We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,131)
Filter reviews
1,131 results
Traveler rating
592
391
101
24
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
592
391
101
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat museum canal basin chester zoo feed the ducks two double beds swimming pool blue planet aquarium retail therapy kids eat free designer outlet separate building min drive breakfast staff lovely setting retail park leisure centre stayed here for one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,131 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We attended our nephew’s wedding yesterday here and everything was perfectly planned. The dinner and buffet were delicious and staff so friendly and obliging.

We got the room we requested and early and late check ins free of charge. Better than some 4/5 star hotels we’ve stayed in.

Special thanks to the super breakfast staff which finished off a great stay and we would definitely recommend.

Thank you

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 84mtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019 via mobile

turned up at the hotel which was located by the river lovely views very small carpark but have been informed that there is an overflow carpark so just look for it!
the gentlemen receptionist was very nice and polite
the room was clean and very modern
bed was very comfortable and the pillows were comfortable too
the lounge was very clean and tidy the views were lovely of the river
food was very tasty I had the risotto tasted very nice
slept well very comfortable nights sleep
went down for breakfast the breakfast are all the same at holiday inns but still tasty and hot
staff very polite and friendly at breakfast
the lady on reception when leaving was polite
great stay

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Louise362007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019 via mobile

Don’t usually review hotels, but I though this hotel deserved it. We stayed a couple of weeks ago for a visit to Chester Zoo with my family, and friends who also had a child. The hotel was in a lovely setting and all rooms had just been refurbished to a high standard. The staff were brilliant from the start and made our stay very comfortable. They were great with our children (age 2,5 and 12). We ate in the restaurant on the evening, the food was lovely the kids all ate free which was a bonus, and to top it off the staff provided the kids with a goodie bag following an in house treasure hunt. We used the swimming pool free of charge which was lovely. The beds were comfy and clean. The breakfast in the morning was faultless and again service throughout was helpful and friendly. Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank FifiDons33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

We stayed here as a family over the bank holiday. It's a great hotel with a pool. The location is lovely over looking the canal. Its 7 miles from Chester and about 4 miles from the zoo. The staff are amazing so friendly and helpful. They all seemed local folk so gave us advice on the area. Will definitely be back, it's a lovely hotel.

Room tip: Rooms 320 and 322 good rooms
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

We literally just needed somewhere nearby the zoo & cheshire oaks to stay, so this place was a great choice.

Besides the great location for our plans, there was the bonus of a swimming pool, and a lovely dining room by the water, surrounded by ducks, swans & canal boats.
The real bonus though was the entire staff team at this hotel.
Everyone, but particularly the breakfast staff.

They were so lovely, we made sure we got their names: Josie, Debby & Denise were all absolutely adorable .

They are literally staff goals. They take customer service to the next level. Real sweethearts.

We’d definitely stay here again.

Ps. The breakfast was brilliant too

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank phoebec512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews