We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good friendly professional Hotel.”
Review of The Hunters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hunters Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I had no idea what I had booked as I was on the way from Dover to Holyhead/Dublin and needed a place on the way. I was very pleasantly surprised. It is off a main road near Crewe and has ample car parking. The buildings are a mix of old and new. All in good condition, clean and fresh. The receptionist was very nice and greeted us in a genuine and warm manner. Our bedroom was spotless, well equiped and had wi fi. The bathroom was all marble, modern and also spotless. O dear!! There were 2 weddings on as we arrived and so I expected long delays and stressed, burnt out staff. But heck no. They were marvellous. The bar service was instant and staffed by two lovely friendly women. The food was surprisingly good. I don't expect Michelin star food for the excellent value this Hotel offers. What we got was fresh, perfectly cooked tasty food. The veg, all too often drowned and awful, were superb, the side sauces home made as was the Lasagne and the desserts. This is a very good sign indeed as I have had the most appalling meals in similar places such as this. The dreaded micro wave didn't get a look in in this restaurant...TG! Despite the weddings we had no problem at all with delays or bad/poor service or food. Full marks to the kitchen and the cheerful, great staff in the dining room. The lady at breakfast could not have been more helpful or cheerful. You must take into account the cost of the room and the cost of food when rating and review it for what it is. I paid a reasonable £70 for B&B for the 2 of us. I can't expect 5 star facilities in a 3 star hotel. This is a 5 star 3 star hotel...if you get my drift. We could find nothing wrong and toroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for The Hunters Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 290 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2009

Booked a colleague here on business, got a good deal on hotels website, and as the hotel wasn't full, my guest was given a free upgrade to one of their superior rooms, which was lovely. Good bathroom, and he found the separate desk area and free wifi connection very useful.

The staff were all very friendly and attentive. I had dinner with him in the bar, the food was really good, and the open fire in there really added to the comfortable ambience. There is also a restaurant with a good menu choice, and, he tells me, the best breakfast ever!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank binty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I stayed here while attending a course in Crewe. The hotel is OK. The rooms where nicely done out and the bathroom was new looking and clean. Though the seal on the shower screen was terrible so you had to squeese against the wall and bring the shower screen right over the bath or the bathroom would end up looking like a lake.

The food was very average and in my opinion over priced for what it was. There are much better eating options available in Crewe town centre which is only a short drive away.

I cannot give the hotel any less than a 3 as it was comfy and clean and the staff very hospitable. The gym is also equipped pretty well, all the cardio-vascular stuff is there plus a few weight machines. Don't remember there being any free weights though.

If travelling on a business trip the hotel does have wi-fi though we had a laptop with us that sometimes connected and sometimes didn't. Don't know if anyone else has experienced the same problems.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CumbrianTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We stayed here recently for a wedding service and reception. Staff were extremely pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. Very professionally run. Food was excellent. Sunday lunch and the wedding meal was superb. Breakfast was full cooked or cereal, if you want fruit you will have to ask for it. Rooms were very comfortable and modern. Grounds and setting of the hotel were very scenic. Our hotel bedroom overlooked fields & countryside. Ample parking facilities. Not much near to the hotel as it is set in a quiet residential area, although its only 5mins by car to Crewe. Train station is nearby and within 5 mins too if you travel by rail. They specialise in weddings & wedding receptions so if you stay weekends expect to see the bride and grooms and their guests. All in all a lovely stay, clean and friendly hotel and a good overall service. Would definately recommend it and stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Angjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

We held our wedding evening reception here following our wedding abroad. The whole event was wonderful - the staff were very organised, helpful and friendly. The food is of good quality and the hotel rooms are not bad too - but we did have the Bridal Suite. The standard rooms are pretty basic but clean and more than adequate for the price.

I would certainly reccommend this hotel for an event - they look after your every need.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teej1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

We got married at the Hunters Lodge on Saturday 24th November 2007. Well what can we say the hotel is fantastic and all the staff are so helpful and pleasant, we had a lot of our family staying and everyone said what an excellent Hotel we choose for our wedding. The day was fanatastic the food was great and the breakfast was good too. The rooms are lovley and all very clean. We would reccommend the Hunters Lodge to anyone getting married we had the best days of our lives.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank CreweJonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

Only stayed here as the ramada was full. bad move. room overlooked a field smelling of manure. room was clean but very basic.

restaurant very bad for veggie options. was given 2 tartlets as the only veggie option- for £13.50!!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
Thank nimoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
1.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
4.9 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Lodge

Address: Sydney Road | Sydney, Crewe CW1 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range: $69 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hunters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters Hotel Crewe
The Hunters Lodge Crewe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing