We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOT AND STICKY - BUT NOT THE RIBS.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fuxion - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fuxion
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“HOT AND STICKY - BUT NOT THE RIBS.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Ok, the ribs were sticky, but not particularly hot. If you are going for a buffet lunch, you can expect this; but we found that much of the food was just uninteresting. It catered for the lovers of bland, and the choice was remarkably samey. Again; just what you usually get in a buffet for all tastes, and I could have put up with this if the place had been less oppressive.

For a large, open area, it was airless, and uncomfortable. One cannot expect to have windows and doors wide open with food on display, but with the place only one sixth full, and the temperature outside cool, why was the place like a greenhouse. Answer? - look up. All of the aircon vents were sticky, and blocked with dusty gunge, rendering them useless.

The staff were attentive, the price too much for the quality; but how many of us would have keeled over if it was thirty degrees, and the place was full, does not bear thinking about. We will not return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank windbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“terrible - worst meal in a long time”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My partner and i visited fuxion on tuesday 3rd july lunchtime. Our first impressions was "transport cafe" but we didnt want to be put off by the look of the restaurant, our next indication of a poor visit was the waitress, she really didn't want to be there - very rude - we were not told what was on offer and had to ask - being visitors to the area we were not sure of the set-up. We helped ourselves to the buffet which was not very hot - the selection was very poor, and everything just lacked in taste and effort. Yes it was only tuesday but it was mid lunch service and there were a few other tables occupied. If there not intending to put the same effort in as a friday lunch or saturday lunch don't bother opening as i have seen there are good reviews from weekend diners.
The food had a frozen bought in taste look and feel, i feel a little let down that the "thing" about this restaurant was the tapanyaki grill - i wouldn't mind having the option to pay more at lunch time to enjoy the food. I had a beer (which i have to add - was well kept and was a really nice pint and reasonably priced at £3.40) but the choice of wine by the glass was very basic.
No - one asked if everything was ok during the meal or after - which was a good thing at the time because i was fairly wound up about paying for a buffet and only being able to eat the 2 salads on offer.
I own a restaurant (in shropshire) and understand that people and places have off days, but Fuxion has been open 10 years now and all problems should be ironed out by now, how they are still open 10 years down the line is passed me - maybe i have high standards but we were very disappointed with the whole experience and will never go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosettechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing value, great service”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have eaten here several times now and can honestly say I have never been disappointed. The restaurant is always spotless, the food good quality (especially for a buffet, which can often be found lacking) and the staff are excellent. They are always around if you do need them but if you don't, they are remarkably unobtrussive! I would be hard pushed to find a fault with this place but if I try(!) I suppose I wouldn't recommend the place for a peaceful, long drawn out romantic evening. It is rather a place that you eat and leave, rather than eat and linger for hours over liquers.
The choice and variety of food on offer is great if you have any fussy eaters - if they can't enjoy something here, I doubt they would anywhere! Also a great chance to try those dishes on a chinese menu that you never order in case you don't like it! Great night and will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank breezeypeezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Good selection of food, eats as much as you want plenty to choose from, all nice and fresh.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank llie249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will never go again!!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Arrived at 8.30pm for a meal with husband and kids. Coke was undrinkable. Starters were ok. Went for main course at 9.30pm and all that was on offer was the dried up dregs in the bottom of the serving dishes. Was told they were not putting anything else out. The place closes at 11pm so feel sorry for people who maybe arrived at 10pm. Blatant attempt to save money and short change people. Disgusted!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gbrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuxion also viewed

Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 
Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing