We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a perfect wedding....”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a perfect wedding....”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The sun broke through the clouds on Thursday afternoon as we were getting ready to go to Crewe Hall for my son's wedding on Friday

On arrival, the reception staff were freindly, polite and extremely helpful, expecially as one of the Porters found my Father a walking stick as he'd forgotten his own. This made such a difference to my Dad, especially as his room was in th newer section of the hotel and he needed to walk to breakfast and dinner at the Brasserie - so thank you to Mr Roberts the Porter!!

Having already done a review on the champagne afternoon tea here, I wanted to give my experience of the wedding day itself. Staying in one of the Feature Bedrooms was a luxury - the bed was like sleeping on a feather bed and the bathroom (with both bath and shower) HUGE!After breakfast in our room the wedding party was looked after by the wedding coordinator who did a wonderful job in trying to keep us all to timings throughout the day! The weather continued to be beautiful and the photographer took every opportunity to use the fabulous grounds and gardens to take his memorable photos.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and although there was another wedding being held the following day, we were treated very well, used the Spa on Thursday evening in preparation for the 'Big Day' but also had the opportunity of using the leisure facilities (swimming pool/jacuzzi) and could stroll around the grounds until such time as we were ready to leave.

A very special location, especially the 'older' part of the hotel - a little pricey for drinks/food but perfect for special occasions!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxgloves04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Foxgloves04,
Welcome back to Crewe Hall!! I'm delighted that you had a great stay with us and that the weather was on-side to compliment the hotel for your son's wedding. We are very proud of the team who work tirelessly to ensure all our guests needs are exceeded and I will be sharing your feedback with Gwill in due course.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crewe Hall soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    595
    240
    120
    69
See reviews for
342
861
30
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had a lovely few nights stay here with my fiance. The dinner was brilliant - good food and good service. The afternoon tea was even better, a memorable experience! I had quite a few spa treatments, they were all good but the area of the treatments rooms is very small and the spa facilities are not the most relaxing. The only downfall would be that our room service took 1 hour to arrive but when we complained we were happy with the way they dealt with us. Over fall, an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Amanda C,
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Again, I am sorry about the delay in your room service and I am pleased that we dealt with this to your satisfaction. I hope to welcome you back to Crewe Hall soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed here to base myself for the BTCC motor racing at Oulton Park and it was brilliant. I had a very good quality room with quality fittings and design and is still in good order. I took the option for breakfast to the room very early so I could get to the circuit, and the roads are easy to navigate. Great breakfast tray and I had dinners each night, again very good std. Maybe the wine fridge temp needs to be lower but that is a minor point and the ice buckets worked well !! I am a HIlton Gold card holder and I have to say this is an equal to HIlton std. I booked early and found a nice deal with the hotel directly , don't chance the Internet last minute stuff. All the staff were great and I had a great 3 nights. I will return !!! I just hope motor racing fans don't read this as I like the easy return where the traffic is very light !!!

Room Tip: Take a room in the new part facing the rear and the rabbits running all over the back , nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186332Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear 186332Phil,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Crewe Hall and welcome back.
I'm really pleased that you found our location to be perfect for your trips to Oulton Park. We are conveniently situated from the M6 motorway and are within easy travelling distance of Manchester, Chester and Stoke. I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We enjoyed a two-night DBB at Crewe Hall.

The staff were fabulous. Attentive and helpful.

The hotel is lovely and it is worth exploring the inside as well as the grounds.

We stayed in the older part which was nice. We liked the four poster which was very comfortable Windows would not open though.

The food was below average the first evening. I was not asked how I wanted my lamb and it was not pink but overcooked and dry. The chips were not cooked through at all, other guests were complaining about the food too.

Breakfast the next day was much better and so was dinner. Fillet steak cooked to perfection.

David, Duty Manager was very helpful and good at his job. The staff on reception were super efficient and friendly.

Spa was lovely and clean. Will have a treatment or two next time.

We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvfoodantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear luvfoodantravel,
Thank you for your review.
I am really pleased that based on this experience you will return to Crewe Hall in the future. I am sorry that your dinner on the first evening was not up to our usual high standard and I do take confidence that our restaurant manager did all he could to ensure your second evening experience was better. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked a 2 night B&B stay with Crewe hall, dinner on first night to attend a charity ball, this had prompted my stay. I contacted the hotel to see if I could swap dinner to the second night as dinner was provided at the charity ball, catagoric no unless I paid 41.40 to change to Sat. I understand the T & Cs but still found this quite strange.

At the chairty ball the bar was not good, pressure in pumos made beer and soft drinks poor and a long wait.

We used the main bar on Sat night for a drink and was treated to dirty tables and a running commentary from the bar maid about timesheets.

No ITV in rooms, reception said snothing they can do until maintenance came in - no action

Room in new block , very nice and comfortable, lovely bathroom but not enough lighting to put make up on, poor quality hairdryer which blew rather than styled

A surpising stay which could had been so good, if a little more attention to customer service and staff approach. I would think that normally this would be a good place to stay, looks like we just encountered an off weekend.

Room Tip: New block garden facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannelucy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear joannelucy85.
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that you found us inflexible. I am unsure as to why you booked a special package and rate inclusive of dinner on the first night when you were already dining at the Summer ball however due to business demands, we were unable to move your special package rate to include dinner on the Saturday evening.
I am aware that one of my colleagues has been in contact with you prior to your stay to explain the booking terms and conditions and the reasons why we were unable to move your dinner reservation.
I appreciate your feedback and will be sharing this with the team in due course so that they may further investigate and remedy the issues you have mentioned.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stay here as I was at a wedding and the Hotel itself was lovely. Such a grand and majestic building. You have options to stay in the new or old section of the hotel, but everything is connected. We stayed in room 4209 (I think) and the room was big and spacious and it over looked a small little garden area. Bathroom was big with a large separate shower to the bath.
To be honest, when I walked in to the room I was a little disappointed. The carpets look a little out dated and the throw on the bed wasn’t eye catching. Its probably me just being picky but the room didn’t feel modern but this is such a minor thing and the room is perfectly fine. Tea and coffee facilities available and the bed was comfy.
The pool and spa area are good and clean and all the staff met were polite, friendly and helpful.

The food and drinks are some of the most expensive in any hotel I have stayed in. I mean, I don’t tend to drink or eat in Hotels as I like to eat local, so I am sure the prices are like this in most big hotels but at £13.40 for a beer and dbl Vodka and coke...My jaw almost hit the floor.
Breakfast was good and included in the stay and there is plenty to choose from but get there early if staying over a weekend as it get mega busy 8.30-9.

Overall a great hotel with good staff....Just remember to take some gold bullion!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danrelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear danrelv,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that you found our prices to be expensive. We review our prices yearly and will always take into consideration any changes in government budgets along with the pricing of similar hotels so that we remain competitive. I do hope this issue will not deter you from visiting Crewe Hall again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this very imposing country hall hotel. Most of the bedrooms, the restaurant and spa are in a smart modern extension. The people were very welcoming and and very responsive. When our hairdryer went wrong they were there with a replacement within a couple of minutes.
The food was very nice but quite a few items were more that you would want to pay. Also I would have liked some wine but I wouldn't pay the prices for an unknown quantity.
The room was very large and comfortable. The pool was large but it was full of kids when we went. Overall, we had a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbromby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear pbromby1,
Thank you for taking the time to review Crewe Hall after your recent stay with us.
I am pleased that you had a relaxing break with us and that you found our people to be courteous and welcoming. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,537 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
19.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
2.1 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Property: Crewe Hall
Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing