We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canalside find”
Review of The Big Lock

The Big Lock
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Middlewich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Trent & Mersey canal on lock 75 The Big Lock has been refurbished in 2012 and recently reoccupied by previous tenants Ken & Jackie Pickles in Feb 2013 having run the pub Nov 2008 to June 2011.We have a bar area & snug with pool table lounge areas and a restaurant with a balcony over looking the canal with outside seating front & canal side with a function room available to hire over looking the canal. There is a large car park available for walkers and pub visitors. We are open all day every day and serve food every day all day.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Canalside find”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Approach not inspiring but doubts dispelled by nice welcome and restaurant surroundings directly overlooking the canal. Good cask beer and conventional menu supplemented by a Specials Board. All our party chose items from the Specials and were all pleased with the results. Good service by pleasant waitresses. Appreciate place is advertised as 'child friendly' but unfortunately only discordant note was struck by one family where the children were completely out of control, and allowed by their parents to be so. Would not put us off going again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    98
    38
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent home cooked buffet”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a family gathering with a buffet lunch for 30. All the food was home cooked and was very tasty. Service was excellent as well. Good selection of beer and nice location next to the canal and lock.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have had a few meals here over the years & we were not disappointed . The menu was a little different but very nice. We all had something off the 'special' board' Lovely big chunky homemade chips like they used to be!. The service was good & waitresses were very pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunny Saturday”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We went to this pub for the first time last Saturday.
We were made to feel very welcome with a cheery smile from the girl behind the till.
The pub was very pleasantly set out with a wonderful outside seating area overlooking the canal lock.
We made our choice from a very good menu, the food arrived quickly and was excellent and not too expensive.
We will certainly be going there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CreweSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good experience but take a razor”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Excellent meal ,reasonably priced,immaculate toilets Bombardier bitter superb.Great evening but an unacceptable time to wait after ordering so take a razor as you'll need a shave by the time it arrives!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffreybanwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Lock also viewed

Middlewich, Cheshire
 
Middlewich, Cheshire
 

Been to The Big Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing