We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not picturesque but a very pleasant stay”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed one night on business
More than adequate hotel, priced correctly as it is in a rough part of town but the staff were very good and friendly and the place was clean and generally appointed as well as any british hotels. The breakfast was served quickly, toast available and coffee that felt fresh which is always a plus.
would stay again, not exciting or amazing but definatlety good for the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axlrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Many thanks for your lovely review, we hope to welcome you back to the waverley hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for The Waverley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 231 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Staffs are very unprofessional, call conversations are not recoded incase of credit card fraud.Lights not working in the bathroom.Towels were dirty OMG Service is overal poor. The railway hotel nantwich is by far better even though its cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Diva4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2015

The only response to this review i have is that I'm very unhappy you accused myself and my colleague of being racist , and screaming and shouting in the breakfast room at breakfast time, because we had to say no to a request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The staff are absolutely fantastic. Food is of a high quality and hot. Rooms are clean and well kept. I had my wedding here and a number of guests booked room we all had a fantastic breakfast prepared and served by Gina and Dana with a smile :) x the wedding itself was beautiful. All 70 guests enjoyed a 3 course meal and the 100 at night enjoyed a lush buffet. The room itself was well prepared and absolute stunning. Warm friendly clean and welcoming would highly recommend x

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douwannabuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Hi Kelly,

Many thanks for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your very special day, many congratulations once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

recently went to a function at the waverley hotel,stayed overnight and got to say great value for money,place was clean staff were nice and friendly food was first class , i could not fault any of the service ,the evening entertainment was probably the best disco ive seen for a long time ,just had a brilliant all round experience

Room Tip: get a room at the furthest point from the lift so you get less people walking past your room
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motorcityCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are all very pleased you enjoyed your experience here with us at the Waverley Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The lunch buffet was very good, with fresh produce and a wide variety of sandwiches. It was good value for money and delivered in a cheerful and happy manner.
The Hotel looked 'tired' but was clearly well kept and clean.
Certainly a good meeting place for a reception of any kind.

Room Tip: The location is near to Crewe Railway station next door to a dubious pub. However there is an excell...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve3448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review of the hotel, we are very pleased you meeting was a success and we would hope that you company would keep us in mind for the next time you need a venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Excellent service,polite staff,lovely food,myself and my family have been to the Waverley Hotel year after year for christmas lunch and functions,would not hesitate to book any function ,well known in and around Crewe for its excellent value and fantastic staff .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Hi Sue, Many thanks for your lovley review of the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back this Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Waverley Hotel on a previous occasion I didn't hesitate to come back here when I had to return to Crewe.
In what is a very competitive industry, the Waverley, a small family run establishment is holding it's own and delivers and informal, friendly and clean service.
Reading through some of the reviews on here, I have absolutely no idea what some people expect for £40 per night Bed & Breakfast, a 5 star service obviously!!
I was here in April this year for a function with overnight stay. The function room was of a good size and nicely decorated, the bar well stocked with a good choice. Pleasant but informal service from the staff, personal preference but I can't abide the stuffy toffy nose attitude of the bigger 'named' chains.
Home cooked food that was served hot and generous portions, no foam or jus or reductions...just proper food!
The room met my needs, I could wash and sleep, which is what hotel rooms are for right? Free wifi and on site parking, a 10 minute (if that) walk from the train station and close to a number of local amenities.
A brand new terrace area which, when the weather is nicer will be lovely to sit out in of an evening and I even got to have a sneak look around the newly built apartment accommodation.

I will book again whenever I need to return to Crewe, no question

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Many thanks for your lovely, honest review. I am pleased to hear this was your second visit here, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
1.2 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crewe
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
6.1 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Address: 9 Pedley Street, Crewe CW2 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range: $59 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waverley Hotel is a 22 bedroom family run hotel just 3 minutes walk from Crewe Railway Station and a short drive from J16 on the M6 motorway, making it an ideal choice to travel anywhere. Our friendly attentive Staff will ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable, in a relaxed charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Crewe
The Waverley Hotel Crewe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing