We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed here for two nights on a fabulous deal in the old part of the hotel. I have travelled all over the world and have to say that this room was the grandest and most beautiful I have ever stayed in. The service was second to none, with the receptionist even running upstairs to find me, as she'd been able to make a very short notice appointment for me in the Spa. The pool was lovely and the treatments I had were excellent (Massage and pedicure). We didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast but that was very good and Room Service was tip top. The restaurant and Spa are in the newer section of the hotel and that could be quite a walk for the less able; it is all under cover, though. All in all, a spectacular place and a real treat for the soul.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwenya, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay with us. I am pleased that the staff conveyed an attitude of helpfulness and I will ensure your comments are passed on. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Crewe Hall in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,091 - 2,097 of 2,230 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2010

Just recently come back from a one night spa break, which included a two course lunch, £25 towards the evening meal, two 30 minute spa treatments, accomodation and use of all the leisure facilities. Will definitely be coming back again. The lunch and dinner we had in the brasserie were excellent, as was the service.

We had a room in the new part which was modern and clean. We only went to the old part for a drink but as no-one was in the bar went back to the brasserie. We used the lesiure facilities on both days and attended a pilates class on the second day. The swimming pool and steam room were both excellent. We made full use of our treatments and thought that the staff in the spa were very professional. Unfortunately the same could not be said of the two leisure staff on their reception. On both days we were met by two unhelpful, disinterested staff, who when asked where we could get the robes from were sent back to our rooms. We rang reception as they weren't in the room and were told they were in the spa. When we went back to the leisure reception desk and told them they said that was news to them and gave the impression they could care on way or another. The next day the pilates class had been brought forward and it didn't occur to them to let people know who arrived at their reception desk, so people were sat outside when they could have been in the class. Wouldn't be happy if I was a leisure club member!

Having said that the break was very enjoyable and I would recommend it whether for a romantic weekend or just to use the spa/ leisure facillities. It is really easy to find and so handy for the motorways too!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitchlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwenya, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on the Spa and Brasserie food and service. I will speak with the leisure club manager regarding your comments on the lack of care and attention you received from his staff. It is good to note that this did not detract from your enjoyment of your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Pollock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We went here for a 50th birthday - a group of 18 with 16 staying overnight. We ranged in age from 16 to 84 and all of us thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. They coped with the large booking really well, even though I had made numerous amendments to the booking. Jessica in the Spa completely took over the organising for me so that I could relax and the girls were brilliant. They were experienced, friendly and remembered our names which we found lovely. The food was great, the staff couldn't do enough for us "(apart from 1 girl who wouldn't give one of us another dressing gown or towel on day 2 even though hers was dirty). The bar staff made our evening so much fun (thanks Niel, Matt, James and Simon) and the rooms were lovely and clean. We checked out but stayed on for lunch the second day and this was no trouble. Overall a fantastic experience and I would recommend to anyone, anytime. Thank you Crewe Hall!!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokierach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwenya, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

The team and I are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Crewe Hall. You were part of a large group and it can be more challenging to maintain standards across the range of facilities and for all emebers of the group. This does not seem to have been the case and I appreciate your comments especially in relation to Jessica and the Spa team. I have passed on your comments to the Spa and Brasserie and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Ian Pollock
General Mnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed at Crewe Hall for my partners birthday and had a great stay. We were fortunate to get a room in the old building and had the most fantastic view over the grounds. The room was cosy and well equipt with everything you could need. The staff, from the minute we walked through the door were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Particularly the lovely guy who carried our bags to the room. We had a great meal in the restaurant in the evening and the cocktails were fabulous - the bar staff again being so friendly and chatty we were made to feel really welcome even if we were the last ones sat in the bar! Breakfast the next morning was good and there was plenty of choice and again the staff were great - getting us things we had forgotten seeing as we were sat in the bar area as it was so busy. The leisure facilities were good and we were fortunate enough to have great weather during our stay so we enjoyed the beautiful grounds as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be going back at the earliest excuse.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becks_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwenya, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel, staff and facilities. It is greatly appreciated that you have recognised the the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff as this is somehting that we place a high priority on during our training sessions. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and perhaps we may be able to welcome you back for your own birthday? Thank you once again for your generous comments.

Ian Pollock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

check in was slow we arrived at 2.10pm to be told rooms weren't ready. We signed in and was told someone would come and find us in the brasserie. At 3 we went back to reception to get our keys. The first room was a double and we had asked for a twin. It took 3 attempts and 8 mins to get an answer from reception, however they got us another room very quickly once we made contact.

The rooms are lovely and the second room was a great size, very clean and a nicer view (4120).

The old hall is stunning with its own chapel, my only complaint there's not enough of the history of the building around and they could make more of the gardens.

The spa was good, nice pool plenty of towels however no private changing facilities and you need a £1 for a locker but it doesn't say this in hotel info before you go to the spa.

Staff were all very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. We asked for taxis to be ordered and they were and on time.

The hotel's not far from crewe and some nice pubs in the surrounding villages too.

Breakfast was good, buffet style, plenty of choice.

All in all a good stay and would return.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Arrived at hotel to be greeted by lovely reception and staff. We were given a room in the new wing which is nice but nothing compared to the original Crewe Hall or what we saw of it in the reception area.
We were given a room on top of the spa at the very end of the new wing.
We had a meal at the Brasserie which was well presented and very tasty.
The only adverse comment is the room we had had a extremley loud vibrating noise akin to a washing machine on a spin which got louder and louder as the night went on which meant we had disturbed sleep the 1st night.
The second night we could not get to sleep so rang reception and complained and they moved us straight away to a smaller but more quiet room.
From the moment of complaining we were moved within 15 mins which was very good and the staff were very apologetic and efficient.
if you stay do not stay in room 4132!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazydaisy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Just come back from Crewe Hall. A great value for money spa break through spabreak.co.uk..We got lunch/evening meal/breakfast plus two treatments and overnight stay for 99 pound.

We were in the new part of the hotel which although its quite comfortable is really out of place next to the natural beauty of Crewe Hall it just doesnt look right..the food for lunch was a buffet style and was smashing , the evening meal was in my personal opinion yuk.. i didnt enjoy it ..but that is down to my personal taste and you only have a £25 allocation towards that meal and the drinks are quite pricey and add up.

the breakfast was fab, lots of choice and very busy. The spa beauty bit was quite small but the girls who did our treatements were very professional and excellent at what they did and the ambience in the therapy rooms is spot on.

We had a dip in the pool and although not huge managed to do a few laps quite happily and then popped into the steam room.

The rooms were clean and nicely laid out, bog standard hotel room but nice and modern.

We felt that there was not enough information about the old hall and went for a good mooch around ourselves.. there was no information about the place and its history there were a few photos but no explantions of who was what when and there seemed to be a lake on an old photo but we couldnt find it! .. i quite liked the old bit it was so full of character and it had a chapel, never new that.. nice surprise..

Anyway , great girly break for us, food was pretty good, value spot on BUT they did try and overcharge us when we checked out.. how there system works ive no idea, but we had kept an account of everything we had had and finally got it sorted,, so check your bill in your hotel room on the tv, they have a special channel that you can do that, if your are going to use the express checkout..

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueskyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,615 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range: $119 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing