We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Big Lock

The Big Lock
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Middlewich
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on the Trent & Mersey canal on lock 75 The Big Lock has been refurbished in 2012 and recently reoccupied by previous tenants Ken & Jackie Pickles in Feb 2013 having run the pub Nov 2008 to June 2011.We have a bar area & snug with pool table lounge areas and a restaurant with a balcony over looking the canal with outside seating front & canal side with a function room available to hire over looking the canal. There is a large car park available for walkers and pub visitors. We are open all day every day and serve food every day all day.
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

It's been a few years since I last visited, the revamp has definitely paid off. I'd no idea that the pub is back in the hands of the previous managers as of march after it closing in January they had run it from 2008-2011. The 2 meals we had were fantastic, it was nice to have home cooked chunky chips rather than frozen. The staff were friendly & attentive. All in all a very pleasant & relaxing Sunday evening. I can honestly say I'm looking forward to my next visit after all I have to try the sticky toffee pudding that was highly recommend to us, we wanted something lighter tonight so had the cheesecake of the week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    94
    35
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
My heart belongs to Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A waterside treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

While it's obviously been refurbished recently and has been done so in a modern fashion, it still retains plenty of charm and is very comfortable and inviting. We didn't want to leave and thought it to be a gem of a place that's kind of off the beaten track.

We were in Middlewich staying overnight prior to visiting Oulton Park the following day for a round of the British Superbike Championship, and after checking in to our hotel, we went for a walk. After walking through Middlewich (blink and you'll miss it), we ended up walking a good length of the canal towpath watching the locks working and the narrowboats passing through them and were enjoying the atmosphere of the place when we stumbled across (well, it's so big it hits you in the face) The Big Lock pub. After a flippant "shall we have a drink", to which the wife agreed, we found ourselves alone on the outside terrace (it was still chilly, despite being a spring day) watching the big lock below us being traversed by several narrowboats while enjoying very tasty real ale (Adnams Southwold Bitter) and Malibu and Coke (not me, obviously!). After a couple more, we realised time was well advanced and rather than return to the hotel, get changed and struggle to be bothered to out again for something to eat, we decided to order from what looked like a very nice menu and imbibe some more lovely drinkies (you know how it gets you!). So we ordered a gammon for her and a chicken breast burger for me. We weren't disappointed, the gammon was enormous and the burger was an entire breast, spiced in a fresh bun, and both had incredible fat chips and fresh, crunchy salad. Bargain. I think the whole afternoon cost less than £40, in cluding all the drinks and a tip for the lovely friendly staff.

All in all, a bit squiffy, stuffed full of cracking food, nice atmosphere, lovely staff and time spent on both the front and back terraces, one with a view but in shade and one in warm sunshine but without a view as such, and a very pleasant afternoon was spent. We ended up back in the hotel with a bottle of vino and Britains Got Talent and had a cracking day the following day at the Superbikes. Great weekend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carlosthejackal666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good pub food that warrants local support!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Been in here a few times since it re-opened and the only thing missing on occasion is customers!! Good pub food, value for money, friendly staff and excellent service!! Will recommend to my friends :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nat5140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday night at the Big Lock - recently under new management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Really nice to see this pub on the up and up! Been a regular for some time, food is was well prepared, tasty and great value for money. The new management is pleasant and receptive to ideas and feedback. Definitely worth a try if you have not been for some time or your looking for a great canal pub!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Willjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just the place for a canal stopover!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good food, good beer, friendly landlord and landlady, staff all seemed happy to oblige as well.
Evidently just been taken back over by the previous landlord and landlady,they certainly seemed to know their stuff.
Nice spot right by the lock.

Recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Lock also viewed

Middlewich, Cheshire
 
Middlewich, Cheshire
 

Been to The Big Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing