We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely old theatre”

Crewe Lyceum Theatre
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely old theatre”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked the front row of the circle and would suggest that if you have long legs do not sit there it is very tight.
The staff were all friendly and really helpful.
We had the pre show meal which at £22 per head was I thought a bit over priced. The food was nice but not fantastic and the portions were very small.
I do like going to the Lyceum but would prob not have the pre show meal again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    53
    9
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful theatre”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my friend and our children went to see grandpa in my pocket after my friend won free tickets. It was brilliant. The staff were very helpful and the theatre is stunning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A gem of a theatre”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a lovely old theatre with loads of atnosphere. It is an Edwardian theatre which dates back to 1911. It has been updated and refurbished. They have a good range of shows. Plays, comedians, local dance shows, local am dram groups and musical events. A great pity is that it doesn't get as well used as it should.
There is a bar for interval drinks and a cafe where food can be bought before the shows.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank teddy673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“panto”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I took all my nieces and nephews to a panto for Christmas, they had a wonderful time, the theatre is such a beautiful place, would defiantly recommend and will be visiting again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rose b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lyceum theatre Crewe”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a lovely theatre. It is quite small but has lots of good atmosphere, and comfortable seating. We visit reasonably often and always enjoy the performance. Since a recent takeover there is a really good programme and we are looking forward to more visits, even though the prices have increased. There are times when you can buy two tickets for the price of one - always a good buy! Also there is a restaurant on site - nice for a pre theatre meal. Restaurant is open in the day time for coffee and lunches. Also free parking (in the evening) is available very close by. We would recommend for a good night out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nitwit105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crewe Lyceum Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Crewe Lyceum Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing