We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Staff good, rooms clean, everthing in working order and hot shower. Can't really fault it for a budget hotel. Second time we've stayed and not yet made it to breakfast so can't comment. But otherwise, very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    77
    43
    18
    22
See reviews for
24
68
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is certainly worth the money for its location and customer service. Receptionist was very attentive and welcoming. Breakfast was quick and efficient. It would be foolish to expect luxury accommodation at such a low price, so you get what you pay for. It was a little disappointing being put in a room with a bed by the wall with a rather tired mattress, but for our purposes it was a minor glitch. The room itself was very clean and the basics were all provided. Again, for the location and service, I would certainly suggest stopping here and if I were to see a different room, i'm sure there would be very few issues with the rooms as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed there last week and if you can get past the horrible smell as you walk in and the dirty underwear that had been left in the drawer then you are better than us as I think its the worst hotel ive stayed at and wonder if they even own a vacuum and needless to stay we quickly booked out again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review, however i feel like this kind of review never needed to have happened as this is the first we have heard of this problem, nothing was mentioned to staff, none of us here were informed of these problems, maybe next time you have an issue at a hotel, you can inform a member of staff so it can be dealt with.
Im sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crewe hotels

perth
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

our 1st visit to this Hotel, and was suprised by the standard against the low price! our last visit to crewe left a sour taste in the mouth thanks to a formerly "top notch" hotel! the Waverley beat it in every department! breakfast menu was varied and well presented! staff excellent and very friendly. room comfy and spotless! this is a no-frills establishment but, it is a nice place to stay! the position close to the station also is a big plus!

Room Tip: book as early as possible as the previous night to our arrival the hotel was full! adequate own free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12121874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we would love to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is an exceptionally good value small hotel in a quiet location convenient for the railway station and the football ground. The town centre is only about a 15 minute walk. Rooms are very clean and functional and the staff are superb... Excellent full breakfast included.
I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone seeking good value overnight accommodation and it would be the first place I looked up if i was coming to Crewe again.. Congratulations to all connected with it...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fen_boy_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The one thing every hotel should be regardless of the price of the rooms is clean and this hotel is spotless. The building internally is a bit tired looking but not scruffy and for the price you pay it's good value. The hotel has two small cottages attached which are really well decorated and very comfortable looking but no mention of them on the website. There is a bar very close to the hotel that was noisy up until about midnight but then it was all quiet and I got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creightonfoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we do advertise the 2 houses on the online booking agents that we are associated with, will look into getting them on out website thank you.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Waverley Hotel is not posh, no haute cuisine and not ultra modern. It has a heart and soul that comes from the manager of 22 years.

It is a slightly shabby building but it is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is basic but plentiful and very well cooked. You leave the table feeling as full as you would wish. The garden area is like a small oasis in the dinge that is Crewe. I really enjoyed our overnight stay and will definitely be going back for two nights later in the year.

Room Tip: there is no lift so book early, ring the hotel and ask for advice on which rooms would suit your nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we hope to see you again later in the year.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
1.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
328 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 9 Pedley Street, Crewe CW2 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waverley Hotel is a 22 bedroom family run hotel just 3 minutes walk from Crewe Railway Station and a short drive from J16 on the M6 motorway, making it an ideal choice to travel anywhere. Our friendly attentive Staff will ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable, in a relaxed charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Crewe
The Waverley Hotel Crewe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing