We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning period hotel”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Stunning period hotel”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Grade one listed hotel in lovely gardens rooms were very modern in new section ideal for weddings or a summers evening based at hotel as the surrounding area has very little to offer if your on foot stayed at quite a few q hotels and this is a very good one

Room Tip: We opted for standard rooms and they were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sayers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear sayers17,
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you enjoy discovering all 21 Q Hotels around the country.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    594
    240
    120
    69
See reviews for
342
860
30
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The staff and surroundings are brilliant but this time the cakes were very sweet and sickly and looked as though they had been brought in. Have been quite a few times but quality has slipped.
A shame as this is such a wonderful place to visit

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear AnneDM,
Thank you for your review and your loyalty to Crewe Hall. We are very proud of our Afternoon Tea offering and have been voted in the top 10 for Afternoon Tea in the UK by the AA. I can assure you that all our cakes are made on-site and I have shared your feedback with our pastry chef so that he may review his recipes.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We wanted to treat our son and daughter in law to a meal at this hotel. I telephoned the hotel on the 15th at 1630 and the phone system of pressing nos is completely off putting and having pressed the restaurant no then had no answer to our call. We emailed and still have had no response to the mail. We telephoned again and this time pressed no 1 looking for a response, a man of welsh extraction answered the call, took the booking, and pre payment from our card. Booking confirmed and informed that payment had been made for 19.30 last night. We have now been told by our son that they arrived the booking there, BUT with no payment, so the meal has been paid for twice!! Our son and daughter in law enjoyed their meal.
This may be a rare occasion where a meal is pre paid, but we assume the staff have no way communicating between themselves, and our treat has unfortunately been a disaster and we still have not yet tried to get our money back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Veronica K,
I am sorry to read of your experience and have contacted you privately to discuss this matter further.
Yours sincerely,
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a very short overnight stay at this hotel, after a long car journey, we checked in, the girls were looking forward to a swim, (16yrs and two 12Yrs) as it was after 6pm, swimming was not available to the younger girls, reception checked at the gym (receptionist very helpful). Such a shame, rooms were in the main building, brilliant, my only gripe like other reviewers, we booked restaurant, not told that the Brasserie was closed for a renovation, we ate in the function suite, food good, service slow, (two very large tables were being served).

Staff were lovely,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Fiona C,
Thank you for your review.
Whilst pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay I am sorry if our Brasserie refurbishment inconvenienced you in anyway. We are continually seeking investment to improve the service and facilities at Crewe Hall and whilst we intend for any refurbishment works to have a minimal impact on our guests we are not in a position where we can close the hotel.
I do hope you will stay with us in the future and experience our newly refurbished Brasserie which is scheduled to open on 21st August.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is spectacular as you approach it down the long drive and you are not disappointed when you finally get there. One slight problem (for me) is that you have to up up steps to get to the front door which, with a dodgy knee, was not too easy. There certainly didn't seem to be another approach. However, this is a minor issue and we were soon shown to our room which appeared to be down a labyrinth of corridors in the new part of the hotel which is very modern.

The room was large, clean and with all the usual things one expects and there were certainly no complaints. We had booked dinner in the restaurant which turned out to be in the large and rather soul less function suite as the main restaurant is being refurbished. I do think that there should have been some mention of this when booking. There was loud disco music playing in the restaurant which didn't do anything for the atmosphere either - nothing against loud disco music but there is a time and a place! The food, however, was excellent as were the staff.

Breakfast was a disappointment: standard buffet hotel food - not very hot despite the flames leaping beneath the containers. I had to attend a meeting in Crewe and my wife visited the spa. The treatment she had was very good but the pool was being used for swimming lessons and there is nowhere in the spa where you can relax and have a coffee.

All in all good, but we hope it might be better next time if the restaurant is functioning again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear JandJ333,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that several areas marred your stay. Your comments will be shared with the team in due course. I do hope that you will consider returning to Crewe Hall in the future and experience our newly refurbished Brasserie which will be open on 21st August.
Best regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lauren Millington was our waitress and was everything you need for an excellent experience in the restaurant
Friendly and helpful made us feel like nothing was too much trouble from serving drinks to menu choices
A hugely enjoyable evening

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHill25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear SHill25,
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at Crewe Hall and that Lauren looked after you superbly. We are very proud of our team at Crewe Hall and the service they offer our guests. Lauren will be rewarded via our internal reward scheme for doing such a great job.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend escape at Crewe Hall. We spent 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast in a room in the newer part of the hotel. The room was clean, spacious and had good facilities.
Dinner on the first night was excellent, only shame was that the brasserie was closed for refurbishment. The meal and service was really good nonetheless. We found all staff very friendly and helpful, particularly our waitress Milly and the barman Nik. Both helped make our stay an enjoyable and memorable experience.
On the Saturday we had booked into the spa for treatments. The Spa itself is excellent and staff helpful and friendly. My wife, who has had many Spa experiences, enthused about her treatment and the knowledgeable way she was handled by Amber. It was by far the best Spa experience she has enjoyed.
We also made good use of the splendid swimming pool and gym facilities. Everywhere we went we were met with smiles and friendliness.
On the Saturday evening we had another good meal, there was one small problem encountered but the staff and management dealt with it swiftly and satisfactorily so this did not detract from our overall enjoyment of the weekend.
All in all a lovely place made all the better by the wonderful staff. We would certainly return for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macphei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear macphei,
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased that our team looked after you so well and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Crewe Hall soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,534 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
19.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Property: Crewe Hall
Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing