We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new years eve”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hunters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hunters Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“new years eve”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

attended the new years eve celebrations for the third year running and yet again what an excellent evening with good food excellent staff and a totally relaxed atmosphere. room was adequate but not top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    96
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
57
72
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hunters Lodge during my business trip from Canada. I can honestly say, that out of my two week trip, the Hunters Lodge was the untidiest, most disgusting place I stayed in. My room had mould around the tub and shower, the room stank like a smokers market, the food was horrific, and the staff were kids from Eastern Europe that had no ability, and could hardly speak English. Horrible place. Stay well clear of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Owner at The Hunters Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, I would however like to address some of the points you have raised.

If I am honest, I am not sure from your descriptions that you have submitted your review to the correct hotel, one reason being that as all our front of house staff are native English speakers your comment "and the staff were kids from Eastern Europe that had no ability, and could hardly speak English" has me completely baffled? We do not currently employ any Eastern European staff!

Our kitchen and housekeeping teams take pride in their high standards, as can be seen from the many previous reviews.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your booking in further detail, if you would like to conact me directly with your reservation number at info@hunterslodge.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Was needing to be in the north west close to the M6 so booked. Easy to find hotel area in separate
Building behind bar and restaurant. Rooms are large, clean and tidy, good bathroom and also free wifi which is very important.

Ate in the bar and a very nice ribeye steak and a Guinness, staff were friendly and helpful.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited here for a family lunch. The sunday lunch menu is good value, £16.95 for 3 courses with coffee and mints. The food is very nice, good selection, vegetables are served separately so you can choose which to have. The only downside was very slow service. Long intervals between courses and even being shown to the table was a bit of a wait. There isn't much atmosphere and the lighting is quite bright. If you want a good value sunday lunch then it's worth it, but not if you're short of time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Latte_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed for one night, booked at short notice. I booked a single room and the only disappointment was that it had a shower and not a bath; I did not think to ask, I was looking forward to a relaxing bath. The room was spotless. All of the staff were very friendly; housekeeping, reception and restaurant staff. The breakfast was superb with choice of poached haddock, smoked salmon, full break-fast or just beans on toast. I had the full break-fast and the scrambled egg was just right!
I also ate a bar meak in the evening; again the staff were friendly and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Sydney road is very long so do not worry if you can not find the hotel immediately. I enjoyed my gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHughes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I have been to a few christenings etc. and have always been impressed, so we decided to try the Sunday carvery. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable when recommending gluten free options for my wife, and the food was excellent, as was the cask beer.We are unlikely to ever stay here as we only live less than a mile away, so cannot comment on the rooms, but everything else is first class.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The lodge has a nice drive approach with ample parking. The accommodation is a newish purpose built building but they really should get a good joiner to come and fix the squeeky floorboards as everyone of them makes a noise. A heavy snorer in the adjacent room kept us awake both nights and on the second night the wedding party moved from the function room back to one of the guests room and partied until the early hours. We could hear every conversation around us so the walls must be poorly constructed. The bar meals were nice and sensibly priced and the beer was well kept.
We'd stay here again but only if we got the same good rate and we'd remember to bring earplugs!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
1.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,077 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#8 of 9 in Crewe
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
3.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Lodge

Property: The Hunters Lodge
Address: Sydney Road | Sydney, Crewe CW1 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Hunters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters Hotel Crewe
The Hunters Lodge Crewe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing