 min fireworks display and a Bagpiper (which I was particulary keen to include) to make the evening extra special. Rowena ensured everything ran to schedule including synchronising the fireworks and piper.

The hot buffet was of exceptional quality, it was really tasty and went down very well with all our guests. Unfortunately we had forgotten one of our guests had special dietary requirements, but Rowena quickly sorted the situation much to my relief!!

The Hotel was the perfect venue, we wanted somewhere a bit different, special, we really appreciated and embraced the Edardian theme which is very tastefully done. This gave us exactly the warm, welcoming and homely feel we were looking for to greet and entertain our guests. The presentation of all the rooms was really nice too, the tables were beautifully set with fresh flowers and tasteful mirror decorations to add a touch of class! The Waitresses and Rowena were not only really friendly and attentative, they were also dressed in traditional Edwardian costume which added to the individuality and charactor of the Hotel.

We also spent the night at the hotel and were really impressed by the 4 poster room. A huge wow factor room, beautiful big windows to the front making the room very bright. Immaculately clean, lovely period furniture, all the facilities you need and more (extra pillows in the wardrobe - perfect) The en-suite was also very good size and immaculately clean, the shower was great, loads of hot water and luxury towels.

Breakfast was again in the beautiful edwardian restaurant and beautifully presented, choice of fresh juices, cereals, breads, toasts, yougharts, fruit etc. The cooked breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection with local quality ingredients! We felt really spoilt, and the breakfast well and truly set us up for the day!

This place is a special gem in the heart of Cheshire and a real asset to Middlewich. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere really extra special - outstanding value too! We look forward to returing hopefully in the not too distant future!

A BIG 'THANK YOU' from all of us

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveJohnsonMacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlewich
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Middlewich
Travelodge Middlewich
#1 of 2 in Middlewich
144 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
5.7 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Hartford Hall Hotel
Hartford Hall Hotel
#3 of 3 in Northwich
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandhurst

Property: The Sandhurst
Address: 69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Middlewich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sandhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel Middlewich
The Sandhurst Middlewich, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing