We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good party venue”
Review of Cranage Hall

Cranage Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good party venue”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have been to this venue many times for parties both in upstairs and downstairs function areas. The buffet food provided is of a good standard and the staff and friendly.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nwichsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    35
    27
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Carnage Hall”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I virtually never complain, but have to write this, my worst dining experience in Britain for 20 years. The staff were OK, although more concerned about the events and conferences delegates than hotel guests. Dinner was dire. I ordered mint risotto (the only veggie main option). It came quite quickly (so couldn't be a proper risotto), was luke warm and tasted foul. It was late and I was tired and hungry so ate it anyway. Wish I hadnt as it left me feeling not so good.
Note that they have late conference activities in the bar, and the delegates can be noisy. I was on the ground floor and did not get to sleep til nearly 2am with noise. With a 6am start I would have had more rest staying at home and driving up in the morning!
Breakfast was OK, and the acres of grounds are fabulous.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DinoKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Carnage Hall”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Had a fixed corporate menu and was staggered at how bad it was. The service was ok to be fair but the food was simply attrocious. Pumpkin soup all 1 cm deep of it was errr soup , people grabbing extra bread because it was so woeful a serving. The main transpired to be a chicken breast affair with a token gesture veg offering, and the sweet ( well mine anyhow) consisted of 3 blueberries in a 3 inch small bowl covered with i kid you not, tinned custard ( this was the considered opinion of about 5 of my nearest diners .... the rest of the deserts had the blueberries but a different white flavourless concoction.. I was assured by the waitress mine was different because it was "made specially " as they had ran out of the initial stuff....... Simply mind boggling , and it was paid for ... never again.. has Holmes Chapel got a McD`s?

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVEnALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Looked good as usual , however be warned they have 1200 gym members and a tiny gym so if you think you'll get a workout after or before a hard day, which is the only reason I chose to stay here for a week on business, seriously think again, pool was ok though. Having twice tried to get on a resistance machine and failed, too packed ,I thought I'd use the website mentioned running track, to be told "yea mate go to the entrance turn left and run down the road and back" To be fair this was not the usual happy helpful chap usually on the desk? Possibly the final worst part was being charged an eye watering £7.50 for a glass of wine.Which when in a hotel all week is extremely annoying as you feel confined to your room or oblige to this rip off to break the cabin fever. I was also told that food was part of my booking , now ok a joint communication problem as I assumed that meant my company had done a deal where dinner was included, not the case they just charge the extortionate rates to your boss and you have to explain the £15 wine bill (2 glasses of wine) £4 for table water ( I managed to stop that one) and £4 expresso, when i thought that as it was a deal i could have a starter, main, pudding a considerable explanation is how my boss saw the final bill, which I agreed with, fine dining it wasn't, the mussels were full of grit ( use a sieve?) the pudding seemed of the frozen kind? . To continue, no phone coverage in the hotel!! I had a dongle to connect to my work servers which I couldn't use all week , orange network ,and struggled to make calls on my three mobile. Not what you would expect from a 'businness' hotel which is how it seems to make its trade. Plus side I did eat a delicious fish main beautifully cooked, breakfast ok and handy man very helpful as I'd had a car accident on the way up there.room comfortable and clean and nice size to work in. Verdict stay for a night if your at a conference there, but eat at the George and dragon down the road

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Very tasty, very good value and a good variety on the menu.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank RallyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranage Hall also viewed

 
Twemlow Green, Holmes Chapel
Holmes Chapel, Cheshire
 

Been to Cranage Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing