We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap budget hotel”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Crewe
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here while working at for the pageant of power festival, this is ideally situated for contractors as close to restaurants and pubs,

Rooms very clean, lots of coffee but a shame we missed breakfast due to early start, free wifi which is always a great bonus when away from home to keep upto date with things, maybe tv could be fixed to wall as quite small, very friendly staff (gorgeous too) which is always a pleasure!

Overall, made our experience of Crewe while working much more enjoyable!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Gazpara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us.
We look hope to see you again sometime.
Regards
G L Elder
Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 237 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was in Crewe for work and stayed in the Waverley for 2 nights. I wasn't expecting much but it is a little gem and perfect if you want somewhere inexpensive,close to the station but reasonably quiet.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was fine, breakfast was good, and the price was incredibly reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBeth1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review. we hope to see you again sometime when next in Crewe.
Regards
G L Elder
Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Waverley is a very good hotel on a quiet side street in Crewe. We were attending a Northern Soul all dayer at The Box (cracking venue) about 75 yards away. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was very nice with ample tea and coffee. Lots of hot water and breakfast was excellent. Can't

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us. Hopefully we will see you next year for the next gig weekend.
Regards,

Mrs G L Elder
Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed for one night on a Saturday night due to its close proximity to the Box music venue. The hotel was cheap, however, its very dated, room small, the bathroom wasn't cleaned properly, hairs on the floor, the bed was uncomfortable and my wife woke up with insect bites. Breakfast was too early, 08:00 - 09:30 so didn't get chance to try the food. Nobody on reception when we left so just left the key. Will try a different hotel the next time we visit Crewe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. Yes we are Cheap, and no we are not a ultra modern hotel, but as a small budget hotel, we think we are good value for money. Im sorry your bathroom was not cleaned throughly, i can only assume this was an oversight, if you had alerted reception, someone would have come and re done it straight away, but rest assured i will be looking in to this particular matter further.
In response to you saying the bed was uncomfortable, The bed was brand new late last year, from a hotel contract bed company, some people have told us how comfortable the beds are, i suppose thats personal opinions.
With regards to the bites, im just wondering why you didnt alert a member of staff, who could very easily have been found in the restaurant, either serving breakfasts or getting ready for lunches, and also why you didnt mention anything about this in your review you posted on booking.com (the agent website through which you booked ) ?
We have throughly inspected the room and the bed and found no eviidence of anything that could have bitten your wife. We have a senior railway executive whos stays in that particular room, 3-4 nights most weeks, and im 100% sure that he or someone else would have told us if there was a problem with bites resulting in staying in that room. I would suggest that perhaps your wife got bitten somewhere else, as its a very serious accusation to make, considering you provided us with no evidence at the time it supposedly occured !
Breakfast time are advertised on Booking.com, so if you were having a late night at a gig in the box venue, then perhaps checking the breakfast times before you booked would have been advisable.
Im sorry you didnt enjoy your experience here at the Waverley Hotel.
Regards,
Georgina Elder
Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've been meaning to write a review for this lovely hotel, where I stayed for one night with my partner. We received an excellent deal - as we were travelling from Worthing to Glasgow after our New Year celebrations, it was actually cheaper travel wise to get the train from Worthing (via London) to Crewe, stay in the hotel then catch the first train to Glasgow than it was to travel direct! A fact I was most grateful for after standing for most of the journey on a very busy train, I can assure you!

We arrived in the evening, shortly after the restaurant closed unfortunately, and we were directed to Room 19, a double with an en suite. It was clean, warm, and comfortable.

After leaving our things in the room, we asked the receptionist if there was anywhere nearby where we could find food, to be told they had a policy of not letting guests bring outside food in. A bit of a shame and at that time of night the only food options were take out, so we brought back our meal and sat outside to eat - I would have preferred to eat in our room but was quite glad of the fresh air - maybe if it had been raining I would be telling a different story! I didn't expect to receive special treatment, rules is rules.

When we re-entered the hotel, I spoke to the receptionist and explained our train would be leaving at 6am, so we wouldn't be having breakfast. She explained no one would be on the desk when we left but just to put our key on the desk when we were leaving. I asked if there was any wifi access and was given a code that didn't work, which I figured was for the best so I wasn't up all night online!

Going back up to the room, my partner and I were getting ready to shower and go to bed when the receptionist knocked, she had very thoughtfully put together a breakfast tray with 2 bowls of cereal, milk, fruit, yoghurt, and extra tea bags. I was surprised and grateful since we weren't expecting to be able to eat until we got back into Glasgow. After we each had nice warm showers and watched a little bit of TV, we switched off for the night and in the quiet very quickly fell into a peaceful sleep.

In the morning, we ate our cereals, saving the rest for on train snacks, then quickly (and as quietly as we could manage!) left the hotel, leaving the key as directed. We made our train in plenty of time and had a nice journey back home, aided by full stomachs and a restful night.

As we travel fairly frequently down south I will always see if it is indeed cheaper to split our journeys and stay in the hotel again. We both agree the hotel far exceeded our expectations given the price and the only negatives were about not bringing food in, (during restaurant hours totally understandable but it would have been nice to be able to in our case, however a minor quibble) and the wifi (which was really a blessing in disguise I think, but could be annoying in other cases).

All in all, a lovely budget hotel, and with the receptionist being the only staff we encountered, I commend her for her amazing customer service!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, im so pleased your enjoyed your short stay here with us.
I have looked into the time in which you stayed with us, and we did have a problem with the wifi, which has now been upgraded and works now as it should.
With regards to the food situation, we have that policy in place to try to encourage people to eat in our restaurant rather than going and visiting the main road for takeaway food.
i look forward to welcoming you back to the Waverley Hotel, Crewe.
Kind regards, Mrs Georgina Elder, Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

after visiting the waverley several times thought agreat place handy for railway, but this time breakfast times to early menu not correct as items advertized are missing ie ,mushrooms no explaination from waitress,room very noisy.

Room Tip: very small
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank concord35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your review, im sorry you didnt enjoy your experience here with us this time.
Breakfast times have not been changed, i have been here a long time and they have always been 7am - 8.30am Mon-Fri and 8am - 9.30am Sat and Sun. If the mushrooms were missing from your breakfast then i apologise, there must have been a misunderstanding with the order, however you should have just asked the waitress to get you some when your breakfast arrived, sadly this cant be corrected once you have checked out. Some nights are noiser in the hotel than others, it all depends on who is staying, whether there is a big group of people in, or people leaving early for work etc....i would say thats the same the world over.
Regards,
Mrs G L Elder
Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here Saturday night with my wife, room was very dated, there was a wedding on that basically took over the hotel so we had to go out of the hotel for food and drinks, we found Crewe very run down and the place didn't seem very safe to be out in the evenings.
Our room was very very small and on getting up on the Sunday morning I found many bites on my body from the bed i'm assuming, my wife was in another bed as for some reason we were given a twin room. We didn't try breakfast as we wanted to get away from the place as soon as possible, there was no body on reception in the morning to tell about the bites, so basically we just left, I wouldn't advise any couples to stay there as it seems more like a builders place cheap and grimey!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pontypaulwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your review, im sorry to hear about your experience whilst staying with us.
Firstly i would like to start by saying that you booked your room for the night via booking.com, the room type you booked was a twin room, with an attached guest request which said " If theres a double room available we would prefer it, but twin is ok "
We have never opened our restaurant to diners on fridays, saturdays and sunday evenings, due to the fact we cater for private functions, we are only a small hotel so it may have seemed that the wedding took over, but you were more than welcome to sit in the lounge area and have drinks from the bar, as some of the other residents did.
Ref: bites, if there was anything in said bed, im confident we would have had complaint after complaint, we have checked the beds in the room you stayed in very carefully and found no evidence. Our bedding is changed every day and the hotels beds were all new last year .
I personally would have wanted to speak to someone before i left if me or my partner had been bitten, not just check out. Our hotel staff were busy in the breakfast room as we had a full house the night before, but you could easily have attracted our attention, had you wanted to speak to someone.
regards
Mrs G L Elder
Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
1 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 10 in Crewe
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Address: 9 Pedley Street, Crewe CW2 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range: $75 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waverley Hotel is a 22 bedroom family run hotel just 3 minutes walk from Crewe Railway Station and a short drive from J16 on the M6 motorway, making it an ideal choice to travel anywhere. Our friendly attentive Staff will ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable, in a relaxed charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Crewe
The Waverley Hotel Crewe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing