We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely interior - will go back - ignore bad reviews they talk rubbish”
Review of The Big Lock

The Big Lock
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Middlewich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Trent & Mersey canal on lock 75 The Big Lock has been refurbished in 2012 and recently reoccupied by previous tenants Ken & Jackie Pickles in Feb 2013 having run the pub Nov 2008 to June 2011.We have a bar area & snug with pool table lounge areas and a restaurant with a balcony over looking the canal with outside seating front & canal side with a function room available to hire over looking the canal. There is a large car park available for walkers and pub visitors. We are open all day every day and serve food every day all day.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I recently visited with my parents, what a lovely job the new owners have done. Great Food, staff a very helpful and smiling, nothing is too much trouble. See you at the Folk and Boat Festival.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lewis380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 313 of 315 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

Following the hype of renovation and new chef was really looking forward to our re-visit from last summer. Oophs, bad mistake. We went for Wednesday tea with our grandchildren. Won't do it again. Chips were not chips but wedges and on the dark side of brown. Vegetables were cold and the children's meals, nuggets, were to say the least well cooked. I diid email the pub regarding my complaints but no response was forthcoming. Hence, this posting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ropesite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Big Lock is located alongside one of the canals in Middlewich, it is a dream summer location for any traditional pub - restaurant. It has undergone a massive rework that must have cost a fortune to get it to its new standard. It is spotlessly clean and bright and the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. The menu has something for everyone and it is competitively priced. There was enough of us to order a cross section of mains and puds. I think all of us considered the food to be very tasty and well presented, The home made pie pastry had a shortcrust top that was overworked and hard the consensus of opinion was that puff pastry would have worked better. The real ales need work, both ales were quite vinegary and dull, it could be lack of throughput.
This establishment is nearly there and is value for money and clean. And the staff clearly want it to work, with a few constructive alterations this place will be superb. This place needs bums on seats to get it through the winter and it deserves to succeed. We will return. [our party had 2 chefs of long standing 2 pub landlords and a bunch of serious foodies].

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank quatermass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Visited the recently refurbished pub down by the canal and can say it was good to see it looking fresh, clean and ready to attract both the local clientele and the passing narrowboat
trade. Polished floor, new furnishings and new outdoor seating all look great. The menu is a mix of traditional favorites and dishes with a modern twist and prices are fairly average for the dishes on offer. However I do suspect The Big Lock will miss out on locals returning if they are just looking for a quick sandwich lunch as their is a bit of a lack of choice in that department in the £4-£5 price range. The food we had was very tasty indeed and we will be back sometime but maybe not as soon or as often as we would if their was a few choices in this price range. Overall it's good to see new life being
injected to this Middlewich landmark and I wish them ever success.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank love2eat_cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Went for lunch midweek and we were confronted with an empty, cold dining area. I agree the signs were there and we should have left but we didn't.

As we sat there, still wrapped up in our winter coats I noticed a large rupture in one of the walls which did little to add to the ambience.

Finally my "Home made" steak pie arrived which was simply some heated up meat in gray with a pastry topper placed on top. Neither home made or indeed a pie.

Surely repeat business is still important to a pub restaurant. By cutting corners you guarantee punters never come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chrisf17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Lock also viewed

Middlewich, Cheshire
 
Middlewich, Cheshire
 

Been to The Big Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing