We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit if in Crewe”
Review of Passage to India

Passage to India
Ranked #5 of 187 Restaurants in Crewe
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if in Crewe”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I had some business to attend to in Crewe on Sunday and decided to call here for a meal on the way home. The restaurant itself is modern and tatefully decorated and for a Sunday evening seemed popular. The staff were friendly and attentive and the speed of service was good. The food was interesting and certainly didn't seem as generic as it can be in some places, but this is a place to avoid if you don't like cinamon! Personally, I enjoyed it, the red dip for the popadoms especially benefiting from the taste, but I could imagine it being a bit much for some. All in all a good restuarant that we'll be happy to return to if in Crewe again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeff1637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    153
    53
    30
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best indian I've had for ages”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went on a Sunday evening and by 7.30 the place was really full, always a good sign. The decor is lovely for a town centre restaurant it is comfortable and suitably lit. Service was excellent, staff were very attentive but just to the right amount. The food came quickly too, I thought we might have to wait a while so it was a pleasant surprise. THe food was lovely very well cooked and some of the tastiest indian food we have had for ages. The portions are large too and we had way too much - will remember next time. I would heartily reccommend anyone to visit this restaurant it was very good value for money too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanshaw900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Passage to heaven”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Simply amazing! Brilliant service excellent staff! Would definitely come back, we told our friends about the experience and they also loved it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hasanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

had a take away from here at the weekend. very busy restaurant. and phone constantly ringing off the hook.

i went based on good reviews so expected great things.

chicken pakoras, the batter was way too thick, not enjoyable

chicken tikka masalla, very rich. richer than any ive ever had before.

no mango chutney with poppadoms!?

it was nice inside the restaurant itself though

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Vast menu and great food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The restaurant is on a main street near to Crewe station, inside it is smart and comfortable with very helpful staff.
We were a party of 20 , but this did not slow the service at all. The starters are really good, they were almost the size of main's in some restaurants. The mains were huge in size and also very tasty. The menu itself is has many speciality dishes and it was very difficult to choose from such a vast array, this is good thing as I will have to go back and explore more of the menu. All of our party enjoyed their meals and we will definately be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passage to India also viewed

 
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Crewe, Cheshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to Passage to India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing