We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best H I Express hotels we have used”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“One of the best H I Express hotels we have used”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I booked an advance purchase room which was great value. The hotel is conveniently located and has a good "underground" car park with easy access to the hotel.
The welcome was excellent and the room rate included free wifi which was a pleasant surprise.
Shame Holiday Inn Hotels charge for this.
The room was comfortable, clean and well equipped with an excellent wet room style shower. One minor gripe is that there is only one proper chair, but I guess the hotel mainly caters for single business clients. The room was very quiet. I chose one on the first floor which faces the back of the hotel. The staff advised against the top floor as was a sunny day and this floor apparently warms up a lot!
The included breakfast was basic but good with cooked items available. We could have eaten an evening meal in the hotel but decided to try the nearby Italian restaurant, Giovannis. Not a particularly good choice - see my separate review.
All in all the H I Express is thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: First fllor rooms face the rear of the hotel and seem to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    114
    111
    31
    19
See reviews for
25
97
25
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here on the way back from Bradford as we wanted to go to Stoke on Trent to replace some china. We usually stay at the HI express Stoke but this time it was £79 which we thought VERY expensive considering the Crewe one cost £49.…..
Talking to the receptionist it turned out that it used to be a Ramada, not surprised as it wasn’t like any other HI express we’ve stayed in. Our room was on the top floor with floor - ceiling windows in a bay and the bathroom was much bigger too, only drawback was that the pillows were hard..
The breakfast was the usual HI express buffet and fine. We did have a few problems getting into our room, but the lady on reception ( Sian ? ) could not have been more helpful. The only drawback here is the parking which is a sort of one way system round the ground floor, we got parked ok but if the hotel is busy I could see there would be problems. We would stay here again though because it is good value and cheaper than other franchises in the area, and very easy to get to Alton Towers and other attractions in the area. Would particularly like to thank the staff, well above average.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentishTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

One Night Stay for a friends wedding.

Hotel was pretty spotless though my complimentary coffee tray with cups and spoons was quite dusty with some strands of hair !!

Phone by the bed and electric sockets by the bed....what a luxury. Tv stations were limited though.

Breakfast was okay though quite busy but the staff did a good job to keep their guests happy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taiwotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. The Tv channels are something that we are currently looking at to improve the options available I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

stayed for one night several times.
room very clean. staff very helpful and cheerful
breakfast under heat lamps ok nothing special but at least there was something to eat before gong to work coffee plentful and very nice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meerkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Well located and clean - that's the best I can say about this hotel. I was given a Disability Access room (no idea why) so while this would be great for someone in a wheelchair the toilet seat was rather high & the wash basin too low.

But that was not the problem. This particular room 301 was on the top floor and I was kept awake most of the night by the sound of water running through pipes, with filling/emptying tanks and various switch gear tripping in & out with loud clunks.

Food was average (at best) and when ask if I enjoyed my stay, the receptionist seemed surprised when I made my comments. An apology was given but no explaination nor offer to reduce my bill for the inconvienience caused. Poor customer service.

Looks like its back to Premier Inns.

Room Tip: Avoid room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I will look into water issue as this is the first time it has been raised. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crewe hotels

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently had a one nights stay to attend a friends birthday party. The young girl on reception was extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful & also served us in the bar & couldn't do enough for us. The hotel was spotlessly clean in both the room and public areas. The room itself was adequate for what we needed with en-suite which was beautiful and although at the front of the building it was extremely quiet. The bar area was spotless and toilets really up to date modern & clean. There was a self service coffee machine. Unfortunately I cannot comment on the breakfast as I was a bit worse for wear the next day so didn't make it. There is plenty of parking. I would reccomend this hotel without hesitation and would definitely stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaPollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and it is fine The hotel fits into the budget bracket but is reasonably well kitted out and well kept. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly. The beds are huge and the room quiet. My only complaint about this chain is the quality of the breakfasts. In ten years of staying in hotels I have never had such consistent low quality - not specific to the Crewe site I should say. If you are travelling by train this hotel is a short walk from the station. Overall I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back of the building, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. The breakfast offering is currently being looked into in the Express brand. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
926 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Crewe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Crewe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Address: Macon Way, Crewe CW1 6DR, England (Formerly Hotel Crewe)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Crewe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Crewe, is an exciting addition to Crewe and the Holiday Inn Express chain. Located just a few minutes walk from the rail station, the hotel is perfect for guests travelling on business or guests looking to explore the beautiful Cheshire countryside and its many attractions; historic houses such as Tatton Park and Arley Hall, castles such as Beeston and Peckforton or explore the nearby cities of Chester, Liverpool and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Crewe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Crewe Hotel Crewe
Ramada Crewe
Crewe Ramada
Holiday Inn Express Crewe England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing