We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daughters wedding held here.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Daughters wedding held here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We hired the Jessop and Gilbert suites for our daughters wedding reception this month. After an initial hiccup when we had a call saying the hotel had double booked and we had to change the date, and me having to stand firm and refuse to cancel, everything worked out well in the end. The room was just big enough for our 90 guests and looked beautiful decorated by Events HQ and the hotel. The BarryMac disco was excellent for a wedding. The bar was reasonable priced and stocked everything our guests wanted. My daughter and her husband stayed in the bridal suite which is a penthouse 2 room suite and it was lovely. Complimentary Champagne was in the room and there was a large lounge area with 2 sofas, dining table etc. The bedroom was a very good L shaped size and the bathroom was huge with a deep bath and large separate jacuzzi shower. Very comfortable room. We all stayed for breakfast and at £13.95 a head may seem a bit expensive, but the choice was excellent. Everything from continental, to cereals, to fruit and a large cooked breakfast choice. The setting is very peaceful looking out over the Boat Museum and canal with its swans and ducks swimming in the water. Excellent location as in a peaceful setting but right next to the motorway connections for LIverpool/Manchester and close to Cheshire Oaks and Chester for shopping.

Room Tip: If it is a special occassion ask for the bridal suite/room 001. Worth the extra money for a peacefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janice j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear janice j

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your daughters wedding. I am pleased once again the Leanne, Laura and Cerys have help support a excellent wedding.

The bridal suit room 001 is our executive room in the hotel and does have a large deep bath and our Jacuzzi shower.

Breakfast is one of our biggest guest satisfiers and the team work extremely hard to make sure all our guests get a traditionally cooked English breakfast, and I am glad you and your wedding party received the same

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
General Manager Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    320
    81
    19
    17
See reviews for
310
236
19
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have been coming here since it opened which much be at least ten to fifteen years. Last time we felt it had become a bit run down but it seems completely revitalised now. Even the staff seemed to be back on form.
We did not eat here but there are many places just along the road in Cheshire Oaks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Scapa

Thank you very much for your posistive comments.

I am extremly proud of the hotel and team and the improvments we have made over the past 10 months seems to be working

Hope to see you back soon

Paul Borg
General Manager Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We just could not fault it just do it.the rooms where spotless the food was great and plenty of it we had a fantastic day and night.The service was excellent and the staff friendly I can't say anymore.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudgersmith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Smudgersmith_11

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding the wedding you attended. I will ensure that Leanne, Laura, Cerys and Gemma, see these comments.

I am extremely proud of the team and the delivery of our weddings and your positive comments re-enforce the good work the team have done in 2012.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
General Manager Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked a Sunday so got a good price of £79 for the two of us including (good) breakfast, that kind of price isn`t generally available on a Friday or Saturday though ! The FIVE I give it for value is for the price we paid.
The hotel is well signposted with brown "Holiday Inn" signs until Queen St crosses under the M53, then the brown signs run out, but just go straight on ! All the hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was pretty big with a settee and had a nice view over the canals round the National Waterways Museum, the latter being why we were there anyway. The NWM is just round the corner from the Holiday Inn and is well worth a visit.
If I have a slight criticism we thought the Restaurant was a bit pricey for what it was and didn`t have a cheaper Table d'hôte option. There are quite a few restaurants (including a few Indians and a Chinese) within a mile or so down Whitby Road - the A5032 - for those wanting to save a bit of money.

We did have a bit of an adventure in the middle of the night, the fire alarm went off accidentally, though I really am not complaining about it, I only mention it because my reaction to it is thought provoking, possibly of interest, and potentially maybe more than interest.....
It went off at 3.30 in the morning and I really wasn`t keen on the idea of getting up and going out into the cold. We did actually get up but I thought it was probably a false alarm. Error number one, no matter how tired you are and/or how cold it is out there, NEVER even let yourself think that, always take it 100% seriously, even if it probably is a false alarm.
The other was almost comical. As we got to the bottom of the stairs, in my half asleep state I saw the fire escape doors still shut, subconsciously thought we`re not supposed to go through there, so walked back up through the main entrance ! Having admitted that, I`m pretty sure I wouldn`t have done that if I could have smelt smoke ! But even so, always forget the fact any alarm is probably false and go straight out through any fire escape !
The ratings for sleep quality are if there hadn`t been a fire alarm, but I`m sure the latter is a rare event.

Room Tip: A room on the back has a better view of the canal basin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear JustinSmith

Thankyou for taking time to post your trip advisor review.

I was pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay with us I was particularly pleased to read that you find the team pleasant and freindly

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just got back from which was probably our eight visit, What a wonderful hotel. As in other reviews, it is the staff that make it stand out as well as the hotel itself. Claire in reservations was so helpful, arranging for a disabled space to be reserved on arrival. Check in was a usual quick and help was available to get our case to our usual room 111. This is a 'disabled access' room with a lovely canal view. Lovely wet room and spotlessly clean as usual.Everywhere in the hotel is very accessable for disabled and the staff greeted us like old friends. Breakfast in Locks is a lovely, relaxing way to start the day, overlooking the canal, food varied and piping hot, and as for the staff, well, they are an absolute credit to the Hotel. Ideally located for Cheshire Oaks as well as Chester and Liverpool itself. Lots of lovely countryside as well. A visit to Port Sunlight is a must. We were talking to the Manager this morning before we left and commented on how lovely his staff are, his reply was "yes aren't they, we are lucky". A Holiday Inn that stands out from the rest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view. Very relaxing to sit in a comfy chair looking at the barges and bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear SueColin

Thankyou for taking the time to post your comments onto the Tripadvisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay, and that Claire our reservationist was helpful in arrangeing you stay.

As you state in your comment I am really lucky to have such a good customer focused team and the hotel, and I look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

just back from Holiday Inn at Cheshire Oaks this very minute !! So most impressed by one-night stay at this fine hotel. Every single thing about the establishment was truly first-class and the value for money was extraordinary. I think we were most impressed by the staff. They were overjoyed to receive our many deserved compliments. The breakfast bar was the usual Holiday Inn fare but it was presented so nicely. and the cleanliness couldnot be bettered, The bedroom was immaculate and we were impressed by the large lounge with its many armchairs-so cosy !
But again, the staff made the occasion superb-all smiles. Because of this, we would rate the Cheshire Oaks hotel the BEST Holiday Inn we have stayed in.!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

A classic Holiday Inn, used for a business stay - but what made this one stand out was the staff; they were extremely welcoming and pleasant from the start. Overall, the quality of the hotel was excellent and the location is away from the horrors of central Ellesmere Port, though it's very easy to get to.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank THD_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
2.9 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
6.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Property: Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Address: Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, whether for leisure weekends in the Chester area or that business trip or conference to the North West. The hotel is delightfully situated on the tranquil and attractive Wirral peninsula near the historic river Mersey waterfront, adjacent to the award winning National Boat Museum, with immediate access to both historic City of Chester or across the River Mersey to Liverpool. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is only 30 minutes away, Manchester International Airport only 40 minutes away and with a P&O fast ferry service to Ireland available in Liverpool, the hotel is the most central position to explore the whole of the North West of England. All 83 luxuriously air conditioned bedrooms with HSIA connections have splendid views of the surrounding locks and canal waterways. Our Leisure club includes indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun shower and gymnasium. The hotel is near to Royal Liverpool Golf Cub, Chester Race Course, Blue Planet Aquarium, Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village & Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Hotel Ellesmere Port
Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing