We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Snags and Shrugged Shoulders Stymie Satisfaction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Basingstoke
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Simple Snags and Shrugged Shoulders Stymie Satisfaction”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

While my stay was on the whole acceptable [but not that good value], there were couple of basic points/shortcomings which should have been simple to solve, but at least one was just stymied by shrugged shoulders and so stained the memory of the stay...

Putting aside the creaking flexing corridor [a wake up call in the morning?] and room floors, the sleep quality was OK. While the double room was large and brightly decorated [excepting the black paint the stains from the work chair rubbing against the white wall], the double bed was in fact two single mattresses placed side by side, so you couldn’t comfortably stretch out, a fact no choice of hard/soft pillows could resolve….

However, this visit seems to have fallen foul of the faulty room TV aerial cable[?] system on this occasion getting; “…no/weak channel signal…” all the time while at the hotel… An associate on a visit last year apparently encountered a similar problem, which was only cured by a room change… Yes, a room change was offered [on leaving...!] on the second [Sunday] morning, but on the first [Saturday] morning, when the fault was first reported, the only response were shrugged shoulders and “…we can’t do anything about it…”

The receptionist on the Saturday night valiantly had two attempts trying to fix it, while I was out but couldn’t… However, on returning back from another evening meal in town, they were already off duty, and again it was also far too late to contemplate a change anyway… This person even stated they had had the repairer in some days before and it was all apparently fine then throughout the hotel… All that was wanted [both evenings] was to unwind and get some simple news info – at a late evening time when the hotel bar [and associated public TV] was shut down.

On the first evening arrival was quiet late, and so went almost straight out to eat for a full meal, after a long afternoon travelling, [had you shilly-shallied around snagging many restaurants easily could have been closed…]. Only on returning, even later, and settling down for bed was the TV discovered not to be working… NB You shouldn’t have to check/test every simple piece of equipment in a supposed higher quality hotel room is functioning/present and correct, every time you walk through the door of a bedroom for the first time/each night should you?

On the Sunday morning the baked beans were entirely absent from the hot food breakfast display [had the hotel perhaps run out?]? In [their?] place, there were two trays of hot bacon rashers just taking up space and so likely going to waste… A lot more time could have been spent [and likely wasted] trying to sort out one or both of these issues, but if either one couldn’t have been resolved in a timely fashion then it would have been a pointless effort…

NB The “management” [whomever they are], have yet to contact me about this sub-standard stay…

Room Tip: Check the TV in the room is working when you arrive at this hotel…plus get a room without a creaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brassed_Off_Jynxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. Im sorry to hear that you experienced some issues with the TV, this issue has now been addressed and the TV's are back up to the normal standard. Im also dissapointed to read that your breakfast experience was not to the normal standard, This was due to the hotel not receiving a full order and leaving the hotel short. We have spoken to the suppliers about the importance of getting a full order to meet the demand of the hotel and its guest. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    112
    106
    30
    17
See reviews for
23
94
24
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is my second stay at the HI in Crewe it is a clean and modern hotel rooms a good size and Staff friendly and efficient the breakfast is included in the price and is a buffet eat all you can i wont hesitate to stay there again and i reccomend it to everybody

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris13Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great value for money and very close to the station (3 minute walk). The room was compact and clean and had all the requirements, great for an overnight stay, wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer due to the lack of atmosphere.  The restaurant felt like it was in a corridor, bar was very basic and lounge was squeezed in to the restaurant corridor! The staff were very friendly, but I felt like I was being interviewed for my room on arrival - was this the first time in Crewe, what was I doing here, who did I work for! After all these questions I thought there might have been a reason, no - just questions.  I had to eat out due to the basis selection of food, restaurants are located ten minute walkaway  or a short taxi ride.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. Im sorry to hear that the hotel menu was not upto the normal standard that you would expect, this is a limited menu that we use in the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Was very impressed during my overnight stay. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable room with giant shower. Great breakfast and central location for university/town centre of Crewe. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazcoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lovely bedroom and small shower room. Well decorated, well lit and clean but poor internet connection. Food in the restaurant in the evening was very average but I wasn't expecting a culinary feast. Brekfast better. Overall, a very pleasent evening.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and I got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astonflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review.its disappointing to hear that our Internet connection was not up to the usual standard that it is, I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here overnight with my friend as we were visiting her son who is at the university campus. It was excellent. Very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Its close to the railway station and also we had a room with a nice view of the bowling green behind. The buffet breakfast was also very nice. For a budget hotel we could not have asked for better.The reviews I read previously were mixed and I am glad I did not let them put me off.I will definitely stay in a Holiday Inn chain hotel again, if this is their standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailaway2moro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked the Holiday Inn as I knew exactly what to expect from this chain and they delivered exactly that. Should one need a plusher fussier hotel than there are other options in Crewe. Suffice to say that it was exactly what I ordered, expected and paid for.
Internet connection was strong. (and in each room)
Breakfast adequate,
Rooms clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crewe hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#8 of 9 in Crewe
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Crewe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Crewe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Address: Macon Way, Crewe CW1 6DR, England (Formerly Hotel Crewe)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Crewe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Crewe, is an exciting addition to Crewe and the Holiday Inn Express chain. Located just a few minutes walk from the rail station, the hotel is perfect for guests travelling on business or guests looking to explore the beautiful Cheshire countryside and its many attractions; historic houses such as Tatton Park and Arley Hall, castles such as Beeston and Peckforton or explore the nearby cities of Chester, Liverpool and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Crewe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Crewe Hotel Crewe
Ramada Crewe
Crewe Ramada
Holiday Inn Express Crewe England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing