We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable.”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Iv noticed some of the comments on here. Clearly some expect 5 star service for the price. Personally I had a lovely stay. Any issues the staff were at hand to help. Definitely stay again! The bed was comfortable I'd enjoyed a bathroom lock but I'm the paranoid kind for that otherwise good all round!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gashey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely realistic review, we appreciate your comments. I will look into the bathroom door lock issue. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for The Waverley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 231 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Cheap, clean and friendly with a good breakfast. Our room didn't have a shower in the en-suite bathroom which was disappointing. I consider showers to be a basic requirement in a hotel bathroom these days. Bath/shower mixer tap attachments aren't expensive.
Other than that a good budget hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review. We only have that one room with a bath, all our other rooms have showers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night,great location and very friendly staff.
The breakfast was delicious and so much choice to be had.The rooms were very clean and the beds were so comfy,a nice hot shower too.
Would definatley stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrajanehopgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely kind review. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Staff good, rooms clean, everthing in working order and hot shower. Can't really fault it for a budget hotel. Second time we've stayed and not yet made it to breakfast so can't comment. But otherwise, very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is certainly worth the money for its location and customer service. Receptionist was very attentive and welcoming. Breakfast was quick and efficient. It would be foolish to expect luxury accommodation at such a low price, so you get what you pay for. It was a little disappointing being put in a room with a bed by the wall with a rather tired mattress, but for our purposes it was a minor glitch. The room itself was very clean and the basics were all provided. Again, for the location and service, I would certainly suggest stopping here and if I were to see a different room, i'm sure there would be very few issues with the rooms as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Many thanks for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed there last week and if you can get past the horrible smell as you walk in and the dirty underwear that had been left in the drawer then you are better than us as I think its the worst hotel ive stayed at and wonder if they even own a vacuum and needless to stay we quickly booked out again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Many thanks for your review, however i feel like this kind of review never needed to have happened as this is the first we have heard of this problem, nothing was mentioned to staff, none of us here were informed of these problems, maybe next time you have an issue at a hotel, you can inform a member of staff so it can be dealt with.
Im sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

our 1st visit to this Hotel, and was suprised by the standard against the low price! our last visit to crewe left a sour taste in the mouth thanks to a formerly "top notch" hotel! the Waverley beat it in every department! breakfast menu was varied and well presented! staff excellent and very friendly. room comfy and spotless! this is a no-frills establishment but, it is a nice place to stay! the position close to the station also is a big plus!

Room Tip: book as early as possible as the previous night to our arrival the hotel was full! adequate own free...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12,121,874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Many thanks for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we would love to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
1.2 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crewe
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
6.1 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Address: 9 Pedley Street, Crewe CW2 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range: $59 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waverley Hotel is a 22 bedroom family run hotel just 3 minutes walk from Crewe Railway Station and a short drive from J16 on the M6 motorway, making it an ideal choice to travel anywhere. Our friendly attentive Staff will ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable, in a relaxed charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Crewe
The Waverley Hotel Crewe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing