We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who'd have thought?”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #57 of 133 Restaurants in Ellesmere Port
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Cheshire Oaks offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Who'd have thought?”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have never, ever, considered PE for a meal; don't equate pizza with gluten-free. However, while browsing for last-minute Christmas shopping we glanced at the menu which shows clearly that they do cater for us awkward types.

The 4 Seasons pizza was a treat. I took half home, in a box, labelled by a lovely member of staff as GF!

The best thing though was the staff. All 3 we came across were so helpful, well-trained and professional. I hope they get to see this review.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jolhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    64
    39
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pats On Heads All Round!!!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

You can't really go wrong with Pizza Express for a quick lunch, but for the record on this occasion(a busy Wednesday lunchtime) the staff were fantastic. We're not exactly the dream table, with a two year old and a 10 month old, but they couldn't have been nicer.
Thank you and we'll see you again soon!

Helpful?
Thank DiningRoomAbersoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“lovely food great deal apauling service”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

really impressed with the deal we got here glass of prosseco, gin and tonic or spritzer then 3 courses (the main included a full size pizza each),then a limoncello to follow the desert, all for £19.95 the food was lovely really nice with quite a few choices for each course cant fault the food at all. However! the service was dire the lad who was our waiter completley forgot our drinks despite there only being 4 lots of diners he was more intrested in following and chatting to his co-worker, then later there was only us and 1 more table left in there we ordered more drinks and he forgot them again and we struggled to get his attention to remind him as he was just constantly talkin to his co-worker and had no interest in us, then when we asked to pay the bill he said not to tip through the card machine as he would only get a 3rd, clearly prefering a cash tip! needless to say we left a tip that reflected the service NOTHING!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Visited here yesterday with some friends. It has to be said that the restaurant was extremely busy and a queue outside, but despite this service was fast, friendly and efficient. Beautiful garlic bread and cheese which my husband and I shared - it was not too big yet enough to share. Veneziana pizza for main which was cooked beautifully - not too heavy on the cheese and base was crispy and light. Finally, we shared hot chocolate fudge cake and ice cream. - yummy! All in all, we really enjoyed our Sunday lunch and will certainly revisit next time we go to Cheshire Oaks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kittykatcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
415 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Pizza Express wins again”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a small restaurant by comparison with a lot of Pizza Express ones, and it was very busy when we visited on a Sunday afternoon. Nevertheless, service was excellent (certainly not rude) and we had the usual absolutely delicious pizzas. How they manage to cook them so perfectly every time, including the dough, I'll never know. I usually have to leave some of the dough on pizzas I cook at home as it's too hard to chew, but that never happens with Pizza Express ones. Anyway, we finished off with "dolcetti" - little mini-desserts with a coffee included for about £4.50. The "chocolate espresso" one we had was lip-smackingly delicious! What a good idea to introduce these mini-desserts - the first time I've seen them in England, although it's a popular idea in France.

Because it was so busy, it was loud in there and perhaps a little bit cramped, but that didn't spoil our enjoyment of the meal. The starter (bruschetta) was a bit of a disappointment - last time I checked, bruschetta was the consistency of French toast, whereas this was just soft flatbread. DId they run out of the proper stuff and hoped we wouldn't notice if they served something different? Nothing was said. This was the only negative about the meal. The toppings on it were fine, though.

Well worth a visit, especially with a discount code which can be found all over the internet.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing