We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome, warm, clean and great breakfast!”
Review of Woodcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodcote Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on here and we're not disappointed. We were in room 5 on the top floor, which was quite small, but spotlessly clean and has a shower ensuite. The bed was comfortable, room warm, location quiet. We had tea and scones in the afternoon, which were homemade, and delivered warm, a nice touch. Breakfast was lovely, 3 choices of juice, dried fruits, yogurts, grapefruit, cereal, plus the usual cooked offerings, except the bacon and sausage were very high quality. Service throughout our stay was superb, and would recommend anyone stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 287 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We received a very warm welcome throughout our stay,the room was clean and modern,and we enjoyed the fact that the room was seperate to the hotel..we enjoyed our breakfast and evening meal in the newly decorated dining room,overall a great value overnightstay..

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Booked in for one night and extended it to two. Very nice hotel and very pleasant, helpful staff. The room was lovely with a very good en-suite. Eat in the restaurant and the food was excellent and whiled away a rainy afternoon in the bar with some quality drinks. The staff were wonderfull and nothing was too much to help. Will be going back again soon. Highly recomended.

Room Tip: just talk to the staff and they will help with your particular needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I need to stay in this area 2 nights per week with work and have been looking for a comfy friendly place to stay. I think I have found it!

The single room was warm and comfortable with a great ensuite bathroom. Quiet nights sleep. Owner is charming . I have booked in for tomorrow!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Hilary3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here with our friends one w/end.Cannot really add to what has already been said by other travellers,Very clean Hotel,food was all home cooked and well presented,Staff were very friendly and polite at all times,Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jono-wales123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent small, friendly, family-run hotel in an excellent location for travel around the Wirral and beyond. My room was clean, comfortable and very nicely decorated with some nice individual touches. In a little annexe at the back with a lovely view of the walled garden. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in their guests and making sure they have a good stay. Fabulous breakfast with plenty of real coffee. I hope to have more family events where my Mum and Dad can't put me up so I've an excuse to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon_McG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We would like to thank the lovely friendly staff at the Woodcote Hotel for making our first visit to the area very special. We enjoyed everything about the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very clean and comfortable. During breakfast on the Friday morning my husband reported that the shower tray in the en-suite bathroom was leaking onto the floor. Straight away they upgraded to the Boudoir suite which was very large and plush. We ate in the hotel for breakfast and evening meals which were excellent and good value for money. The hotel is conveniently situation for visiting Chester which has a very good park and ride and for catching the train into Liverpool. We would definitely stay in this hotel again. Thank you once again for making our first visit very special. Lynn and Christopher Simkin

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simkin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.6 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
520 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcote Hotel

Address: 3 Hooton Road | Hooton, Ellesmere Port CH66 1QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range: $84 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodcote Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodcote Hotel Ellesmere Port, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing