We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Restaurant”
Review of Hudsons Restaurant

Hudsons Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 23 Restaurants in Middlewich
Price range: $45 - $64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pull up at Middlewich’s Sandhurst Hotel, home of Hudson’s Restaurant, and you could be mistaken for thinking you’ve been invited to a middle class dinner party. With little signage, no neon lights and the very pleasant facade of an Edwardian family home, this is a million miles from your average hotel or restaurant. Inside the homely feel continues with plush carpeting and curtains, Chesterfield sofas in the bar and not-too-ostentatious chandeliers overhead. Only the Edwardian costumed waiting staff give the game away. The menu continues the ruse, true British ingredients make up hearty meals, but the dishes have something of an edge over your average suburban dinner party.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A great place to eat and be merry at very reasonable prices. Great atmosphere with some nice local ales on tap.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank william820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We loved the choice of menu (a la carte and Autumn Fayre) - and what we each had was delicious. Also the decor of the room in Edwardian style, the ladies serving in costume with impecable manners.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 427ccfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Sadly only OK”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Food was very dissapointing (not seasoned enough, off cabbage which was revolting) and although the waitresses are good we were defintely forgotten about towards the end of our meal (never offered coffee). Nice dining room though. Feel sorry for the waitresses having to wear Edwardian dress in the height of summer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzy0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Meal mediocre but overbearing employee/owner ( ??) chatted to us like long lost friends which was lovely but we really wanted to eat our meal ! Unfortunately not a positive experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerDec2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLANT”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Thank you very much for a wonderful night on Saturday the meal my wife and i had was 5 star
also the 2 young waitress were a credit to your hotel
can;t wait to come back

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireAidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudsons Restaurant also viewed

 
Middlewich, Cheshire
Marton, Cheshire
 
Middlewich, Cheshire
 

Been to Hudsons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing