We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but couple of quibbles!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
NorthEast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice but couple of quibbles!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at the Hallmark Hotel over the August Bank Holiday weekend and took advantage of the spa break offer which offered a massage or facial, double room, Tapas between 5-7pm, 3 course dinner in the evening and breakfast the next morning.

We found the hotel no problem and there was plenty of parking which was great. We checked in early which was no problem as our room was ready. The hotel has been refurbished but it is in real need of new lifts, the one we used to the 4th floor was old fashioned with a pull shut door and you can't fit more than 2 people in to it at once which seems rather crazy for a large hotel, also is someone gets out on their floor and does not shut the lift door properly it will not move so a few times we ended up going up the stairs as the lift was stuck between floors due to people not closing the door properly....a minor quibble really but something that should be mentioned, especially if anyone with limited mobility is going to stay at the hotel.

Our room was lovely, decent sixed bed, nice bathroom with shower and bath and the TV was very nice with a good selection of channels, nice little extras with the toiletries, shortbread etc, one thing which surprised us was that our bedroom window was single glazed and our room was at the back of the hotel and we looked out on to what we assumed were either the kitchens or something as there was very loud (with the window open) and constant ventilation, so we immediately shut the window to shut the sound out, it didn't shut it out completely though so we were a little apprehensive but had too much to get on with to worry about it.

We went for our massages which were within a room in the hotel which was quite enjoyable. We headed out to the Trafford Centre to go shopping for a few hours, as you can only have the tapas which are included in the offer we booked between 5-7pm we decided to miss them as our evening meal was around 8pm and we wouldn't be hungry for then if we ate tapas, maybe the deal would be better if you could choose to have tapas between 12-5pm and then that would leave time to be hungry for an evening meal??

Our evening meal was fabulous, the staff in the restaurant were fantastic and attentive, the food was amazing and we left with very full bellies, even though our meal was included in our rate the prices on the menu were still very reasonable, so if we stayed again and didn't have a meal included we would certainly consider staying within the hotel for our evening meal.

We went back to our room to relax and have a couple of drinks, we watched a movie and sadly the noise from the ventilation outside was a bit of a pain, even with the window and curtain closed, luckily we were both really tired after a long day so we nodded off with no problems but I can imagine for a lighter sleeper that it might be a bit of a problem. On waking the next morning the ventilation was still going outside and we woke before 9am so if you want a lie in maybe ear plugs are a must or ask for a room not on the back of the building on the 4th floor.

All in all we have a very pleasant stay, just 2 minor quibbles, the lifts, the single glazed bedroom window in our room and the noise from the ventilation, none of these were bad enough for us to ask to move rooms as we hate doing so unless things are really bad but we feel it is important other potential guests should know about them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eemo2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    369
    304
    160
    143
See reviews for
212
516
35
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed here for our 2 yer weddign anniversary after getting a fab deal through slimming world. Rooms very modern and comfy, yes it was a little warm but it was 20 degrees outside. Food in brasserie was deliciious, fabulous quality and sooooo tasty. Drinks were a little expensive but thats to be expected. Breakfast was lovely. Overall a fab stay

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chezza54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed here for one night before travelling on holiday from Manchester airport. From the outside the hotel is a little 'retro' but once inside it can only be described as fantastic. The whole of the hotel is clean, modern, well furnished, pool and other fitness / gym equip, friendly very helpful staff & good size rooms which are very nice. We parked the car FOC for 2 weeks and only £5 a night for the 3rd. To top it all off you don't need to hang around waiting to share a minibus the hotel provides a complimentary taxi to the airport at a time that suits you. If and when we travel from Manchester again I will not stop anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank demesne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

We found the hotel on the internet looked on trip advisor at the reviews and decided to go for one night on the 31st july and so glad we did. On arrival, the reception was clean and tidy, The restrant was fantastic, the food was out of this world, (compliments to the chef) My husband and I both left full and very satisfied. The waiter and waitress could not do enough for us, it was lovely. The rooms were spotless. the bathroom was massive also clean, Our room didnt have a hair dryer in, I called reception and with in 5 minuets i had one sent up no questions asked, We booked in for a massage which was great the, it was so relaxing, The leisure facilties were nice and peaceful. The location is good was close to the trafford centre,
We loved every thing about our stay at the hallmark, so much that im hopeing to to go back for my birthday with family this time. I can not think of anything i did not like about the hotel. just thanks for making it a fantastic stay

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineriddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed one night at this hotel as part of the park and fly deal and all i can say is it was definetly worth the money and made a stress free start to our holiday.
The taxi that took us and picked us up was on time, so no long wait for a bus after your long flight and he also dropped us right next to our car and waited for us to start the car (just in case)
The food is expensive but we went across the road to the family pub which does the 2 for £10 offer on meals, it also had an indoor and outdoor play area for kids which is fab to get all that excess energy out of the little ones before returning to your room.
I think this Hotel offers a great deal for park and fly and would reccomend them entirley.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovecaneries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed here for one night prior to flying off on holiday. We left our car at the hotel whilst we were away. Our room was perfectly fine with all the usual facilities however the hotel seems incredibly hot inside. No air conditioning. We slept with the window wide open all night. We had a walk around the grounds and there is an annex which seems very run down and neglected from the outside at the side which we think was a gym/health club but the main hotel was quite neat and tidy. We did not eat here so cannot comment on the food. The transfer to the airport (included in the price) was very efficient and by taxi. It only took about 10 minutes. However, when we returned and phoned the relevant number there was "no booking in the system" which is not what you want to hear after a very long transatlantic flight. However a taxi was sent straight away and the hotel was very apologetic so full marks to them. All in all we had a good experience, it was good value and we would consider using the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Stayed at hotel for a 2 day spa break with friends for a hen weekend. The hotel doesnt look much from the outside but all that changes once you are inside. Rooms were of a high standard, we had exexutive rooms with bathrobes, slippers and a free bottle of wine. The staff accomodated all our needs, even when splitting the room bill 3 ways. We made full use of the pool and gym and had treatments in the spa. As we were on a hen weekend I rang the hotel in advance to see if we could "dress" a table for dinner - they couldnt be more helpful. We had a three course meal in the restaurant on the saturday night and the food was gorgeous (I had trio of smoked salmon, chicken wellington and cheese and crackers) and the staff were very attentive - a special thanks to Lucy in the restaurant. We travelled into Wimslow one night (hotel sorted out taxis for us) which was only a mile to two down the road where there are a few nice bars restaurants. My only minor complaint would be that the bedroom were a little hot and stuffy but other than that I have no complaints and wouldnt hesitate to recommend or go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debyb2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Handforth
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
3.4 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Address: Stanley Road, Handforth SK9 3LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in leafy grounds Hallmark Hotel Manchester is a comfortable , well presented four star property with a great selection of facilities for guests . Boutique style decoration, relaxing public areas and well appointed rooms. Guest can enjoy use of the health club & spa and complimentary car parking for there stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Handforth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing