We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONE NIGHT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“ONE NIGHT STAY”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently had a one nights stay to attend a friends birthday party. The young girl on reception was extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful & also served us in the bar & couldn't do enough for us. The hotel was spotlessly clean in both the room and public areas. The room itself was adequate for what we needed with en-suite which was beautiful and although at the front of the building it was extremely quiet. The bar area was spotless and toilets really up to date modern & clean. There was a self service coffee machine. Unfortunately I cannot comment on the breakfast as I was a bit worse for wear the next day so didn't make it. There is plenty of parking. I would reccomend this hotel without hesitation and would definitely stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaPollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    109
    100
    27
    15
See reviews for
22
90
23
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and it is fine The hotel fits into the budget bracket but is reasonably well kitted out and well kept. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly. The beds are huge and the room quiet. My only complaint about this chain is the quality of the breakfasts. In ten years of staying in hotels I have never had such consistent low quality - not specific to the Crewe site I should say. If you are travelling by train this hotel is a short walk from the station. Overall I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back of the building, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. The breakfast offering is currently being looked into in the Express brand. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree Essex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 19th -20th April. We had a very comfortable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was spotlessly clean in both the room and public areas. The room itself provided everything we needed and the ensuite was beautiful. the only downside for me that there was only a shower and I like a bath but thats just a personal preference. The complimentary breakfast was great on the first morning. On the second morning the coffee machine malfunctioned. You could get a basic cup of coffee but not latte or expresso. There was also no bacon. I did tell a member of staff and she obviously wentto get some. However I think they had run out as just more sausages appeared. Thats just a minor quible there was plenty of choice of cereals fruit and yoghurt available. I would reccomend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and it really was what we got. We both slept really well without any distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyladyTiptreeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. The coffee machine did have an issue but this as fixed the following day, In regards to bacon this is optional for the hotel and is subject to availabilty. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

One of the reasons this type of hotel is successful is that when you book it, you pretty well know, in advance, exactly what you are going to find on arrival. I use HI Express quite a lot on business and the majority are fine. This one was OK, but no more than that.

This is not the average new build standard HIE layout. It looks like it has at one time been a different older hotel and has been converted to an HI Express.

The reception, indeed the whole hotel seemed to be manned by just two youngsters. The room was not small but it felt a bit cell-like, having only one small window in the rear alcove. There was an incomplete set of tea making items, an empty tissue box and the TV worked, but only a few odd channels were available. The shower cubicle was large, which was useful as you had to move around to get wet from the feeble shower spray.

There was car parking but quite a limited number of spaces.

In the bar area had a small restaurant but the menu was extremely limited. Being in a commercial area I used it, as the eating place next door was a MacDonald’s, so other than that is was a drive into town.

The food was cheap but just about adequate and quantities were small. Breakfast was at least hot (well warm really) but again pre-cooked and left in a cabinet to dry out quite a bit. I left the sausages alone, I’ve seen fewer wrinkles on a ancient Tibetan monks face

At £91 per night I think you should expect better. To be fair, that did include breakfast and a £15 allowance towards dinner. It also included parking but so it should be at that price.

The hotel is within a couple of minutes walking distance of the main station so that was a benefit.

A notice above reception proclaimed that the hotel was licenced by one company, owned by a second company and managed by a third company.

It showed !!

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms look out over bowling green so probably quieter that the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm glad to read that your booking process was as quick and easy as other IHG hotels you have booked at. The hotel is a old conversion. I sorry to read that there was some issues with the room supplies, these have been addressed with the Housekeeping Team to ensure that it does not happen again. Breakfast is currently being owrked on to see how we can improve the offereings we have and your feedback has been noted on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at this budget hotel for one night while visiting the Lyceum Theatre in Crewe. The hotel was easy to find on the way into Crewe from the M6 and there was plenty of parking. Check in was quick and efficient and we were given a room at the back overlooking a bowling green. The room was comfortable and reasonably stylish with a well fitted bathroom with large walk in shower. Breakfast isn't going to win any prizes, the scrambled egg was overcooked and the baked beans only luke warm, however it was nice to have something to eat before setting off and this is where Holiday Inn Express does beat some of the other budget chains who don't offer breakfast. Overall a pleasant overnight stay and I would be happy to use this hotel again if staying in Crewe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HermioneBaglash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel at about 20:15, I had to wait for 5 minutes in Reception for a Receptionist to arrive. Burdened down with suit & luggage, it felt like an hour.

I went up to my room & it was one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in for a hotel of this type. It was only marred by the soap dispenser for the wash basin being jammed.

The floorboards in the corridor creaked noisily.

The hotel parking was excellent; as it meant that the tailgate of your car was under the overhang of the first floor and so was sheltered from any rain

I went in for dinner and when my soup was delivered, the waitress plonked it down & left me with no cutlery. I had to go and forage for cutlery & a napkin. When she brought my main course, I complained about the lack of cutlery and she apologised, saying that she hadn’t noticed that my table didn’t have a tub of cutlery on it. Most didn’t, so that was lax!

I booked a wake-up call for 06:45. It came at 06:58 but fortunately, my own alarm had woken me on time. Other guests would be well advised not to rely on the hotel for a wake up call. In my opinion, the hotel staff & management are overdue for a wake-up call!

As a Priority Club member, I booked an Express Checkout when I checked in and when I closed off my restaurant bill, I was told that the bill would be slid under my door overnight (standard practice). When I got up, no bill. At 8am, I took my bags down to the car & went in to breakfast. There was only one slice of bacon & no member of staff in sight. Just as I finished my breakfast, the bacon was replenished.

I went to Reception to ask for my bill. Reception was not manned, so I went up to my room to wash and collect my coat & briefcase. There was still no bill under the door. When I came down, fortunately, Reception was manned, so I had to ask for my bill. I asked why I had not benefitted from my requested Express Checkout and was told that the hotel was short staffed and the staff were doing their best to cover all bases. I don’t accept that where the evening restaurant staff were concerned, as they were slapdash & careless. Perhaps being short-staffed had worn them down into that state of mind, however?

To sum up, this is a very nice hotel but the shine is taken off by the poor service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flummox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm sorry to hear that the service you recieved was not upto the normal standard we offer. The Express Checkout is offered to all guets and this should have been actioned during the night. The invoices should have also been posted under your door, I apologise on behalf of the hotel that this did not happend during your stay, I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel to restore your faith of the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Ok,booked 3 twin rooms for a party of 5,we were here for a friends engagment, 3 twins not available on arrival. 1 double on 1 floor and 2 twins on another. As a group of 5 women we wanted to at least stay on the same floor, so accepted 3 doubles. As you can see from the photos, we got out of the lift and the mess was a disgrace. It felt like we were in a half finished hotel! Builders stuff everywhere, bin bags, boxes, hoover, plasterboard!!!
2 friends got a lovely room with a balcony, all very nice. The other 2 rooms however, not so great. The t.v. in my room was loosely hanging from the wall. Tiles on the bathroom floor weren't laid flat so ridges hurt your feet plus grouting had already worn away. The bed was very low and at first I thought it was 2 mattress's on top of each other (see photo) but it was an actual base. Room was very dark, as blinds were closed across sky lights in ceiling. I did have a great sleep thought, until 7am Sunday morning the fire alarm went off across the whole hotel because someone had burnt toast in the dining area!
Breakfast: Great you do get hot food but tasteless... did the job though.
We presumed that the place had only just opened as there was still a lot of mess, we commented that if it wasn't finished why was it open, then to be told it had been opened a year!!!
Would I stay here again, probably not, would look for a B&B

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peeps70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm sorry to see that you experienced a problem in the hotel upon arrival. The rooms that were allocated were on the floor that was being refurbished, the rooms on the front of the hotel on the third floor all have balconys. The skyline windows are operated by remote control to open the blinds. I'm sorry that the fire alarm did sound during your stay but this is obviously in place to protect our guest from a fire. I do hope that we can restore your faith in the hotel and welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crewe hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crewe hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#8 of 9 in Crewe
216 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
265 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Crewe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Crewe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Address: Macon Way, Crewe CW1 6DR, England (Formerly Hotel Crewe)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Crewe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Crewe, is an exciting addition to Crewe and the Holiday Inn Express chain. Located just a few minutes walk from the rail station, the hotel is perfect for guests travelling on business or guests looking to explore the beautiful Cheshire countryside and its many attractions; historic houses such as Tatton Park and Arley Hall, castles such as Beeston and Peckforton or explore the nearby cities of Chester, Liverpool and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Crewe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Crewe Hotel Crewe
Ramada Crewe
Crewe Ramada
Holiday Inn Express Crewe England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing