We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, shame about the pool for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel, shame about the pool for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our twin 1 year old boys. The staff from the desk to the restaurant and chamber maids were all excellent. They were friendly, helpful and attentive. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed our meals. The room was spacious and clean.

If you don't have children or don't want to swim with them then I would highly recommend the hotel.

It is close to both Chester centre and Cheshire Oaks Designer Shopping Village so great if you want to shop or have a nice historic walk.

Info for families:

Cots were free and made up like mini beds which was a lovely touch.

We chose the hotel so we could take the opportunity to swim with our children. The experience was extremely stressful though. The staff were as helpful and accommodating as they could be but the facilities were poor for us. There were no family changing facilities. The changing room for females was communal and there was a wall mounted change table several metres away from the benches and lockers and toilets. I therefore had to strap my son to the table whilst trying to change in the sink area which was difficult especially trying to get dried. We ended up undressing the boys in the reception area and drying and dressing them in the pool area. We then had to try and hold both boys whilst the other adult went to get dried and dressed.
Another customer commented on how difficult it was for families and said she had been there for several days and seen the same issues arise with lots of other people.
The pool itself was fine and our boys enjoyed their time in the water with us.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mom-dad-twin-boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    320
    81
    19
    17
See reviews for
310
236
19
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for a night in March with our two year old daughter while visiting family nearby. We found the hotel was well sign-posted, had plenty of good parking, and the lady on reception greeted us with a very friendly and professional welcome. The room was spotless, beds and pillows very comfortable, and we had a peaceful and undisturbed night's sleep.

We used the swimming pool, which was very clean and warm, and the leisure centre staff were also friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was fantastic. A lovely table overlooking the canel with a buffet-style breakfast including everything from cornflakes, to fresh fruit to full English. While we were staying, kids ate free in the restaurant both at night and for breakfast. My two year old had a ball!

Hotel staff were friendly throughout our stay and everything was clean and modern. Would highly recommend. Travelling with a toddler is sometimes hard, and some hotels don't particularly seem to welcome them, but this one did. Would definitely stay again. Top marks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldilocksCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed three times in this wonderful Hotel, each time as part of a Lions Charter Dinner Evening, and on each visit have been delighted with the very high standard that this Hotel achieves. Our rooms have always been extremely clean and comfortable, with everything included to make the stay memorable. Although we normally book a standard room for our stay, it has always been exceptionally pleasant, and fortunately we have always been allocated a room with a good view of the canal basin. There is a huge amount of canal history attached to this area, which comprises among other things, the National Waterways Museum and the Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlets, ( for that extra bit of retail Therapy ). Back to the Hotel, the staff as ever are always friendly and attentive, and although the drinks at the bar are a little pricey, they compare favourably with similar standard hotels. The location is very quiet and peaceful, the silence only broken by the pleasant, ( to my ears ), puttering f canal boat engines, and the squabbling of ducks. We did notice a fair variety of water fowl, which added to the enjoyment of our stay. The breakfast is magnificent, beautifully cooked, with a wide choice, and as much as you want. incidentally, we had a twin bedded room, each bed the size of a double.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you particularly require a superior room, the standard rooms are more than adequate. We found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our room was very clean and spacious, and the service very attentive. We could not use the swimming pool because they messed up the closing times but I complained and we were given a free breakfast in compensation, which was a nice touch. The location is great and we had a nice view of the canal below (though the air con was a bit noisy). We stayed for just one night but will come back.

Room Tip: A/C a bit noisy in level 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeronWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stay regularly on business trips, great place. Tucked away in a quiet haven next to the historic canal. Location is great.

Staff very friendly and service is terrific.

Breakfast is plentiful and rooms are clean and tidy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tywitops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

stayed in room 319 last weekend. valance on bed badly torn. none of the table lamps worked. windows mouldy with peeling paint. no safe or fridge available. disappointing for a holiday inn which I use regularly on business trips.

Room Tip: ask for non connecting room as noise travels through door easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaz2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes77, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Yaz2008

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in room 319. I have taken on board your commnets and passed them on to the team to action.

Many thanks for staying with us and I do hope to see you in the future again.

Paul Borg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

When we arrived at the Holiday Inn, we were pleasantly surprised by its location. Considering just a couple of miles away the town is pretty run down, arriving at the Holiday Inn is like being somewhere else! It's situated upon the lovely canal basin and is presented well.

We were welcomed by friendly staff on the front desk who checked us in efficiently, booked us a taxi and the gentleman even let me borrow his mobile phone charger when my phone had ran out so that I could stay in contact with my daughter :)

Our room was very comfortable and clean and any staff that we passed were always friendly. Only a slight word of warning if you plan a lie in; we were up getting ready from 8am as we needed to check out early, and the cleaners were outside our room and on the corridor chatting away. They weren't rude at all but the noise made us check through the spy hole to see what was going on. A I said we were up anyway, but breakfast was being served up until 11 am so if we'd have wanted a lie in, we wouldn't have got one.

Breakfast was £10 extra for us as we'd booked on a room only basis, I felt this was a bit steep but when we dined I understood the price. Tea or coffee is served, and self serve selections of cereal, fruit, toast, pastries, yogurt, full English and fruit juice and I noticed people returning for seconds! The staff in the restaurant were friendly despite being rushed off their feet.

Overall, yet another successful stay at a Holiday Inn.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SARAH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes77, Owner at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sarah G

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am very pleased that you found the team freindly. I am sorry that our House keeping team where a bit noisy outside your room and we will take this on board and fix the issue. I was also gald to read that you enjoyed our full English breakfast which is one of our star peformers at the hotel.

I do hope that I have the chance to meet you next time you choose to stay with us.

Thanks
Paul Borg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
2.9 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
6.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Property: Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Address: Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, whether for leisure weekends in the Chester area or that business trip or conference to the North West. The hotel is delightfully situated on the tranquil and attractive Wirral peninsula near the historic river Mersey waterfront, adjacent to the award winning National Boat Museum, with immediate access to both historic City of Chester or across the River Mersey to Liverpool. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is only 30 minutes away, Manchester International Airport only 40 minutes away and with a P&O fast ferry service to Ireland available in Liverpool, the hotel is the most central position to explore the whole of the North West of England. All 83 luxuriously air conditioned bedrooms with HSIA connections have splendid views of the surrounding locks and canal waterways. Our Leisure club includes indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun shower and gymnasium. The hotel is near to Royal Liverpool Golf Cub, Chester Race Course, Blue Planet Aquarium, Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village & Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Hotel Ellesmere Port
Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing