We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining out”
Review of The Elephant

The Elephant
Ranked #2 of 187 Restaurants in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dining out”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went along for tea having read about the gluten free menu highly praised only turned out very disappointed having chosen my starter not available then my main also not available , the final not available was my bottle of cider this was early evening on Tuesday can't imagine what happens when it's busy will think twice about going again .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    46
    20
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“No totally impressed”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We called here for lunch one Saturday. The man (assumed he was the landlord) did not seem to concerned about our presence and was unfriendly. The staff were really nice, helpful and served us efficiently. The food was good, worth the money.
Problem was the beer. Cask ale, well served, good temperature BUT at a cost. Well over £3.00 per pint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveE787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent pub/restaurant with gluten free options”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Elephant is a large pub /restaurant, which provide a good variety of food, with gluten free options. It also has cask ale, which is a big plus in my book. We each had a pleasant meal one lunchtime. It's not expensive, and the service is friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff and lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Called into this place on the off chance on a journey back from Manchester and what a good choice this proved to be. Superb real log fire blazing when we walked in and a nice welcoming atmosphere hit us immediately.
The staff were really nice and friendly, helpful and attentive and the food was excellent too - piping hot and quick too.
All in all a lovely visit and we could quite easily have sat there all night by the warming fire. Higly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robem64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant also viewed

 

Been to The Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing