We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Hudsons Restaurant

Hudsons Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 23 Restaurants in Middlewich
Price range: $45 - $64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pull up at Middlewich’s Sandhurst Hotel, home of Hudson’s Restaurant, and you could be mistaken for thinking you’ve been invited to a middle class dinner party. With little signage, no neon lights and the very pleasant facade of an Edwardian family home, this is a million miles from your average hotel or restaurant. Inside the homely feel continues with plush carpeting and curtains, Chesterfield sofas in the bar and not-too-ostentatious chandeliers overhead. Only the Edwardian costumed waiting staff give the game away. The menu continues the ruse, true British ingredients make up hearty meals, but the dishes have something of an edge over your average suburban dinner party.
Plumley
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Went to Hudsons last night on a travelzoo voucher. Excellent value. The service was impeccable lovely tables in a nice old fashioned setting. We had the five course sharing platter of Roast Belly Pork which was lovely except the vegetables could have been nicer they were all hard The desserts of Creme Brule and crumble were fantastic

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RClegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Travel zoo deal”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went to Hudsons @ the Sandhurst on a Travel Zoo deal.
What an amazing place and you are treated like one of the family. We had a sharing platter, which was nicely cooked and lots of it ( you will never leave hungry )
The owner was in Edwardian costume. Our waiter for the evening was also in Edwardian attire and was the perfect gentleman, serving each course perfectly and bowing before leaving our table.
If you can get to Hudsons then you are in for a treat.
10/10 for service, good food, cleanliness and of course sheer quirkiness!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Lovely Evening - will return again”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a lovely evening - great setting and excellent food. A hidden gem in Cheshire. The staff were very friendly and the owner most attentive. We'd recommend Hudsons Restaurant to anyone but especially if you want to experience really good food in an unusual setting

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Supberb dining experience”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband & I visited this place on Saturday evening on a travel zoo voucher. What a fantastic place!! From the moment you walk through the door it was like we'd been transported back in time. The service and food were exemplary & we will definitely be dining there again. We thoroughly recommend you dine at Hudsons.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodyfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Simplye something special!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

When I find something this special, I feel inclined to keep it to myself! :) We took the Travelzoo offer and feel sorry that we haven't made a visit here before now, given that we are local and it has been here for 7 years!! What a find... lovely welcome, excellent menu, stunning food and the atmosphere was warm and enjoyable. Linen tablecloths, candelabra and silverware, together with mop capped waitresses just add to the ambience. Not a spare seat this Saturday and given the quality of the food, I'm not surprised. The whole 'Edwardian' theme is charming, the staff playing their part, you are transported to a time when dining was a real social event. Can't wait to book our next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudsons Restaurant also viewed

Middlewich, Cheshire
 
Middlewich, Cheshire
 

Been to Hudsons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing