We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearer pricing when booking please”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

After searching for best rates including breakfast we booked this hotel for an adult and child (14) through the hotel website. A child was classed as up to 16 when booking.

On arrival we were told we needed to pay an extra £10 for sons breakfast as he was not a child. This is despite the website classing child as 16 and under. Funnily the swimming pool said he was a child so couldn't swim after 8pm. Get it together please Holiday Inn.

The hotel was just ok. Our room wasn't ready until after 2.30 despite check in being at 2. Slightly shabby and smelt of disinfectant. The leisure centre was very shabby with locker doors falling off hinges and a horrible mouldy ceiling. The breakfast was good but cost us an extra tender we had not budgeted for.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank torchy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear torchy2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and for inconvenience the confusion in rate pricing may have caused. I have taken note your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 921 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Enjoyed 2 night stay in February. Staff very helpful, room was clean & comfortable. We had a dip in the pool, which was warm,also had a gym which was popular. Restaurant served a ggod breakfast, plenty of choice, didnt have an evening meal as we'd already eaten, places to eat in Ellesmere port. A great hotel for driving to Cheshire Oaks, Chester & nearby Zoo.
Some bargains in Cheshire Oaks, but a greater variety of shops in Chester. We had a fab day at Chester Zoo, well worth the money it opened at 10 & we left at 4.30 closing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melchie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for a family function. Not a great hotel. Rooms were tired looking and a bit on the small side. Bar prices were too expensive. The food wasn't great. So just an average hotel with average food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Karol C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room being dated and food selection. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as a half term mini break to take in chester zoo (excellent).

As many reviews have said the staff are down to earth, yet very friendly and keen to help. We got an excellent B&B rate and nice to see platinum status acknowledged with a nice upgrade to the hotel's only suite. As we had both young kids with us (2/5) the extra room for the sofa bed made a real difference.

Dined in both nights and found the set 3 course table d'hôtel menu to be excellent value for £17.95. Best yet was that our girls received a free 3 course meal each as well, which, unlike many kids meals, was well thought out, tasty and very nicely presented. Best we've seen.

Added to this the fact there is a wee, well heated pool, again with friendly staff, towels and floats provided we went swimming every day and, thanks to an 11am check out even the morning of check out.

Freeview telly meant cbeebies was on tap when needed though the hotel has some nice touches for half term including colouring kits on requeat and free use of a wii machine, take note centre parcs!

About 7 miles from chester zoo and 3 from Cheshire oaks, the hotel has a great location.

If back visiting the zoo, we'd be unlikely to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClanClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We last stayed in this hotel in October 2011 and it was a bit of a disaster for a number of reasons. We are pleased that, having given the hotel another chance our last stay 2nd February 2013 was very very good. The thing that struck us the most was the improvement in the front of house staff - the gentleman who met us as we checked in was a real people person. Similarly the young lady who served us drinks and the staff in the restaurant were very professional and like a finely tuned engine! Customer service this time was faultless so well done!
The room was nice - nothing blew up and the heating worked- and it was so quiet that we wondered if anyone else was in the hotel. The view from the room was lovely.
We had a meal in the restaurant and, though it was not as good as what we normally have at Chester West Holiday Inn it was good (though somewhat pricey for a steak at almost £20)
All in all a much better stay and we will definitely return now and hope to see the hotel in the Spring months when we can eat our evening meal and actually make the most of this lovely location.
The only thing that let the hotel down was that I found the restaurant quite cool during the evening. It is quite open plan and near to the front door so am not sure what they can do about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, quiet room at the rear
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Presto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Having stayed here several times now I still get surprised every time. The FOH manager commented on the fact I hadnt stayed here for a while. But I had n business to attend in this area hence me not staying here. The hotel offers everything I require from a hotel when I am working away. Plenty of parking, no charge which is unusual these days. Rooms are clean and comfy. Restaurant does a good breakfast. And most important the staff are friendly and smile a lot. The reception always try to find me an upgrade as I am a Platinum member of their loyalty programme. Well worth signing up for. The only question I ask myself is would I stay here for a weekend break? May be not but that is me and dont let what I think put you off. It is near Cheshire Oaks Outlet. Well worth a visit. And I will keep coming back here if and when I am in the area for business

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel7674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here with the children for a long weekend and to visit chester zoo, its a super hotel its very organsied, clean with brilliant staff. What a pity all Holiday Inn hotelks are like this, the staff always had a smile, and breakfast yummy!

We are even coming back during the summer, something we don't normally do.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
493 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
413 reviews
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Address: Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range: $87 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, whether for leisure weekends in the Chester area or that business trip or conference to the North West. The hotel is delightfully situated on the tranquil and attractive Wirral peninsula near the historic river Mersey waterfront, adjacent to the award winning National Boat Museum, with immediate access to both historic City of Chester or across the River Mersey to Liverpool. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is only 30 minutes away, Manchester International Airport only 40 minutes away and with a P&O fast ferry service to Ireland available in Liverpool, the hotel is the most central position to explore the whole of the North West of England. All 83 luxuriously air conditioned bedrooms with HSIA connections have splendid views of the surrounding locks and canal waterways. Our Leisure club includes indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun shower and gymnasium. The hotel is near to Royal Liverpool Golf Cub, Chester Race Course, Blue Planet Aquarium, Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village & Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Hotel Ellesmere Port
Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing