We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Manor

Ye Olde Manor
Ranked #47 of 191 Restaurants in Crewe
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: As a family-friendly restaurant in Crewe, we pride ourselves on serving up a royally good roast dinner, whenever you want it. Tuck into cracking value carvery meals any day of the week, with your choice of tender, slow-cooked joints, traditional trimmings and unlimited freshly steamed veg.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“not nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

cheap processed metas, just feel dirty when eating here, I know people say good prices make it nicer but £3.95 for a carvery to me is too cheap, get what you pay for. kitchen staff don't look particularly clean

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank fizzy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    54
    30
    18
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
crewe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Value For Eating Out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The old man and I come here on a regular basis and I can honestly say that we have never found fault here. The carvery is excellent and very inexpensive for what you get and theres usually three types of meat on offer with as many vegetables as you can eat,a range of different sauces and gravy as well. There are also other dishes that are available that are on the menu and some of these are cheaper than the carvery,for example how many people know that the fish and chips here are cheaper than a well known supermarkets cafe and at the Manor you can have whatever veg you like and curry sauce! You wont get that choice at the supermarket and thats not being negative about them,their fish and chips are excellent but the Manor beats them on this. Also,if you look at the menu you will see that you can order starters and desserts as well and they are exceptionally reasonably priced,so much so that you could have a three course meal that includes the carvery for about a tenner,thats tremendous value! Theres also a wide range of excellent beers and wines here and its a great place for couples,families and parties and the atmosphere is always good and we have always found the staff very friendly and helpful and considering the amount of work thay have to do its amazing that they still have smiles on their faces. There are no negatives here but you have to bear in mind that its a very popular place so if you go at dinner time you have to expect it to be busy so go a little earlier or later and also bear in mind that you dont have to sit down the carvery end as theres a load of seating at the other end to the left as you come through the main doors and in the summer you can even sit outside. What I also like here is the different people that come in,I think its great to see young mothers with small babies and children,students,families,business people and the older generation all in one place enjoying their food. Its a really brilliant place to eat,its absolutely brilliant value and if you havnt been,you must call in. The old man and I go all over and we've done Fine Dining and whatever but we love coming to the Manor,you just cant beat it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rob g”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The food was nasty I will never eat there again the staff where dim wits with no idea of what thay where doing my family asked for a table for a family of 7 we sat down with ower food then the stagf told us to move as thay need to make room for a family of 12 so we had to eat out side .and the knifes and forks where not to clean

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great carvery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Top notch food,at quality prices. Large carvery and plenty of choices off the menu as well. Superb breakfast with vegetarian options

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Railwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerfull”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Carvery of excellent class!!!!!Good choice of meats, fresh and varied veg, sauces available to help self and return for as much veg as you like. Very busy so get there early or less busy times and be prepared to wait for a table!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Manor also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing