We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience !!”

Middlewich Narrowboats
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wonderful experience !!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

just hired the horse chestnut for the day .what a great experience four of us travelled as a family
stopped at the badger inn (super wonderful food).the staff at middlewich narrow boats were excellent ,friendly and very helpful. Would definitely recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank diane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    21
    2
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Just had a fab week on Middletown Navigator doing the four counties ring, the weather was more than nice , very warm and dry and sunny. We went from 8th July to 15th July 2013, the week when it was very hot. The boat was very up to date. The staff were very help full upon arrival and pleasing. Would highly recomed Middlewich Narrowboats.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Boatboysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Life in the slow lane”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Five of us had a great day aboard the Horse Chestnut. Facilities on board are great, fridge freezer, tv, log burning stove (not that we needed it of course). Nice family ran business, handover was excellent and felt confident enough to take control having never driven one before. Want to come back and do a whole week, if i don't buy one to live on! Fully recommended, everyone should come and see countryside this way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slopalong Placidly”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This has to be the most relaxed weekend that i have ever had the pleasure of experiencing with my wife and our two youngest children aged 14 and 5. The holiday started as soon as we reached the boatyard, where Greg and Sue could not do enough for us. We booked the Horse Chestnut, one of the older boats, but by far the most charasmatic, the wood burner and side hatch really make it special. At around 60 ft long i was somewhat daunted at manouvering such a large vessel, but under Greg's watchful eye and expert tuition i was soon undertaking my first 3/4/5 (delete as applicable:-)) point turn and experiencing our first lock, again easy to learn. We headed north on the Trent and Mersey canal, after negotiating three locks it was a 19 mile journey to the next, a trip that i would heartily reccommend if you wish to just putt-putt along with minimum fuss. There are numerous places to moor up and eat, and would recommend The BIg Lock (about 45 mins from starting and The Stanley Arms at Anderton Boat lift, both of which offer marvellous value for money. Cap'n Dan (our 5yr old) was in his element on board. Life on the water is calm and serene, everyone we encountered either in passing or moored alongside were extremely pleasant and accommodating, with nothing being to much trouble, as for the weather, it was glorious. Cap'n Dan, now in full "Popeye" mode would stand at the bow and warn me of upcoming corners and bridges so i could sound the horn. The tunnel after the boat lift has to be experienced, dont know if there is a set protocol with regards to who has right of way, just shut your eyes and go for it, hoping the light at the end of the tunnel is not another boat coming towards you. On our way back we moored overnight at Bramble Cuttings a small wooded copse that is only accessible by boat, there are a few picnic benches and bbq pits here, but the peace and quiet makes this stop sublime. Our 14 yr old is usually hooked up to his electronic gadgets, but this was neither needed or missed on this trip as he went back to "nature" and fished. In the morning, whilst washing my cup, i was startled by a tapping on the window, looking up was eye level with a swan, eyeing up the packet of digestives on the counter, we duly fed them from the stern, an experience we will never forget. But enough of our trip and back to MIddlewich Narrow Boats. Greg and Sue have been exceptional in looking after us, they also run a little shop on the premises which has a variety of cheeses, pickles and jams to suit every palate,( we would recommend the Lemon and Lime Curd, and the mexican cheese with the chilli, not to mention the wines and prosecco..... we can personally recommend these 8-/ . For the little sailors you may take along, there are pirate hats and captain hats available, these are available in adult sizes too!! Greg and Sue are a marvellous couple, along with the staff, they are very friendly, run a very tight ship, and embrace everyone they encounter like an old friend. As greg stated to me on our return, "anyone who stops at Bramble Cuttings has got the spirit of boating". I really think i have found a new hobby. Try it. You will not be dissapointed. If it is your first time boating, as it was for me, this is definitely the place to start. Once i locate my camera i will add the pictures that were taken along the way.

The fastest way to slow down....definitely.
Thank you all

Sean & Sue Lynch

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Seanbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week aboard Ellesmere Navigator. My family and myself had a fantastic holiday and Sue and Greg could not have done more to make it such a wonderfully memorable one. The level of customer service is second to none and the facilities and quality of fixtures and fittings on our boat were excellent. We had a slight blip on our first day but to say that Greg went out of his way to fix this is something of an understatement. We would definitely not hesitate to use Middlewich Narrowboats again and wish Sue and Greg well in this venture. Many thanks, the Robinson/Marsden clan.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BandGLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middlewich Narrowboats also viewed

Middlewich, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Middlewich, Cheshire
 

Been to Middlewich Narrowboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing